Product Reviews

Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex

Sherwin-Williams Emerald® paint and primer in one with advanced stain blocking technology delivers best-in-class overall performance. To ensure a beautiful, smooth finish and stunning color for years to come, use our finest paint ever. Emerald prevents stains from penetrating, offers maximum resistance to water streaking and spotting, features truly remarkable hide and covers dark colors. With exceptional coverage and washability, it’s perfect for any paint job. Coming Summer 2015: Emerald Interior will be available in a flat finish with excellent washability. Emerald is available in four sheens, including a technologically advanced flat finish that offers the same washability, durability and burnish resistance as the matte or glossier sheens. The flat finish hides minor dywall imperdections while providing a washable, rich look. With Emerald Interior Flat, there is no need to sacrifice performance for appearance. Flat, Matte and Satin finishes are now available in a new high hiding accent base, formulated to boost hiding power and deliver truer colors in fewer coats.
Average Customer Rating:
3.536 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
64 of 110(58%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Fantastic 
 July 16, 2016
 July 16, 2016
by DJ
"I USED to use Behr products but I'll never go back. One coat and done, drys fast, looks great and dirt rubs off easily. It's worth the extra $ if you are trying to decide."
Review 2 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not for color rich paint 
 July 15, 2016
 July 15, 2016
by Anna
"I've used many Sherwin Williams products. I painted the bedrooms with Duration and my main open level with Emerald. I found Duration to be thick, a great coat regardless of color, and you use a lot less for great coverage. We were talked into Emerald being informed that in satin finish it would show less roller & brush marks for our 2 story walls. I do agree with that statement. However, the product is thin, you use twice as much and it only seemed to work good in the beige families. When purchased in richer colors for accent walls it would take 3-4 coats to get a nice even coverage. Red was out of the question! I ended up going back to get Duration for that wall, after 4 coats of cutting in and it still looked awful!
It's great for light colors. I will stick with Duration for the rest of my home as I feel you get a much better coverage and you use a lot less."
Review 3 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Best Paint Ever 
 June 27, 2016
 June 27, 2016
by Tealeyes
"I have been a DIY painter for 40 years and this is the best paint I have ever used. Twenty-five years ago my kitchen was painted with a high gloss oil enamel (yuck). It cracked and flaked and showed every flaw on the walls and ceiling. I patched, sanded, deglossed and finally applied a coat of Emerald in a flat finish. The leveling performance of this product is amazing. The results were nearly perfect. My 30 year old kitchen looks brand new."
Review 4 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not impressed-had to cut in with 2 coats 
 June 11, 2016
 June 11, 2016
by Kay
"I have been painting for myself for 30 years and love SW paint but this Emerald interior is not one I will ever choose to use again.
It splattered like old school paint used to and the worst was having to paint a second coat on all my 'cutting in'.
First coat was smeary, streaky and pooled in places.
Give me a gallon of Duralast or Super paint any day."
Review 5 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Easy Peasy one coat coverage 
 June 8, 2016
 June 8, 2016
by Cheri
"I purchased my home with a dark chocolate colored kitchen...too dark. I was hesitant to spend so much on paint but took the plunge figuring if it would save me from painting a primer then two coats then it would be worth it right? Well, I chose "Functional Gray" which is much lighter than the paint I was to cover. I covered in ONE COAT! It is beautiful, no bleed through, stunning color. I am hooked. You get what you pay for! Every room will be painted with Emerald in the future."
Review 6 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Ready to SCREAM! 
 May 16, 2016
 May 16, 2016
by julie
"Paint scratches and rubs off easily; MAJOR pain in the neck. On third coat....still occurring...ready to rip the cupboard off the wall and toss it out the window.."
Review 7 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Worth Every Penny 
 February 2, 2016
 February 2, 2016
by dapainter
"I just finished an interior repaint where I used Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex Paint! (Satin Finish). Emerald is the Best Interior Paint I have used. It went on smooth and easy. The coverage is outstanding! And it touches up also! Great Paint!!"
Review 8 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent! 
 March 15, 2016
 March 15, 2016
by deb
"Great coverage - no lines- one coat coverage! My Son said "Mom don't worry one gallon will do this room" I was very doubtful because the room was large with nine foot ceilings. He was right!"
Review 9 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent product 
 February 8, 2016
 February 8, 2016
by Leo
"Best interior paint ever! Just finished painting my kitchen and Wow Highly recommend"
Review 10 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Large Living Room - Hall Project 
 February 2, 2016
 February 2, 2016
by Cheryl
"This paint is well worth the extra money - plus usually a sale going on as well. We have a living room with a vaulted ceiling. It is quite the job to get the room painted. The ceilings are over twenty feet up. It requires scaffolding to reach the top. This paint covered in one coat....went on like a dream...hid many blemishes and dried to a perfect luster. I am extremely fussy and this paint is a dream come true. Two of my sons did the painting for me...both have worked as professional painters and now own their own contracting companies...at first they thought I was nuts not to buy what they usually buy....but after the first few minutes....even they were impressed. Great choice - worth the cost. The labor is the priceless part...so why buy inexpensive paint and risk it."
Review 11 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Buy Cashmere instead! 
 January 31, 2016
 January 31, 2016
by Lauren
"Have used Emerald-Flat and Cashmere-Flat in the same room, same color. It's a long story about needing one more coat on the ceiling and not wanting to buy another full gallon of Cashmere.
Big mistake! Cashmere is AMAZING, the flat is so rich and saturated (I used Shamrock- a deep green). The last coat of Emerald was so 'flat' (I get the irony) and dusty. You can EASILY see roller lines, whereas my walls (that are same color, but in Cashmere- look flawless).
My advice is go with Cashmere, every time. Emerald is not worth the re-do's and headaches from a less than perfect finish!"
Review 12 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Not what expected 
 January 6, 2016
 January 6, 2016
by mike
"I got Pepercorn in the matte sheen. When paint dried there was sheen difference between each stroke. Some spots would have a more glossy appearance then others and tried my hardest to fix this issue. This paint might be better as a flat or a experienced pro might figure it out. I never had problems like this with other paint at other stores. Also this paint is really thick. I'm using Purdy rollers and tools."
Review 13 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Works great for me! 
 November 18, 2015
 November 18, 2015
by smitjel
"The entire interior of my house is painted with SW Emerald Satin. I hired out for the big rooms and the painters mentioned how well the paint rolls onto walls. I've painted 2 smaller rooms myself and I couldn't be happier with it. I use a 3/8" nap purdy roller and always do 2 coats. I can't see any streaks on my walls. Even using painter's tape was a snap...the tape's edge came off perfect with a sharp line. What else do you need? Catch it on sale if you can!"
Review 14 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Coverage 
 November 11, 2015
 November 11, 2015
by Dougie
"One gallon of their paint (even with a dark color) covered my whole bathroom! Very Impressed!!!"
Review 15 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Emarald brand paint 
 September 28, 2015
 September 28, 2015
by Bambi
"Love this brand! I painted my blood red walls with this brand. I painted it latte only took 1 coat it looks amazing!"
Review 16 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Doesn't live up to name 
 September 6, 2015
 September 6, 2015
by Htrain
"This paint does not live up to it's exterior sibling. I got this paint because I have used the exterior version (excellent product) and was expecting similar results. Nope. The spread and cutting in of the paint is predictable and consistent. That's the good news. The paint has awful hiding characteristics. Two coats of primer and four coats of paint (off white semi gloss) and the green board in my bathroom still peeks thru in spots. The paint has a tendency to sag unless applied very thin. The thin coats tend to have a dry look to them similar to what a very fine stucco finish would look like. For the price, this paint is very disappointing!!!"
Review 17 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful Sheen 
 August 24, 2015
 August 24, 2015
by AcademicSocialite
"Used Emerald in semi-gloss to paint some woodwork. The paint imparts a beautiful, pearlescent sheen unlike anything I've seen before. Had slight difficulty figuring out how to get the paint to dry smoothly and without brushstrokes, but once I figured it all out I was very happy with this paint."
Review 18 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not what i expected 
 August 23, 2015
 August 23, 2015
by Li
"I had to paint a 24x16 room and while the spread with the roller was excellent (one coat would be enough) the drying time was significantly less than stated and light marks and roller marks all over the walls. Did 3 coats to correct and still could not get rid of these problems."
Review 19 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Challenge with Satin sheen 
 August 6, 2015
 August 6, 2015
by Mike
"Satin sheen is challenging to apply without leaving roller marks. The standard W application pattern results in a different sheen for the up and down strokes. Satin sheen is durable and easy to clean (we painted a high use kitchen with Satin sheen 18 months ago and it looks like the day we painted it). But the kitchen has lots of cabinets, windows, etc. so the small open areas dont show the roller marks much. But in large rooms like living rooms, the roller marks for Satin sheen are to much to accept. We painted over the first Satin coat in our living room with Matte finish which looks much better. Use the lowest sheen paint in the Emerald line-up for the room you are painting and you should be happy."
Review 20 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Junk 
 August 1, 2015
 August 1, 2015
by B
"Took three (3) coats. Very runny. Dries rubbery. Leaves stroke marks if you dont go back and roll over it. Never had to do 3 coats with other sherwin williams types."
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>