Product Reviews

ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex

Looking for the benefits of waterbased enamel, but don't want to sacrifice adhesion, durability and block resistance? ProClassic ® Acrylic Latex is the perfect choice. It delivers a high-performing, non-yellowing finish that withstands even the toughest wear and tear.
Average Customer Rating:
3.951 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
27 of 33(82%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Very Satisfied 
 March 17, 2014
 March 17, 2014
by Tosha
"You can't find a better paint for trim, doors and cabinets for DIY jobs. I've also used BM Satin Impervo Waterborne and while I feel that product dries to a much harder finish, it is almost impossible to brush or roll on without brush marks (looks very good sprayed, however). ProClassic finish is very smooth. I've used a mohair roller and good quality brush and both finishes turned out unbelievably smooth. The key is PATIENCE. You cannot brush or roll back on this paint--even if you are tempted you are better off waiting until it has dried (it dries very quickly). Floetrol helps extend the drying time and works well. I've found 3 thin coats is the minimum for good coverage on a primed piece. I've used less than a half gallon of satin finish for an extensive bathroom cabinet and trim re-do, trim work around the house, built-ins, and a buffet I painted for my dining area. Another thing to note; this paint tends to harden up to several days after it has dried, giving a very durable finish. And it's much less expensive than the BM Waterborne Satin Impervo ($80+). There is basically ZERO odor with this paint. SW store associates are always knowledgeable and very helpful. I will definitely buy again."
Review 2 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Painting Kitchen Cabinets 
 February 23, 2014
 February 23, 2014
by Angie
"We decided to go with this product at the recommendation of the sales person at the store (very helpful and knowledgeable) and she was able to match a big box store's color perfectly! We used a dark chocolate brown to paint our kitchen cabinets after stripping them the best we could. After two coats of primer and three coats of paint (with tons of sanding in between), our cabinets look great. People were surprised when we tell them they're painted cabinets! My one issue (other than having to put three coats - might just be our technique - light layers with lots of sanding) is that it chips/scratches very easily! We have to do some touching up and are adding a layer (or two) of clear semi-gloss poly to prevent further damage. Not necessarily the most durable for cabinets but would probably use for walls/trim."
Review 3 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Amazing results! 
 January 20, 2014
 January 20, 2014
by CaitMurdock
"My husband and I just purchased our first home. We bought two gallons of this paint in basic bright white to freshen up all of the trim and doors in the house (which were already white). I am absolutely amazed by this paint. We don't have a lot of painting experience, but this paint made it so simple. We were able to literally "slap on" a coat of paint and it dried flawlessly (and very quickly!). It covered all of the scuffs and nicks and made a huge difference in the look of our home.
I have been so impressed with Sherwin Williams overall. Everything from their employees to their products. It's definitely worth the price to get good quality products and get advice from someone who knows what they're talking about! I will never shop anywhere else for my painting projects!"
Review 4 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Trim Repaint 
 January 4, 2014
 January 4, 2014
by LP
"After much research on looking for the best semi-gloss paint to re-paint my baseboard trim I decided to give Pro Classic a try. I am completely impressed with this product and highly recommend it. If you're willing to take your time putting on very thin coats with a high quality brush (I used Purdy Glide 2.5" angled sash) you will be left with a finish that matches the quality of trim that was sprayed. This product is worth the money and the time. It will be my new go to paint for trim."
Review 5 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Best hand brushed trim paint ever!! 
 October 28, 2013
 October 28, 2013
by Rob
"I am a professional painter. I use pro classic on ALL of my trim/molding: door jams, baseboards, crown molding, doors, etc.
This is an interior paint only though. This paint is only constructed for moldings and doors. DO NOT paint entire bathroom or kitchen walls & ceilings with this paint...or paint inside of cabinets, etc. (use Super Paint or Duration for that). In very small cases you can paint inside some cabinets. But this paint is purely for the outside of the moldings or doors. Best paint ever created for this. Hand brushed is excellent and sprayed looks even better - just like a glass finish. Highly recommended paint..even for novice painter. Just make sure you don't brush the paint too much - it is a "self leveling" paint meaning the brush strokes will go away. And also be careful of applying too much at once. Pro Classic can be a little "runny". Do multiple coats for a perfect finish! :)"
Review 6 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
pretty cool paint 
 December 8, 2013
 December 8, 2013
by Joe
"This paint is self leveling. Its not like normal paint. Just put it on and leave it alone. If yoy keep going over it that won't work. It takes about 45 minutes to completely dry and level itself out. If it looks bad at first give it time. If your painting vertical surfaces then put it on very thin and even. If painting a door remove it from hinges and lay it flat. Will make it much easier. It used a brush and the paint goes on smooth what Dr some for furniture, trim, doors, cabinets, window sills, I used it on MDF board for trim and window sills and it did great"
Review 7 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Dramatic results, looks professional! 
 December 4, 2013
 December 4, 2013
by Christi
"I recently moved into a new rental home, and the very first thing I wanted to change was the trim. It was this awful off-white/ivory color, so everything just looked dingy and dirty. I bought this paint after reading all the good reviews it had gotten, and it did not disappoint! All the brush strokes almost instantly smooth out while your painting so everything looks clean and polished. I got this paint in the basic bright white color with a semi gloss finish, I am amazed how much one can of paint can create such a dramatic facelift, its like a brand new house!"
Review 8 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Paint bar none! 
 September 13, 2013
 September 13, 2013
by DRH
"I am a novice in every sense of the word and I absolutely abhor painting. In 64 years I’ve done some painting but have never been 100% satisfied with my results UNTIL NOW! I’m using the medium lustre gloss pure white on our interior doors and trim and couldn’t be more pleased. The doors are standard builder’s grade, 6 panel composite molded that were originally painted over 10 years ago – it was time… I used a Sherwin-Williams Tight Spot 2” polyester brush to cut in the beveled portions of the panels first, followed by a Whizz multi-purpose, 6” x ¾” polyamide fabric roller on the doors’ flat surfaces (1 for each day that I’ve painted,) a cheap polyester 1 ½” brush for the door jambs and I’ve done it all in just 1 coat. The results have been fabulous; the paint is just thick enough to use with this smaller roller plus, you have much more added control. The paint is indeed self-leveling, leaving no brush or roller marks whatsoever. I like the fact that it dries fast but not so fast that you can’t go back and clean up any drips which were few and far between. I even found 2 small areas that I didn’t hit yesterday – a quick touch-up today and you can’t even tell where they were! Prep was minimal – a light sanding to rough things up. Drop cloths were unnecessary as paint spatter was non-existent. Do yourself a favor if you contemplate using this paint – download the $10 off coupon from this website. All in all, this paint job has been a pleasant experience and I wouldn’t hesitate for a minute to recommend this paint to friends and family!"
Review 9 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Some issues 
 July 5, 2013
 July 5, 2013
by Ray
"Salesperson said it doesn't need primer. After painting a shelf (dry, not oily), it easily peeled off after several days drying, even with the lightest scuff. So we stripped it off the shelf, primed the shelf, then repainted. Took 2, in some places 3 coats, to get an even finish. It's now better at staying on the surface, but still seems "uncured" after weeks- things seem to stick to it. We WERE going to use this paint to do inside some cabinets- don't think we will now. Need to find a paint that dries good and hard for that. We don't believe this paint meets that need, despite the salesperson's recommendation."
Review 10 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Glad I bought it 
 June 30, 2013
 June 30, 2013
by heidi
"I almost didn't buy this paint because of some of the poor reviews, but I'm really glad I did. Renovating my 4th house, and planning to paint brand new custom build kitchen cabinets. I have always painted Behr paints, and have painted kitchen cabinets with it before and wasn't crazy about the results. The paint just didn't hold up well. I researched the best paint out there for kitchen cabinets, but it can't be custom tinted, so it wouldn't work for me. I went to the HD and asked the sales associate at the paint counter what to use. She said they don't carry a paint that is appropriate for cabinets that can be custom tinted. She sent me to SW. I found this paint easy to work with. It paints about the same as any other paint I have used. I had none of the problems noted in the poor reviews. The difference is in the results. With a Behr semi-gloss I can get a sprayed look if I use a 6 inch foam roller. With this paint I can get a sprayed look using a brush. Many of the poor reviews I would chalk up to inappropriate expectations for the paint. This is a SELF LEVELING paint, it won't fill in imperfections in the wood you're painting it onto. It also isn't a high hide paint. In fact...if you're painting it over primer, which has a flat sheen you will probably see imperfections you didn't see before painting because the flat sheen hides more imperfections. If you're painting it over trim that has already been painted and has brush marks in it...you will still see the brush marks from the previous paint job. No paint will cover well in a single coat. Two coats is the minimum...three is best. Don't expect more from the paint than you should. This paint will do exactly what it is advertised to do, but don't expect to go out and buy a $65 gallon of paint and be instantly transformed into a master painter. If your paint jobs don't usually look very good, then the job still won't look good with this paint, you just won't see any brush marks in it. This paint is well worth the money."
Review 11 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Very forgiving paint. 
 June 23, 2013
 June 23, 2013
by IsleofSkyeStaging
"I used this product to repaint some old kitchen cabinets in a satin sheen. This paint provides such an unbelievably smooth finish, even when I began to get sloppy with my painting. It is very forgiving and very durable. I applied TWO coats and even though I didn't do the proper prep by either sanding or using a primer the paint has done a good job making up for it."
Review 12 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Poor Product 
 January 22, 2013
 January 22, 2013
by John
"I used this paint to paint my old kitchen cabinets. I used BIN shelac based primer and then added two coats of sprayed paint. After 2-weeks of the paint curing the original dark cabinets are coming through. The paint has extremely poor coverage I've had to add a total of 4 coats to cover it. For the money, I can do better. This will be my last Sherwin Williams gallon I ever buy."
Review 13 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great trim paint 
 August 29, 2012
 August 29, 2012
by Jase
"Phenominal trim and door and closet paint. Very durable, very smooth, hard finish. It is perfect for spraying. A little more tricky to brush since it sets up quickly. I always spray two coats and it looks and feels amazing; home owners are always impressed with the finished product. I primarily do high-end homes and this paint is perfect and gives the look and finish customers are expecting. The lower-end homes are always impressed and feel they got a very high-end paint job. I strongly recommend 2 coats using a smaller tip. I use anywhere from a 4-11 to 5-13 tip depending on the size of the trim and/or closets. If you try to use a bigger orifice tip to do it in only one coat, you will most likely run into problems with sagging and runs. Take the time to do it correctly like the rest of us who love this paint and you and the home owners will be amazed."
Review 14 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Found my new trim paint! 
 August 30, 2012
 August 30, 2012
by Andy
"Haven't used this in years, and back then it was only on cabinets. I had a trim job and I wanted to try something different besides Superpaint. This stuff was fantastic! It flows/levels and dries hard like oil. Not a brush mark to be found...looks sprayed!
This paint is heavy for sure, but a little shot of Floetrol extends the open time and loosens the paint just enough to not pull. Glad I tried it.
BTW, it's way better than the Pro Classic Acrylic Alkyd"
Review 15 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Just great trim paint. 
 August 17, 2012
 August 17, 2012
by arc
"As a painting contractor, this is my first choice for trim on most jobs. Just excellent in all the ways you want a trim paint to be. The negative reviews on here about 'bad flow' or other unreasonable critiques can all be explained by novice technique (sorry!). This paint does take a bit of finesse, but that is expected from a self-leveling paint; you can't slop it on and expect magic. Get a decent brush, buy this paint, and your trim will thank you!"
Review 16 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Nice.... 
 August 5, 2012
 August 5, 2012
by JohnnyArghhh
"Hmmmm., I don't know why some folks don't like this stuff but I'll never use another trim paint ever again. I did base board, door and window trim. I loved using it and my customer loved the finished product. Once again......I talked a customer out of buying that junk that they call paint at the 2 major home improvement stores."
Review 17 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Only trim paint I use. 
 April 18, 2012
 April 18, 2012
by Red5
"The excellent flow and leveling during application and the durability when dry are the reasons I only use this paint for trimwork. I'm a residential painting contractor and no matter what other brand of paint they may insist upon, I insist on using this product for their trim."
Review 18 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
great product 
 May 26, 2012
 May 26, 2012
by gator15
"Using this on all my doors and trim. Previous owners painted latex over oil. with minimum prep I was able to put proclassic over this mess. Great dry hide and self leveling. Not a pro by any means but if you don't over work this product it lays and flows great! The finished product is almost bullet proof."
Review 19 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Experienced every problem noted. 
 April 10, 2012
 April 10, 2012
by detredwings
"Poor flow, brush marks, dries too fast, runs, required two coats for white on white! And I have been painting for over 40 years."
Review 20 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent Paint 
 March 30, 2012
 March 30, 2012
by lizard6020
"I am a do-it-yourself homeowner who has used a variety of paint brands for various projects, but never Sherwin Williams. In the quest to find a perfect white paint for our kitchen cabinets, we came across Pro Classic in High Reflectance White and thought it would be perfect. After reading reviews, however, we became worried.
I am happy to report that the paint is incredible! I've been rolling it on and then brushing it out and the results look very pro.
I would think that those having trouble are in a hurry or inexperienced painters. As someone with a moderate level of painting ability, I don't find it difficult to use at all."
1 2 3 next>>