Product Reviews

ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd

ProClassic® is available in an alkyd formula for use in non-restricted areas. In one formula, it offers the best of all worlds: the application and finish of the alkyd, the non-yellowing properties of an acrylic, and it’s sure to help you get the job done faster.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
Review 1 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Silky smooth and hard finish 
 January 12, 2014
 January 12, 2014
by Cori
"I love this product! I read some reviews about over brushing and was very nervous to use it. I have painted furniture for years and was getting ready to do my first kitchen. I wanted a great quality paint and from research this seemed like the best choice. I wanted to brush the base of the cabinets and use a sprayer on the doors and drawers. I started off with the base and they came out so great that I went ahead and brushed the doors and drawers as well. They all look fabulous! You would never know they were brushed and not sprayed."
Review 2 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Consistent 
 September 28, 2013
 September 28, 2013
by markmaines
"This is a great paint if you are looking for a harder finish. This variation of Pro Classic is a little less viscous than it's non-alkyd hybrid coiunterpart. The non alkyd version is a little thicker, and tends to lay down nicer, while the finish of the acrylic alkyd is a little bit harder, you give up some of that "sprayed look" finish. I use this acrylic-alkyd version for painting cabinets,(as I am generally spraying them) and the non alkyd version for painting trim, and doors (as those are mainly brush and roll). If you are brushing, you are best off to use a top quality paint brush, and definately do not over work the paint. If you are rolling small items (doors, shelves ect.) use a 4" Whizz type roller."
Review 3 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Fantastic Paint if you apply it properly 
 June 18, 2013
 June 18, 2013
by reedmelightly
"I've seen a couple of reviews that complained about brush strokes. Well, I used this as a newbie to cabinet painting. I did my research on how to paint cabinets, and this product worked excellently. I used the Brush on every square inch, and when the professional cabinet guy came back to put a trim on after my countertops were installed, he was amazed that "Little Ole Me" had done all that work with a brush, and you couldn't see the brush strokes. It's all in the prep, sanding and dust removal between coats, clean your brushes, load them up with paint and make sure you don't over brush it. I couldn't be happier!"
Review 4 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Two flaws 
 November 5, 2012
 November 5, 2012
by SF
"I used this paint for the bathroom cabinets and baseboards. There are two issues with this paint.
1. The paint is thick and it does not level well. You can only brush over the same spot no more than three times before it becomes unworkable. I used a high quality brush but it still shows brush strokes.
2. The paint forms a lot of tiny bubbles. At first, I thought I had stirred the paint too much prior to pouring it into a bucket. However, after an hour, the tiny bubbles are still forming. The bubbles left holes in the paint finish after it was cured. Not good!"
Review 5 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Great paint! 
 August 9, 2011
 August 9, 2011
by seacoast
"I just tried this paint for pre -painting baseboards before installation.I was pleasantly surprised on how fast it dries and how good it looked after a quick application.My base boards looked finished after installation and only need a little touch up now on the nail holes. This paint goes on smooth is easy to work with,you just don't want to over paint with it, as it does dry fast.I will definitely use this again for my interior trim,cabinets and doors."
Review 6 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
smooth, crisp, clean 
 June 29, 2011
 June 29, 2011
by square peg
"At first I was concerned about working with the relatively low viscosity of this paint. I assumed this would equate to poor coverage and I'm not great at staying in the lines as is. This paint covered surprisingly well, dried quickly and to an unbelievably smooth finish. Soon every door in my home will match. I would only use recommended paints for cabinets however, per the comment of another user. I had great success with SW Duration on my kitchen cabinets and would recommend that."
Review 7 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Amazing 
 March 6, 2011
 March 6, 2011
by Shepherd
"I got the semi gloss but wasn't too sure of the sheen so I painted a sample board first. I just slopped it on without really trying to remove the brush marks at all. It looked really bad at first but when I checked it after an hour, it was so smooth you would think it was sprayed on. This is one of the few times a product has performed above my expectations. A fantastic product."
Review 8 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
ProClassic Waterbased Alkey 
 December 21, 2010
 December 21, 2010
by Anonymous
"The best trim paint I've used. It did dry fast, but still did not clump when a new paint stroke touched the drying paint. It covered very well, too (I was surprised) like SuperPaint. It was a little runny, but I'll have to get used to it because I'm sold on the product. I will now be using it in the place of SuperPaint for most trim applications."
Review 9 for ProClassic Interior Waterbased Acrylic-Alkyd
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not impressed 
 August 30, 2010
 August 30, 2010
by juliecram
"We bought this paint to do our kitchen cabinets. We really didn't want to deal with the oil based clean-up. We have put two coats of it on the cabinets and are not happy with the way it goes on. It shows the brush marks very badly. The latex that we put on the trim gave a better, smoother finish. This may be one Sherwin-Williams product that we take back to get our money back. We are a little bummed that we put so much work in to sanding and priming the cabinets to have them come out looking not so good."