Product Reviews

Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex

Sherwin-Williams Emerald® paint and primer in one with advanced stain blocking technology delivers best-in-class overall performance. To ensure a beautiful, smooth finish and stunning color for years to come, use our finest paint ever. Emerald prevents stains from penetrating, offers maximum resistance to water streaking and spotting, features truly remarkable hide and covers dark colors. With exceptional coverage and washability, it’s perfect for any paint job. Coming Summer 2015: Emerald Interior will be available in a flat finish with excellent washability. Emerald is available in four sheens, including a technologically advanced flat finish that offers the same washability, durability and burnish resistance as the matte or glossier sheens. The flat finish hides minor dywall imperdections while providing a washable, rich look. With Emerald Interior Flat, there is no need to sacrifice performance for appearance. Flat, Matte and Satin finishes are now available in a new high hiding accent base, formulated to boost hiding power and deliver truer colors in fewer coats.
Average Customer Rating:
3.52 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
59 of 102(58%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Worth Every Penny 
 February 2, 2016
 February 2, 2016
by dapainter
"I just finished an interior repaint where I used Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex Paint! (Satin Finish). Emerald is the Best Interior Paint I have used. It went on smooth and easy. The coverage is outstanding! And it touches up also! Great Paint!!"
Review 2 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Large Living Room - Hall Project 
 February 2, 2016
 February 2, 2016
by Cheryl
"This paint is well worth the extra money - plus usually a sale going on as well. We have a living room with a vaulted ceiling. It is quite the job to get the room painted. The ceilings are over twenty feet up. It requires scaffolding to reach the top. This paint covered in one coat....went on like a dream...hid many blemishes and dried to a perfect luster. I am extremely fussy and this paint is a dream come true. Two of my sons did the painting for me...both have worked as professional painters and now own their own contracting companies...at first they thought I was nuts not to buy what they usually buy....but after the first few minutes....even they were impressed. Great choice - worth the cost. The labor is the priceless part...so why buy inexpensive paint and risk it."
Review 3 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Buy Cashmere instead! 
 January 31, 2016
 January 31, 2016
by Lauren
"Have used Emerald-Flat and Cashmere-Flat in the same room, same color. It's a long story about needing one more coat on the ceiling and not wanting to buy another full gallon of Cashmere.
Big mistake! Cashmere is AMAZING, the flat is so rich and saturated (I used Shamrock- a deep green). The last coat of Emerald was so 'flat' (I get the irony) and dusty. You can EASILY see roller lines, whereas my walls (that are same color, but in Cashmere- look flawless).
My advice is go with Cashmere, every time. Emerald is not worth the re-do's and headaches from a less than perfect finish!"
Review 4 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Not what expected 
 January 6, 2016
 January 6, 2016
by mike
"I got Pepercorn in the matte sheen. When paint dried there was sheen difference between each stroke. Some spots would have a more glossy appearance then others and tried my hardest to fix this issue. This paint might be better as a flat or a experienced pro might figure it out. I never had problems like this with other paint at other stores. Also this paint is really thick. I'm using Purdy rollers and tools."
Review 5 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Works great for me! 
 November 18, 2015
 November 18, 2015
by smitjel
"The entire interior of my house is painted with SW Emerald Satin. I hired out for the big rooms and the painters mentioned how well the paint rolls onto walls. I've painted 2 smaller rooms myself and I couldn't be happier with it. I use a 3/8" nap purdy roller and always do 2 coats. I can't see any streaks on my walls. Even using painter's tape was a snap...the tape's edge came off perfect with a sharp line. What else do you need? Catch it on sale if you can!"
Review 6 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Coverage 
 November 11, 2015
 November 11, 2015
by Dougie
"One gallon of their paint (even with a dark color) covered my whole bathroom! Very Impressed!!!"
Review 7 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Emarald brand paint 
 September 28, 2015
 September 28, 2015
by Bambi
"Love this brand! I painted my blood red walls with this brand. I painted it latte only took 1 coat it looks amazing!"
Review 8 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Doesn't live up to name 
 September 6, 2015
 September 6, 2015
by Htrain
"This paint does not live up to it's exterior sibling. I got this paint because I have used the exterior version (excellent product) and was expecting similar results. Nope. The spread and cutting in of the paint is predictable and consistent. That's the good news. The paint has awful hiding characteristics. Two coats of primer and four coats of paint (off white semi gloss) and the green board in my bathroom still peeks thru in spots. The paint has a tendency to sag unless applied very thin. The thin coats tend to have a dry look to them similar to what a very fine stucco finish would look like. For the price, this paint is very disappointing!!!"
Review 9 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful Sheen 
 August 24, 2015
 August 24, 2015
by AcademicSocialite
"Used Emerald in semi-gloss to paint some woodwork. The paint imparts a beautiful, pearlescent sheen unlike anything I've seen before. Had slight difficulty figuring out how to get the paint to dry smoothly and without brushstrokes, but once I figured it all out I was very happy with this paint."
Review 10 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not what i expected 
 August 23, 2015
 August 23, 2015
by Li
"I had to paint a 24x16 room and while the spread with the roller was excellent (one coat would be enough) the drying time was significantly less than stated and light marks and roller marks all over the walls. Did 3 coats to correct and still could not get rid of these problems."
Review 11 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Challenge with Satin sheen 
 August 6, 2015
 August 6, 2015
by Mike
"Satin sheen is challenging to apply without leaving roller marks. The standard W application pattern results in a different sheen for the up and down strokes. Satin sheen is durable and easy to clean (we painted a high use kitchen with Satin sheen 18 months ago and it looks like the day we painted it). But the kitchen has lots of cabinets, windows, etc. so the small open areas dont show the roller marks much. But in large rooms like living rooms, the roller marks for Satin sheen are to much to accept. We painted over the first Satin coat in our living room with Matte finish which looks much better. Use the lowest sheen paint in the Emerald line-up for the room you are painting and you should be happy."
Review 12 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Junk 
 August 1, 2015
 August 1, 2015
by B
"Took three (3) coats. Very runny. Dries rubbery. Leaves stroke marks if you dont go back and roll over it. Never had to do 3 coats with other sherwin williams types."
Review 13 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Extremely Pleased! 
 July 31, 2015
 July 31, 2015
by Ed
"I have not used SW paint for a very long time but I was extremely happy with the Emerald product. I thought for sure I would have to use two coats but the coverage was outstanding and there was no dripping or splattering. I am sold on it! The folks at my local store were also very helpful."
Review 14 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Perfect Paint..!! 
 June 12, 2015
 June 12, 2015
by ThePainter
"I know it's the expensive stuff brother painters.. but you know the whole, "you get what you pay for" saying..? It's performance and workability are spot on and yes I definetly recommend it. Odds to achieving that one coat finish, (besides the typical trim coat enamel, 2nd cut in) is finally in reach. Now in the new "True Flat"..!! Thumbs up Sherwin..!!"
Review 15 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Worked out perfectly 
 July 23, 2015
 July 23, 2015
by Allyson
"My husband and I are new homeowners and novice painters. We purchased Emerald satin finish in a medium gray (Gray Matters) to paint a large, windowed bathroom with vaulted ceilings. Emerald covered the original wall color *and* four shades of sample squares with no show-through, after only one coat. We did a second coat just to perfect the coverage, and had no trouble with roller strokes showing after the paint was dry (we used Purdy White Dove rollers). The only issue we had was when we first got started, we waited 15-20 minutes between cutting in and rolling and ended up with half-dried 'flakes' in the roller as they peeled off the textured part of the paint tray. Switching liners and working more efficiently solved the problem. We will absolutely be using Emerald in the future."
Review 16 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
disappointed 
 July 22, 2015
 July 22, 2015
by Toni
"I've now completed 2 rooms with Emerald. The first was a mid-tone that would have required 1-1.5 coats tops in other paints I've used; this required 3. I also used a deep tone that required 3 coats on top of a dark tint primer. It dries very quickly and all the roller seams and cut ins show through. The dark room could actually use a 4th coat of paint to even it out but I can't stand to do it. I used recommended technique and rollers for both rooms. Other paint brands I've used have had much better coverage at an equal or lower price point. If this is SW's top of the line I'm not sure I'll buy paint there again. However I used Duration in the past and think I had better luck with that."
Review 17 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Paint 
 June 18, 2015
 June 18, 2015
by jayrz
"I normally use Duration, but decided to give Emerald a try since I had a coupon in addition to the 40% off. I was surprised that the adhesion of this paint better than Duration. The difference in price between the two products is not that much. I'd buy Emerald, on sale only, because it has better adhesion and the final appearance looks better than Duration. The paint is easy to apply and has plenty open apply time. I am really interested in the flat sheen, but I have not been able to find it in a store in Michigan anywhere. The paint is very similar to Duration.... noticeably there are some advantages."
Review 18 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Saved Time 
 June 1, 2015
 June 1, 2015
by gingurr25
"I assumed I would need two coats to cover the loud green I was trying to cover. I've seen one coat coverage and blah blah blah it never requires one coat I've tried Behr and Valspar. I will never paint with anything else again. One coat was all it took. It looks fantastic. I could not be any happier."
Review 19 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent Qulaity 
 May 25, 2015
 May 25, 2015
by AM
"Very satisfied with the quality of paint - does not smell and easy to clean. Gives a nice smooth uniform finish. Painted 5 rooms and got the job done in a single coat - was not sure if single coat will do the trick, but it did.
Recommend S-W Emerald to all my friends.
"
Review 20 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald Paint - Never again. 
 April 28, 2015
 April 28, 2015
by la
"This Emerald paint is a very strong, acrylic and ammonia base paint. The paint dried on my walls a very vibrant color, was no where near the color I went in the Sherwin Williams store to purchase. After my 3rd trip there I changed to a different color and had a different sales person (Chris) who was very helpful and made sure I was a satisfied customer.
If you are looking for a precise color to match exactly what you want, DO NOT USE EMERALD PAINT.
"
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>