Product Reviews

Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint

Eminence® is an exceptional ceiling paint that masks minor surface imperfections quickly and achieves outstanding uniformity immediately. The look is top-of-the-line… fresh, crisp, with high light reflectance.
Average Customer Rating:
2.923 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
13 of 26(50%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
Review 1 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Do not buy this product 
 May 23, 2016
 May 23, 2016
by Ayalawlor
"Extremely poor coverage and sub-par performance for the price. There are much better products on the market for less money. paint is too think and dries too quickly making it extremely hard to get a good end result. Furthermore, the thickness limits the surface coverage.
Overall disappointing and a waste of money."
Review 2 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Sadly disappointed 
 March 2, 2016
 March 2, 2016
by House
"I am not one to write reviews but this paint has been awful!!! We have used this paint before with no problems but on small rooms where one can per room was enough. We are now in the process of painting a much larger open area. We have put on three thick coats and there's still variations in the paint. Hundreds of dollars later, hours and hours spent painting, and I feel like I'm back at square one. my husband and I have both had shoulder surgeries. So this isn't something we enjoy doing just for fun. The ceiling looks a little better, yes. It's still not the way it should be. For the money and supposed quality of this paint, it hasn't been worth it. I will NOT be buying this type of paint from them again and will definitely not recommend it to anyone!!!!"
Review 3 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Works great 
 November 16, 2015
 November 16, 2015
by kershanator
"I read the reviews before buying this, and despite the negative critiques, I loved this paint. The ceiling I painted hadn't been painted in almost 15 years, and the fresh white from this paint was absolutely lovely. Our ceiling is a tray ceiling with lots of texture. I had to do some areas of it at different intervals and never had a problem with streaking or seeing the difference between paint jobs. It dried fast, but that didn't affect the finished appearance. If anyone is worried about that, maybe putting a humidifier in the room while painting could help. Maybe our ceiling was thirsty, or the texture increased the coverage needed, but my ceiling needed the entire gallon, and it's an average-sized room. The paint is nice and thick. I had to go back and touch up a few spots that I missed, but that's just part of the whole painting process. It was lovely one-coat coverage and I will absolutely use it again when ready to tackle another ceiling."
Review 4 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Exceeded expectations! 
 July 28, 2015
 July 28, 2015
by Dave
"I had no issues applying this paint. It went on smooth, covered well, and cleaned up well. I applied only 1 coat and the coverage was excellent. I would highly recommend this paint to both professional and non-professional painters."
Review 5 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Easy Application 
 August 22, 2015
 August 22, 2015
by Craig
"Easy application and clean up! Blends well and covers well."
Review 6 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Multiple coats required 
 July 20, 2015
 July 20, 2015
by jdwalter
"It took me 4 coats to finally get the lap marks out. The end result is great, but it took far more effort than I expected."
Review 7 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
not SW standard I expected 
 July 3, 2015
 July 3, 2015
by ankur
"1 gallon 2 coats did not even cover 150 sq. feet, ended up paying for 2 cans of 1 gal. I should have bought Emerald for 44 bucks and get better results and less time"
Review 8 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrible Ceiling Paint 
 June 16, 2015
 June 16, 2015
by Nick
"This paint is the worst Sherwin product I have ever used. The paint is super thick and does not go very far. It took almost a gallon to cover 275 sqft. The bigger problem is the dry time. It dries incredibly fast which makes it impossible to avoid lap marks. A complete waste of time and money, I'll be re-coating the ceiling with a competitors product."
Review 9 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
No second coat! 
 June 1, 2015
 June 1, 2015
by mary
"I would disagree with the previous ratings. For the price i paid, the paint covered nicely especially not having to do a second coat even with popcorn ceiling! I had no streaks or blotches and it dried perfectly. Our ceiling adds source of brightness and cleanliness to our home."
Review 10 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
horrible product 
 May 18, 2015
 May 18, 2015
by cmatuse
"I've painted all areas of my upstairs with this product. Primed ceilings which came out fine with SW multi purpose primer. When i use this paint it dried too quickly resulting in lap marks which are impossible to get rid of. I tried to maintain a wet edge to avoid the lap marks but it didn't matter this stuff dries so fast. I should have just left he ceilings primed they looked just fine. I would not recommend this to anyone unless you enjoy applying many coats to your ceiling and having lap marks."
Review 11 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Very Nice 
 April 21, 2015
 April 21, 2015
by FUJIONE
"After years of buying Home Depot ceiling and having to do at least 2 coats Eminence is an upgrade. It covered my ceiling in one coat and I didn't have to do a second, it was my choice. I did the second coat anyhow and it is perfect! No streaks or blotches, not sure why so many poor reviews it is very nice."
Review 12 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
It is better than the poor reviews on here 
 April 10, 2015
 April 10, 2015
by Chris
"I used this on every inch of ceilings in my house. Some places were only 1 coat, others were 2, based on the previous paint the texture. It was easy to use and looks great. The purpose of ceiling paint in my opinion is to not draw attention to the ceiling, and for that this paint gets 4 Stars."
Review 13 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Poor Coverage 
 February 3, 2015
 February 3, 2015
by Carey
"By no means am I a professional painter however, this paint has been the worst SW paint I have ever purchased. This product very difficult to work with - poor coverage. I would not recommend this to anyone and will never use it again on my ceilings. I refuse to go to the big box stores for paint but this product has changed my mind."
Review 14 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Two Coats for Warranty 
 January 21, 2015
 January 21, 2015
by gnorth16
"First this is the thickest paint I have ever used and the fastest drying as well. Hides pretty good, but the application is just horrendous. As for one coat, not in a million years!!! The warranty on the can even says it's only valid with two coats. If you want a one coater, go with a paint/primer in one. At least it was 30% off and I wasn't gullible enough to believe the one coat claim. If I paid full price or allocated time and money based on one coat I would have given it 1 star."
Review 15 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
One Coat? 
 December 17, 2014
 December 17, 2014
by detredwings
"I don't understand how Sherwin Williams can claim One Coat coverage? Never happens not even with Duration Paint. I extra rolled with a heavy application White over White and it needs a second coat. This time I am not going to use Eminence, this stuff was a waste of money."
Review 16 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Solid Performer 
 May 16, 2014
 May 16, 2014
by Dave
"I used this on a stucco ceiling and had good coverage in one coat. I rolled this on with no issues at all. It's not like water. I can recommend this with no reservations."
Review 17 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Drys to fast not easy to apply to texterd ceiling 
 May 28, 2014
 May 28, 2014
by wrenchhead
"I tried 3/8 1/2 and 3/4 nap roller to white to hide plaster patch so I took it back and had it tinted. Still see light and dark spots I will be glad to finish this can and try something else!!!"
Review 18 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Finally!!! 
 January 21, 2014
 January 21, 2014
by IVY
"I had painted a large area in my kitchen, after removing a light fixture. I'd tried 3 other ceiling paints from other stores & that were highly rated; only to find they didn't match at all. I remembered my contractor had used Sherwin Williams & took one last chance & it matches perfect! Some spots needed more paint than others, but after 24 hours of drying time, it's done. Thank you Sherwin Williams.
Such a relief.
"
Review 19 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Great paint. Have one question. 
 August 19, 2013
 August 19, 2013
by bubba725
"I am a DIYer who has painted ALOT. used Behr for years because HD was close by and they had super white paint when it first came out. I came to realize it is not very good paint. Falling in love with SW paint all over again. I used this ceiling paint today. Used 2 coats over primed (with Kilz) skim coated ceiling. Dries flat, bright white,and level out good. If I had one issue with this paint (and all paints) I wish they would dry slower so I can go back and back roll and not have any lap marks of any kind. After just 2 or 3 minutes I can't touch the paint because it is setting already. Years ago I did not have these issues. People want paint to dry fast so they can recoat or complete the job. However, the paint dries too fast. No time to correct mistakes or backroll a large area. So here is my question. Would using an additive to slow the dry time down be ok with this ceiling paint or any SW paint?"
Review 20 for Eminence® High Performance Ceiling Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Use this on all my ceilings 
 August 6, 2013
 August 6, 2013
by Berkshire80
"Excellent ceiling paint. Dries to a very flat bright white finish that looks great in all lighting conditions."
1 2 next>>