Product Reviews

ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel

Achieve a smooth and luxurious finish on interior doors and trim with ProClassic® Alkyd Interior. It delivers a high-performing finish that withstands even the toughest wear and tear. This formula goes on smooth without brush or roller marks.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
5 of 6(83%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
Review 1 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Good alternative to oil-based.. with a catch. 
 September 22, 2014
 September 22, 2014
by WClark83
"Okay- I decided to self-tackle kitchen cabinets. This paint is a great water soluble option to oil- but I have to say for the average homeowner - it requires a steady hand and quick action (neither of which I had when starting this project- sanded the first 4 doors probably 20 times due to my globs and brush marks). This paint dries extremely fast. High quality brush is a must- which helped my markings problem. The roller didn't work as well for the door fronts, but to speed up the process - I did roll the insides and they are okay.
This paint finishes like an oil - hard finish, with good gloss, but not obnoxious. I highly suggest spraying it if you have the money and/or equipment. It is thin, so I feel it would work well without needing lots of spray additives. And it would probably give a nice finish - similar to lacquer without the crazy brain-cell-killing odor.
HERE IS THE CATCH- I will never brush/roll this paint again over a large surface (will purchase oil- it is more workable with its molasses drying time). BUT, I will always buy this for trim. It is amazing how smooth it brushed onto the trim, and it covered great. I want to give it 5 stars - but for me, 4 is where it's at with my non-pro skill level."
Review 2 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Superior Trim, Door, and Cabinet Paint 
 August 11, 2014
 August 11, 2014
by Erush
"I have used this product in satin for all my doors, trim, and painted cabinets. It is far superior than any other similar paint I've tried elsewhere (such as Benjamin Moore or Diamond Vogel)! It doesn't leave brush marks and seems to be more durable than the latex or water based equivalents (it's even difficult to sand when prepping for multiple coats). To those who have had trouble with brush marks and drying time... Make sure you're using a high quality Chinex brush and, most importantly, don't overwork the paint! You have to work somewhat quickly to minimize your brush marks and paint "drag"; don't "back brush" too much. If you're not comfortable working quickly or are inexperienced, try using penetrol to increase your drying time and workability."
Review 3 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not good 
 May 10, 2013
 May 10, 2013
by nettiehl
"I had a lot of trouble with this paint. It left terrible brush marks. I went back to Sherwin Williams, showed them the cabinet door and they recommended a roller. Well that left a rough orange peel finish. So I thinned it a bit with paint thinner and used a foam brush, that was a little better, but I was still not happy. It is definitely NOT a self leveling paint. I will never use their paint again."
Review 4 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Pro Classic Interior Alkyd 
 January 3, 2013
 January 3, 2013
by Cathie
"After using BenMoore for forty years, I had a bad experience with its sheen. With great trepidation, I bought a gallon of Pro Classic. Its eggshell finish is exactly what I wanted, it levels and flows very well, and so far, I'm very happy with the product.
I'm converted."
Review 5 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great for Ttrim and interior doors! 
 December 12, 2012
 December 12, 2012
by lennyb
"I use the ProClassic in a satin finish on my doors and it comes out beautiful. It dries to handle within 45 minutes in a room at 68 degrees with low humidity. On a primered door, it does take 2 coats for a perfect finish. It is also self leveling so if you paint with the door laying flat, it has a very smooth, no brush mark finish."
Review 6 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great 
 July 29, 2012
 July 29, 2012
by Andy
"Assuming this is the same paint that was in the old can with the label that had the columns on it (same label as the XP), then this is the finest oil on he market. Impervo doesn't compare.
I ran out a piece of base and noticed a brush hair in it. I removed the hair and as I reloaded my brush I watched the paint level itself out and it coelessed together erasing the flaw the brush hair left.
Superior flow and leveling unmatched by any other alkyd on the market."
Review 7 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Same as Ben Moore 
 September 26, 2010
 September 26, 2010
by cuse
"used this product b/c of the 40% off deal. It is just as good as the benjamin moore alkyd enamel maybe slightly more runny if there is any difference i would use again"
Review 8 for ProClassic® Alkyd Interior Enamel
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
satin & semi oil 
 June 1, 2010
 June 1, 2010
by John
"Use to be my favorite trim paint. Had to stop using because of silicone effect on random surfaces. Paint store would not listen and did not compensate for lost material or time. Happen at seperate applications.Need to offer different oil satin finishes.Have to go to elsewhere for trim paint. Had trouble with pro-clasic semi also."