Product Reviews

H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating

H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Garage Floor coating is the premium choice in garage floor epoxies. Our all inclusive kit contains epoxy base color, activator, a bag of Deco-Flakes, a packet of cleaner/degreaser powder, a packet of nonskid additive, and a detailed instruction sheet. Shield-Crete® Epoxy is water-based, with a gloss finish that is industrial-grade, but DIY- friendly. One kit covers from 200- 250 square feet, or a 1 car garage, depending on the porosity of the substrate. Can be used in some full outdoor applications however, exposure to UV rays may cause gloss to diminish and color to fade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
10 of 14(71%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
Review 1 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
poor coverage 
 September 5, 2014
 September 5, 2014
by senorweed
"people were not kidding about needing three kits to coverage a 20x20 foot garage (400 square). i have used two kits so far, and may need two more. kinda expensive, and the kit states up to 250 square foot coverage"
Review 2 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Garage floor Epoxy 
 October 3, 2014
 October 3, 2014
by fracara
"This product does not last as indicated on the box. We had our painter paint our garage floor with this product on 6/9/2014 and we stayed off for 30 days and the first time we parked on it, tire marks were visible (cold tires as car had been sitting for a day). Also, paint started chipping up in several places. The S/W representative looked at it and said it could be patched and repainted, which was done on 7/7/2014 and was a different color from the rest of the floor, but we accepted that thinking it would probably blend in later. After waiting another 30 days, we parked on it and tire treads were left on the paint and now the paint is chipping again. I am thoroughly disgusted with this product and would never recommend it to anyone!"
Review 3 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Worked Great 
 August 18, 2014
 August 18, 2014
by Marty
"I cleaned the new floor with the enclosed cleaner, and an additional wash with HE liquid laundry detergent, a pressure washer rinse, an acid etching and finally a rinse with the hose to make sure the floor was properly prepped. The product went on well and the color is consistent despite having to go to two different stores to get the 3 kits I needed to do my 2 car garage. It only took about half of the third kit. It looks great but I'll comment on the durability in a few months. The anniversary sale price is fantastic only $60.12...stock up while it's 35% off."
Review 4 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Product. Make sure to prep right. 
 May 31, 2014
 May 31, 2014
by scott
"A little over two years ago I wanted to put an epoxy on my 3-car garage floor. I decided to go with the Shield-Crete and have been very satisfied with the product. I acid-etched the concrete and once dry I then used a microfiber mop and mopped the floor until I no-longer had any dust showing on my white microfiber. If you do not remove all of the dust and etch the floor properly you will have peeling. I then applied the beige epoxy and it came out great although I wish I would have gone heavier with the flakes. You cannot expect the clear coat to hold up too long however I am happy with the durability of the epoxy. I have minor stains in certain spots but it is from my neglect. I highly recommend this product to anyone who is somewhat handy as you will be very happy with the end product and price to do this project."
Review 5 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Run, run away 
 May 18, 2014
 May 18, 2014
by Frustrated
"I followed the instructions. I chemical etched the floor, and used a power sander. And a power washer. First application looked so so, and I was dissatisfied. I expected it to be beautiful. So, within the window for a second coat, I purchased all new epoxy (approx. 6 car garage space, so not cheap) and reapplied.
This time it was gorgeous. Looked perfect. We did not drive on it for longer than required, just to be sure.
I think if it was in a basement or walk area, it might still look good. But, don't drag anything bigger than a duffle bag, or you will get scuff marks. So, the first problem I had was scrapes and marks from pushing dog kennels or trailers around the garage.
Then, Wisconsin winter set in. We are now about one year post-application. This winter was brutal. It was below zero for months, and my cars brought in lots of salt and water. Now that winter is over, the floor is failing all over the place. I have dozens of spots the size of quarters or larger where it has just come up, and other places where I can see it coming up. It is all in the places where the water and salt were worst. To some degree it is where car tires rolled, but mostly it appears the cold, water and chemicals overcame the floor.
I am going to wind up having the floor professionally ground, and redone, I think. It will wind up costing me many more times what it would have to just have it professionally done in the first place, not to mention all the work. I would not buy this product for any kind of high demand environment. Admittedly, this was a harsh year for a number of reasons, but this stuff is supposed to be made for exactly that. I don't know that interior latex would have fared any worse. Very disappointed."
Review 6 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Each application different shade 
 August 26, 2013
 August 26, 2013
by joyzie
"Used 8 batches to cover about 1,000 sq ft. Each batch produced a different shade of beige. The result is a patchy looking floor."
Review 7 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Some constructive criticism 
 July 24, 2012
 July 24, 2012
by Dimples
"Epoxy with deco flakes was bought at the same store but didn't check dye lot #'s and all 3 cans of beige produced three different shades with a definite visible line. It was mixed the same and put on the same; maybe my mistake for not checking #'s; but neither did the sales personnel. We applied it thoroughly and 2 cans did not cover my two car garage necessitating a trip back; ( 2 1/2 cans) If you want heavy flaking, there aren't enough flakes, so watch your use. Applied the acrylic glaze and this went on easily and only took 1 can....much happier with this product than the epoxy. It's only a garage floor but for the cost, I guess I was expecting more. Still an improvement over the concrete!"
Review 8 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Product 
 February 23, 2012
 February 23, 2012
by staton
"Great product. My laundry room floor looks awesome!"
Review 9 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
50-50 
 November 8, 2011
 November 8, 2011
by oakhilljack
"I worked preping my 20x20 garage floor that was cracked and rough and very old for 1 year. Preperation is paramount. My big problem was the floor had been painted with laytex and oil based paint many layers. Hot tire pickup was bad. I scraped any loose paint down to concrete. The entire floor was sanded and preped as instructed. Floor looks great after epoxy and a heavy load of chips was used.I stayed off the floor for 3 weeks. I still got hot tire transfer on concrete areas The old paint is good. I bought thick rubber mats to place where tires line up and solved the problem. All in all I like the product."
Review 10 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Scratchs and chips off easily 
 September 19, 2011
 September 19, 2011
by jeremy
"I am very disappointed with the epoxy paint i followed all the instructions with cleaning the floor and applying the epoxy and the floor has radiant heat so it stayed at a constant temperature of 70degrees and when it was done drying and got hard for 3 weeks without any traffic. i thought ok it looks nice some areas are shiny some are dull oh well. then as soon as i would move a vehicle back and forth or walk on it, it would scratch and chip and peel from a stone stuck to a shoe or tire or a nail dropped on the floor. the product is horrible i would never recommend to anyone."
Review 11 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Very poor stain resistance 
 August 29, 2011
 August 29, 2011
by jdawg2225
"I purchased this product for my garage. I do all the maintenance on my cars in my garage. My goal for this product was that it would not peel and that I could wipe up the oil, grease, coolant ect without leaving a stain. I applied 2 coats of the epoxy and 2 coats of the clear coat and let them site for over a week. The first time I washed my floor I noticed that the shine was gone from the floor and the finish looked flat. After working on my car and spilling some fluids on the floor and wiping them up within a couple hours I noticed that my floor was stained. After 2 years the floor has not peeled and the epoxy coating is rock hard and not peeling, but there are so many staines on it that I am thinking of recoating the floor when I sell the house. Right now I am not sure what would look better a bare concrete floor or one with this epoxy coating on it."
Review 12 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Very Satisfied 
 September 2, 2011
 September 2, 2011
by FAP
"I decided to make this a DIY project as part of moving into our new home. I did a lot of research on-line before starting and the info sort of made me paranoid since if not done properly you can easily end up with a result that you are not happy with as well as making this a much bigger project than it should be.
Armed with a “healthy paranoia” I decided to overweight the prep as everyone suggests even though my garage floor was brand new cement with no stains. I am not a big fan of the use of muriatic acid so I decided to prep the floor by essentially sanding it. I did this by renting a floor maintainer from Home Depot with a diamond disc which is what Home Depot recommended. It look me about 3 hours (and $75) to sand the entire floor, remove the slick feel, and open the pores of the cement. I then rinsed off as much of the dust as I could with a garden hose and then scrubbed the floor with the cleaner provided in the kit. I then power washed the cement multiple times (3 total) until I could run my finger across it without significant dust getting on it.
I let the cement dry (only took approximately 24 hours) and then applied the epoxy. Went on as expected except that I found that I got much better coverage on my 400 sq ft garage and ended up only using one kit even though I was told a single kit only covers 200-250 sq ft. Admittedly the last part was a little challenging as it does become hard to work with after about 2-1/2 hours but overall it turned out great. One coat seemed to be sufficient and I applied the decorative flakes and put two coats of the acrylic glaze from a one gallon can. Stayed off of it for 72 hours and didn’t drive on it for 96 hours. I am hopeful that with our weather (60-90 degrees year round) that it will last for many years but we’ll see.
Overall I am very satisfied with the product and appreciate the help I received from the local Sherwin Williams store to help ensure a successful result."
Review 13 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent Product! 
 August 16, 2011
 August 16, 2011
by tralo
"Prep, Prep, Prep! Clean concrete, etch concrete, power wash concrete, let "clean" concrete dry completely then follow the directions. Purchased 2 kits since our garage is 420 sq.ft. and had plenty to spare. We worked as a 2-person team with one rolling and one shaking flakes. We also topped with the acrylic clear glaze. Waited 4 days to drive on. The floor is awesome!
Tip: From the dollar store we purchased a glass cheese/red pepper shaker, put flakes in, taped lid on, widened wholes, and shook flakes instead of recommended method."
Review 14 for H&C® Shield-Crete® Epoxy Concrete Floor Coating
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
So far, so good! 
 March 24, 2011
 March 24, 2011
by Fianna192
"Well i guess im the first one to review this product! Let me tell you first that i have done weeks of research on garage floor epoxy. That being said I will tell you what everyone else says on their reviews of similar products... its all in the prep work. And from what they say, most of these product are very similar but its how you prepare the surface that really determines whether the product will adhere or not.
The directions enclosed tell you that you dont have to etch the concrete before you apply it but i strongly suggest that you do do some type of etching whether it be chemical, machine or manual. I opted for the chemical and used Behr Clean/ Etch. I actually just did only half the garage so far.( I dont have any place to store my stuff so i must do one side then the other). But, i used the whole container of etcher on just one side in two applications. I rinsed really well then used the enclosed cleaner and degreaser. I had to used two kits for just the one side because the square footage came in just over 300 and the kit only covers 200 (not 250!). This type of paint is NOT something that you can stretch. And you must work fairly fast because it gets gummy and hard to work with toward the end. It took me about two hours total to do 300 sq ft. So within just a couple of hours it did start to harden and by the time we woke up n the morning you could walk on it. I actually got down on my hands and knees and took my finger nail and scraped at it. It seem like its adhering really well and you cant scrape any up. Of course the true test will be when we park the cars in there but so far its doing what its suppose to do. Please fell free to ask any questions..."