Product Reviews

Fast Drying Primer

Gets the job done quickly - allowing for faster production and recoats in one hour.
Average Customer Rating:
2.571 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
3 of 7(43%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fast Drying Primer
Review 1 for Fast Drying Primer
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Spray, don't brush 
 March 2, 2014
 March 2, 2014
by Cadestantine
"This is a good product to spray a solid coat of 'fast drying, oil-based' primer. It is horrible to brush even if you try to thin it. It blocks stains ok, probably will take 2 coats. Be sure to watch your recoat time. I use it when I need a fast drying primer, that sands really well, and I don't want to raise the wood grain."
Review 2 for Fast Drying Primer
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not for amateurs 
 August 22, 2013
 August 22, 2013
by cjalex
"Dries way too quickly. Used it for some exterior door frames that I had scraped to bare wood. It gets super tacky by the time you finish your first stroke with it. When attempting to blend with the succeeding strokes, the surface roughs up since it is already too sticky to brush over. I'm just hoping I can sand it enough to smooth it out tomorrow. Probably best for some small area spot priming. Will use a different primer on the rest of the areas I need to prime."
Review 3 for Fast Drying Primer
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Thick and Fast drying 
 May 22, 2013
 May 22, 2013
by Chuck
"Great combination! I do not pay for the vehicle of a product; I can add that to condition the material to my liking. When a wood project needs a little kick in the seat of the pants to prime and paint quickly, this is the ticket. Of course when a deeper penetration and time allows use the longer drying oil primer on woods."
Review 4 for Fast Drying Primer
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Don't waste your money 
 September 19, 2012
 September 19, 2012
by Sandybyf
"This "primer" may be good if you use your fingers to smooth it out. It dries from the paint bucket to the wood. This was the only oil-based primer available at our store. We're buying another brand today to re-do what we have already "painted". A complete waste of money and time."
Review 5 for Fast Drying Primer
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Waste of time. 
 April 18, 2012
 April 18, 2012
by kar
"Used in a garage. Did not block stains of any kind, even after two coats."
Review 6 for Fast Drying Primer
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Primer/sealer 
 March 18, 2012
 March 18, 2012
by stephen50
"This is the best oil base primer/sealer I have ever used. It is a heavy, thick primer/sealer that drys quickly and allows me to paint window glazing shortly after glazing is applied. I have used two other brands and they don't hold up to this.
The first reviewer got the wrong information from his store salesman. If your aren't quick it will dry on the brush or roller. It is not made for general priming.
You can sand it smooth if needed. It will seal pine pitch knots and all other items that can't be normally covered
"
Review 7 for Fast Drying Primer
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not brushable 
 June 27, 2011
 June 27, 2011
by Coyier
"Was sold this primer as a solution to my project of refinishing doors and molding where my primary concern was brush streaks interfering with a smooth oil top coat. I used a high quality brush and am reasonably adept with finish painting including brush application of laquer. I could not get this primer on without severe brush streaks that did not level out at all. Ended up spending 2 hours sanding it all off with 80-grit. The only good thing was it powders up when sanded but still took considerable effort to remove all traces of the brush streaks. If formulated for spray app, then put it on the can!"