Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex

Looking for the benefits of waterbased enamel, but don't want to sacrifice adhesion, durability and block resistance? ProClassic ® Acrylic Latex is the perfect choice. It delivers a high-performing, non-yellowing finish that withstands even the toughest wear and tear.
Average Customer Rating:
4.04 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
35 of 42(83%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Amazing Results for Cabinets! 
 January 4, 2016
 January 4, 2016
by Nell
"9 years ago - yes 9 years it has been since I painted our kitchens cabinets with this paint. We have a huge kitchen and the cabinets were not real wood and where the paint had worn off, swelling had occurred. We could not afford all new cabinets. I removed all doors and drawer fronts, I sanded meticulously, leveling the swelling, also just taking off the very sharp corners (just a fraction - changes them from looking cheap to better quality and paint is less likely to wear off those sharp corners). I then sprayed a coat of oil based primer and started the paint job. Using a Purdy brush, I brushed all the "indents" in the cabinets ensuring I carefully feathered the edges and used a foam roller to complete the rest of the surface. I did all backs first then all fronts - twice - 2 coats. I sprayed all the brass exposed hinges Oil rubbed bronze and bought new oil rubbed bronze knobs. I caulked and did the same to the carcasses. It was a big effort but I took the kitchen a section at a time and methodically worked round it. The result was the look of brand new cabinets - totally transformed the kitchen.
This effort was made so much easier by this amazing paint. It did need two coats but it looks 100% professionally done. The finish is amazing, very hard wearing, zero chipping, zero stickiness and zero application marks. It literally looks like it was sprayed. I have had numerous people ask what paint I used and how I did it.
About 3 years ago, using the same small foam roller I touched up a couple very small places where I could see the paint was wearing thin, like by the knob of a frequently used cabinet and even the touch up was easy and amazingly didn't show. I cannot understand any negative reviews on this paint. The paint is consistent - the painter is not - I believe that is the answer.
I highly recommend this paint!
"
Review 2 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Love on Trim and Woodwork 
 December 11, 2015
 December 11, 2015
by DIYaholic
"I've been using this paint throughout my home to update my 80's golden oak colored trim/cabinets/doors/windows and couldn't be happier with the finish. Previous to this paint I had attempted Olympic , Valspar and Behr paints. Out of the 3 Behr was the best but still was showing a lot of brush and roller marks, so after wasting a lot of time and money switching paints and trying different tools to attempt to resolve the problem, I headed to Sherwin Williams and this was the paint that they recommended. While you do have to be careful to not overwork the paint while brushing or rolling, this paint self levels very nice and if done properly, finishes very smooth and soft. It's holding up exceptionally well on my bathroom cabinets and linen closet. It also sprays well as long as you thin it slightly. Be sure to do proper prep prior to using this product (cleaning, sanding, priming) and you shouldn't have any problems."
Review 3 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
As good as I have found anywhere else 
 November 30, 2015
 November 30, 2015
by rjm240
"When dry, this paint looks fantastic. That being said I am giving 4 stars for a couple things I think could be improved. I am using this product to paint some old doors in my house white that are currently dark oak. I am priming the doors white before using this ProClassic. This is my favorite paint. I have no intention of switching so my gripes are only minor. The finished product looks so good I feel it is work the effort and expense of using this paint.
The first complaint is around working time. I can’t roll out the whole door and then back brush it all at once because the part of the door I started on will already be drying. That means it has <5 minutes of working time. I know I could add some conditioners to it to make it workable for longer, but I don’t want to. So I roll a small part of the door, back brush, roll a small portion, brush… you get the idea.
The other complaint is coverage. I feel like for a product at this price I should be able to get by with 1 coat. I probably could. But I see shadows of the primer through the paint so I do 2 coats. Again, neither of these complaints will stop me from using the product. These are just “opportunities” for the product to get even better. When finished the doors look fantastic. I can still see the grain of the wood through the paint, which I like. The paint looks very smooth and the finish is even across the surface. I cannot recommend anything better as this is the best, and most expensive, paint I have used.
"
Review 4 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Expectations Not Met 
 May 27, 2015
 May 27, 2015
by Jim
"The Pro Classic is the worst paint I have ever used. I used brush and roller for application to doors,trim, and baseboards, the coverage was poor because it took 2-3 coats for the previously painted trim. It was very hard to work after application, in some cases it peeled or blobbed. It did not dry to a uniform and smooth finish. The thing I disliked most about this paint is you had to watch the paint dry to catch the drips, I've never worked with paint which dripped as much as this paint."
Review 5 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Worked well for kitchen cabinet shelves 
 March 5, 2015
 March 5, 2015
by TJ43
"Mostly, I would not recommend painting kitchen cabinet shelving. However, these were previously painted and in mediocre condition. This paint worked very well and so far the finish is durable with minimal sticking."
Review 6 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Home theater Screen 
 December 26, 2014
 December 26, 2014
by dip
"After reading a article in projector central about this paint, I repainted my custom built projector screen that I had enlarged with this paint, instead of the $160.00 screen paint that I had used initially. This $64.00 a gallon paint look even better. The resolution was outstanding. Saved myself a $100.00 for it was on sale for $58.00. Great deal."
Review 7 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great results 
 August 20, 2014
 August 20, 2014
by mikespainting
"Tried Proclassic for the first time. Very satisfied with the result will use again."
Review 8 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
This paint is perfect 
 August 19, 2014
 August 19, 2014
by amyzig
"I bought this (in Reliable White, semi gloss) after reading furniture refinishing reviews and learning about this paint. It is even better than I expected! I'm finishing my third project with this paint and they've all turned out perfect - over different finishes, different woods, different methods. I did use a white Zinsser primer on two of the pieces. The one without primer did need an extra coat compared to the others. It dries perfectly smooth, zero brush marks, zero drips (used an angle brush, foam brush and mini foam roller). It also dries harder and sets up faster than oil-based paints (in my opinion). Love, love, love this paint."
Review 9 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Its like showroom finish 
 April 22, 2014
 April 22, 2014
by jayne
"I love this paint,i use smaller foam rollers and it comes out as if you had a pro shop spray it on. I live with grease monkeys and animals grandchildren and the last thing I want to do is make my loved ones feel uncomfortable in my home,this paint is so durable doesn't turn yellow like regular and if you spray some of these cleaners on it to wash up finger prints it doesn't get all soft a mushy like regular paint .the other stuff would then peel THIS WONT. its worth twice the price. Im redoing all the windows and trim in it now, the feel is like an enamel its smooth yet crisp. love, love , love . I used 7021 creamy color for cabinets and trim satin for cabinets semi for trims"
Review 10 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Very Satisfied 
 March 17, 2014
 March 17, 2014
by Tosha
"You can't find a better paint for trim, doors and cabinets for DIY jobs. I've also used BM Satin Impervo Waterborne and while I feel that product dries to a much harder finish, it is almost impossible to brush or roll on without brush marks (looks very good sprayed, however). ProClassic finish is very smooth. I've used a mohair roller and good quality brush and both finishes turned out unbelievably smooth. The key is PATIENCE. You cannot brush or roll back on this paint--even if you are tempted you are better off waiting until it has dried (it dries very quickly). Floetrol helps extend the drying time and works well. I've found 3 thin coats is the minimum for good coverage on a primed piece. I've used less than a half gallon of satin finish for an extensive bathroom cabinet and trim re-do, trim work around the house, built-ins, and a buffet I painted for my dining area. Another thing to note; this paint tends to harden up to several days after it has dried, giving a very durable finish. And it's much less expensive than the BM Waterborne Satin Impervo ($80+). There is basically ZERO odor with this paint. SW store associates are always knowledgeable and very helpful. I will definitely buy again."
Review 11 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Painting Kitchen Cabinets 
 February 23, 2014
 February 23, 2014
by Angie
"We decided to go with this product at the recommendation of the sales person at the store (very helpful and knowledgeable) and she was able to match a big box store's color perfectly! We used a dark chocolate brown to paint our kitchen cabinets after stripping them the best we could. After two coats of primer and three coats of paint (with tons of sanding in between), our cabinets look great. People were surprised when we tell them they're painted cabinets! My one issue (other than having to put three coats - might just be our technique - light layers with lots of sanding) is that it chips/scratches very easily! We have to do some touching up and are adding a layer (or two) of clear semi-gloss poly to prevent further damage. Not necessarily the most durable for cabinets but would probably use for walls/trim."
Review 12 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Amazing results! 
 January 20, 2014
 January 20, 2014
by CaitMurdock
"My husband and I just purchased our first home. We bought two gallons of this paint in basic bright white to freshen up all of the trim and doors in the house (which were already white). I am absolutely amazed by this paint. We don't have a lot of painting experience, but this paint made it so simple. We were able to literally "slap on" a coat of paint and it dried flawlessly (and very quickly!). It covered all of the scuffs and nicks and made a huge difference in the look of our home.
I have been so impressed with Sherwin Williams overall. Everything from their employees to their products. It's definitely worth the price to get good quality products and get advice from someone who knows what they're talking about! I will never shop anywhere else for my painting projects!"
Review 13 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Trim Repaint 
 January 4, 2014
 January 4, 2014
by LP
"After much research on looking for the best semi-gloss paint to re-paint my baseboard trim I decided to give Pro Classic a try. I am completely impressed with this product and highly recommend it. If you're willing to take your time putting on very thin coats with a high quality brush (I used Purdy Glide 2.5" angled sash) you will be left with a finish that matches the quality of trim that was sprayed. This product is worth the money and the time. It will be my new go to paint for trim."
Review 14 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Best hand brushed trim paint ever!! 
 October 28, 2013
 October 28, 2013
by Rob
"I am a professional painter. I use pro classic on ALL of my trim/molding: door jams, baseboards, crown molding, doors, etc.
This is an interior paint only though. This paint is only constructed for moldings and doors. DO NOT paint entire bathroom or kitchen walls & ceilings with this paint...or paint inside of cabinets, etc. (use Super Paint or Duration for that). In very small cases you can paint inside some cabinets. But this paint is purely for the outside of the moldings or doors. Best paint ever created for this. Hand brushed is excellent and sprayed looks even better - just like a glass finish. Highly recommended paint..even for novice painter. Just make sure you don't brush the paint too much - it is a "self leveling" paint meaning the brush strokes will go away. And also be careful of applying too much at once. Pro Classic can be a little "runny". Do multiple coats for a perfect finish! :)"
Review 15 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
pretty cool paint 
 December 8, 2013
 December 8, 2013
by Joe
"This paint is self leveling. Its not like normal paint. Just put it on and leave it alone. If yoy keep going over it that won't work. It takes about 45 minutes to completely dry and level itself out. If it looks bad at first give it time. If your painting vertical surfaces then put it on very thin and even. If painting a door remove it from hinges and lay it flat. Will make it much easier. It used a brush and the paint goes on smooth what Dr some for furniture, trim, doors, cabinets, window sills, I used it on MDF board for trim and window sills and it did great"
Review 16 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Dramatic results, looks professional! 
 December 4, 2013
 December 4, 2013
by Christi
"I recently moved into a new rental home, and the very first thing I wanted to change was the trim. It was this awful off-white/ivory color, so everything just looked dingy and dirty. I bought this paint after reading all the good reviews it had gotten, and it did not disappoint! All the brush strokes almost instantly smooth out while your painting so everything looks clean and polished. I got this paint in the basic bright white color with a semi gloss finish, I am amazed how much one can of paint can create such a dramatic facelift, its like a brand new house!"
Review 17 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Paint bar none! 
 September 13, 2013
 September 13, 2013
by DRH
"I am a novice in every sense of the word and I absolutely abhor painting. In 64 years I’ve done some painting but have never been 100% satisfied with my results UNTIL NOW! I’m using the medium lustre gloss pure white on our interior doors and trim and couldn’t be more pleased. The doors are standard builder’s grade, 6 panel composite molded that were originally painted over 10 years ago – it was time… I used a Sherwin-Williams Tight Spot 2” polyester brush to cut in the beveled portions of the panels first, followed by a Whizz multi-purpose, 6” x ¾” polyamide fabric roller on the doors’ flat surfaces (1 for each day that I’ve painted,) a cheap polyester 1 ½” brush for the door jambs and I’ve done it all in just 1 coat. The results have been fabulous; the paint is just thick enough to use with this smaller roller plus, you have much more added control. The paint is indeed self-leveling, leaving no brush or roller marks whatsoever. I like the fact that it dries fast but not so fast that you can’t go back and clean up any drips which were few and far between. I even found 2 small areas that I didn’t hit yesterday – a quick touch-up today and you can’t even tell where they were! Prep was minimal – a light sanding to rough things up. Drop cloths were unnecessary as paint spatter was non-existent. Do yourself a favor if you contemplate using this paint – download the $10 off coupon from this website. All in all, this paint job has been a pleasant experience and I wouldn’t hesitate for a minute to recommend this paint to friends and family!"
Review 18 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Some issues 
 July 5, 2013
 July 5, 2013
by Ray
"Salesperson said it doesn't need primer. After painting a shelf (dry, not oily), it easily peeled off after several days drying, even with the lightest scuff. So we stripped it off the shelf, primed the shelf, then repainted. Took 2, in some places 3 coats, to get an even finish. It's now better at staying on the surface, but still seems "uncured" after weeks- things seem to stick to it. We WERE going to use this paint to do inside some cabinets- don't think we will now. Need to find a paint that dries good and hard for that. We don't believe this paint meets that need, despite the salesperson's recommendation."
Review 19 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Glad I bought it 
 June 30, 2013
 June 30, 2013
by heidi
"I almost didn't buy this paint because of some of the poor reviews, but I'm really glad I did. Renovating my 4th house, and planning to paint brand new custom build kitchen cabinets. I have always painted Behr paints, and have painted kitchen cabinets with it before and wasn't crazy about the results. The paint just didn't hold up well. I researched the best paint out there for kitchen cabinets, but it can't be custom tinted, so it wouldn't work for me. I went to the HD and asked the sales associate at the paint counter what to use. She said they don't carry a paint that is appropriate for cabinets that can be custom tinted. She sent me to SW. I found this paint easy to work with. It paints about the same as any other paint I have used. I had none of the problems noted in the poor reviews. The difference is in the results. With a Behr semi-gloss I can get a sprayed look if I use a 6 inch foam roller. With this paint I can get a sprayed look using a brush. Many of the poor reviews I would chalk up to inappropriate expectations for the paint. This is a SELF LEVELING paint, it won't fill in imperfections in the wood you're painting it onto. It also isn't a high hide paint. In fact...if you're painting it over primer, which has a flat sheen you will probably see imperfections you didn't see before painting because the flat sheen hides more imperfections. If you're painting it over trim that has already been painted and has brush marks in it...you will still see the brush marks from the previous paint job. No paint will cover well in a single coat. Two coats is the minimum...three is best. Don't expect more from the paint than you should. This paint will do exactly what it is advertised to do, but don't expect to go out and buy a $65 gallon of paint and be instantly transformed into a master painter. If your paint jobs don't usually look very good, then the job still won't look good with this paint, you just won't see any brush marks in it. This paint is well worth the money."
Review 20 for ProClassic® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Very forgiving paint. 
 June 23, 2013
 June 23, 2013
by IsleofSkyeStaging
"I used this product to repaint some old kitchen cabinets in a satin sheen. This paint provides such an unbelievably smooth finish, even when I began to get sloppy with my painting. It is very forgiving and very durable. I applied TWO coats and even though I didn't do the proper prep by either sanding or using a primer the paint has done a good job making up for it."
1 2 3 next>>