Product Reviews

Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex

Emerald® paint and primer in one with advanced stain blocking technology delivers best-in-class overall performance. Emerald creates a beautiful, smooth, long lasting finish and features truly remarkable hide, washability and application characteristics.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
42 of 77(55%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Painted Portland's Chinese Gardens 
 February 8, 2015
 February 8, 2015
by Carl
"Our company, Cascade Painting and Restoration has been doing ongoing refurbishing and painting at Portland Oregon's famous Lan Su Chinese Gardens. As the painting contractors in Portland that they chose, we went with Emerald in order to do the very best exterior painting job that we could. We and they have been pleased with the results- a nice, smooth and hard paint finish that withstands the traffic of thousands of visitors."
Review 2 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful color and finish. 
 February 12, 2015
 February 12, 2015
by Rosie
"I liked the fact that this is a no-VOC paint. Being a steward of the earth, this is the main reason I bought it. Believing I could do the room with one coat, I was discouraged to see streaking when I put a dark blue color over a soft mauve tint. So why was I surprised that one coat wouldn't do it? And having textured walls I found small pits that needed punching out with a dabbing motion for the really stubborn spots. Overall I felt that I paid too much for a paint that didn't deliver the one-coat promise, but I felt good about myself for choosing an earth-friendly paint. The color has lasted over a year and is easy to clean. Being dark it is a real eye-opener for an accent wall. The sheen (finish) is smooth and gorgeous. Overall the end product is great, I just worked harder and paid more than I wanted to get the coverage I needed."
Review 3 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Awful!!!! 
 November 21, 2014
 November 21, 2014
by Debbie
"I bought so much of this paint for my brand new house! Although I could see some roller marks on some of the walls, I could live with that. Until I painted the very tall stairway. I was told to use the flat, which probably is a bad idea on the walls of a stairway. I am pretty good at painting. Even had a contractor interested in hiring me. So when I couldn't eliminate the obvious roller marks, I was beside myself!! And still am!! Since I just finished the product today! I hope SW will make this right for me by exchanging what I have left, which isn't much, with a paint that will provide better coverage!"
Review 4 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Worried but came out great 
 December 27, 2014
 December 27, 2014
by Liz
"I am a novice painter and I wanted the best paint for my home. I chose SW because of the quality, I tried Emerald because it is reported as the best paint, I painted an accent wall plum and after priminig and the first coat of color (as suggested by SW sales person) the wall looked awful. I took the paint back to the store and they told me it might take 2 to 3 coats before I had unifromity due to the thinnness of the paint when using a deep base. This of course did not make sense as it was one coat coverage, don't believe it even using an off white it took 2 coats. The finished project looks great after several coats and priming (kilz2) prior on builders grade exisiting paint. The wall is evenly colored, no roller lines and perfect colors on both the plum and the beige. So despite a lot of work on my part the overall product was great, I bought blue edge lock and green frog tape for baseboards and ceiling and the green frog tape worked the best. Gave a 4 instead of a 5 because it was not one coat and I had to prime prior even though it says it is primer and paint in one."
Review 5 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Loved it 
 December 9, 2014
 December 9, 2014
by Gigi
"I must say I am very confused by the negative reviews. I researched paint bought some from the big box stores and bought a lot of SW paint when it was on sale. Let's say this SW paint is amazing. I painted almost my whole house using Emerald and Duration and I have no streaking, no roller lines, nothing. It is a bit thick but I liked it. I did two coats and everything looks uniform. I used to Purdy rollers, per recommendation from a few painters and the paint is beautiful on my walls. And let me say this, my first coat was horrible and I was painting over newly drywalled and painted walls and the paint is uniform so with my second coat I was more detailed in application and the results are beautiful. By comparison I painted over my fireplace with paint from a big box store and I could see roller lines everywhere and the paint isn't uniform. SW wins hands down."
Review 6 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Horrible Problems 
 November 17, 2014
 November 17, 2014
by DevItHere
"Just like the previous reviewer, we have the sheen problem on the wall. This is a DIY for us so we fortunately did not have a labor cost involved, but our time was wasted. I noticed it on a test spot and after the first coat. After the second coat it was worse. The sheen is slightly different between each up and down stroke of the roller. Not sure how it that is even possible using the same paint, same roller, and the same paint rolled from the pan.
We did 2 coats of primer from SW and 2 coats of Emerald and it really does look bad since we used a darker color gingery. Since I saw the problem on the first coat as well, there is no reason to believe a third cost would help. We did use the rollers from the SW store that they told us to use.
Not sure what the problem is, but we are not going to use the rest of the paint be bought. A lot of money to waste."
Review 7 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Horrible finish on smooth texture wall 
 October 25, 2014
 October 25, 2014
by InsaneHomeowner
"I'm writing this bad review again because it appears SW deleted my first post. If you use this product you risk having to repaint everything. You would think the high cost could warrant such poor quality. I'm very disappointed I have to pay my contractor twice since I was the one who selected the paint. I give them credit for allowing me to return the paint but that doesn't come close to the labor costs. We tried 3 coats on a new wall with a smooth texture and coat of primer. The sales person tried to suggest we used the wrong roller but that was not the case and doesn't account for the difference in sheen across the entire wall. It appears the paint is not blending well since it looks like I tried to paint a satin finish over a matte finish. I'm very disappointed with SW for suggesting this paint. I'm very suspicious of the good reviews now that I see my bad one was removed. Interesting how the negative reviews have a very common theme... Wish I had read them before i bought the paint!"
Review 8 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald Sedate Gray 
 October 17, 2014
 October 17, 2014
by Mitch
"Great Paint, Great Coverage...This was my first experience with SW Paint. I had no issues and paint straight over the spec Tan color paint the builder used. The Paint was excellent and the store was great! All the reporting of streaks and lack of coverage is really confusing since I had absolutely 0 issues. I will be testing out the S/W Ceiling Paint over the weekend in Sedate Gray."
Review 9 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Semi-Gloss Report 
 September 27, 2014
 September 27, 2014
by Phil
"I was taking my orange peel texture off but wouldnt you know it, the texture was oil based and was taking chunks of my drywall off. A small project turned in to a nightmare because of all the extra work involved. Skim coat after skim coat, sanding after sanding. I had all this extra work because semi-gloss paint shows every imperfection. I was a little scared of Emerald because of the negitive reviews about roller marks. I even saw some on my parents walls after they hired a pro painter. I then started researching and realized that I had no choice really but to go with Emerald because i only needed a quart. I talked to everyone at my local store and learned that most people had problems with roller marks. I was given a contractors 3/8 roller and was told that it is the one to use. After listening to all of the extremely helpful pro's at my store,( I don't think they are reps because of the exceptional training they are provided) I have a near flawless project. I rushed a little bit and have to fix them but the product is as advertised!"
Review 10 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Not worth the $$$ 
 September 21, 2014
 September 21, 2014
by bezeemom
"This paint may have GOOD one coat coverage but to cut in with it is HORRIBLE. There is no flow or glide because the paint is too thick. I have a lot of experience painting and I will NEVER use this paint again! Used the best brushes and rollers and it didn't matter. If you have to thin the paint down to get a good flow for cutting in the negates the coverage. Use one of the cheaper level paints. You are still going to need 2 coats anyway, might as well make it go smoothly."
Review 11 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Worst paint Ever! 
 September 9, 2014
 September 9, 2014
by Laurel
"I used this paint for my Living and Dining areas. I've never been so upset and frustrated painting in my life. I didn't prime the walls because I was going over white and was told I didn't need to. 3 coats in and my walls still did not have even coverage. I made numerous trips to the store for help. They sold me new brushes, gave me new things to try, honestly the wonderful staff at the store is the only thing that made me keep going back. I am now FIVE coats in and still brush marks and lines every where!!!! Every time I look at my walls I'm so upset. This is not my first time painting, I've done numerous projects in my life with both cheap and expensive paint and have never had such a horrible experience as this. I contacted SW about the problem and they told me I'd be contacted and I never was. Not even of a free gallon of paint after I'd spent SO much more money than I anticipated because of the quality of their product. Very disappointed!!"
Review 12 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
easy peasy 
 September 5, 2014
 September 5, 2014
by slaphappy
"I had quit using SW paint and had been using Porter Paint. Saw the new Emerald, so I thought I would give it a try. Do not know why other reviews find this paint hard to use. This is the 2nd room I have painted with Emerald. I have no roller lines or cut in lines. It goes on beautifully. Always use 2 coats of paint, only had to use 1 coat. Very smooth finish.
Scrubabilty is fantastic, just spray with an all-purpose cleaner. Comes right off and does not shineup on the wall.
Love, love, love this paint!"
Review 13 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great coverage with fewer gallons 
 July 26, 2014
 July 26, 2014
by Sheri
"I love this paint! Two coats in the most difficult tints still cover perfectly using fewer gallons. If you are a pro, you can purchase fewer gallons for the same coverage as SuperPaint. This week we did a 14X14 bedroom which covered blissfully in two coats using Samovar Silver using only ONE GALLON. If you are not a pro, think "less is more". Your first coat should be thin, and do not over-roll once it starts to tack up or you will create roll marks. Your final coat is for finish so keep the roller moving and do NOT go backwards. If you are a real freak about sheen, follow the advice of "cut twice, roll twice". (Not cut-roll-cut-roll.)"
Review 14 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Superb Paint 
 July 22, 2014
 July 22, 2014
by Len
"This is really good paint. One coat coverage and above all- is this right?"
Review 15 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Still two coats even with primer 
 June 2, 2014
 June 2, 2014
by gary
"As I had noted with the cashmere paint, had hope for the more expensive "premium" paint. Nope. primer and two coats with touch up was needed over the lightest of cover. Tried with a couple different recommended rollers but no change. actually covers better on textured walls than flat. I had the semi-gloss, maybe the flat or eggshell finishes cover better. clearly not recommending."
Review 16 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
TopGrade... 
 May 8, 2014
 May 8, 2014
by Kid
"Not for the novice painter,Never had a line on my wall.Have painted over 25 years.This paint if client can pay for it change the whole house on color diversity.Need wright applicators."
Review 17 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald interior is poor quality and overpriced 
 March 15, 2014
 March 15, 2014
by Valleyqb07
"I'm own a large painting business and have used Sherwin Williams Emerald in my own home and in my customer's homes. I apply the product as it states on the data pages. Even in the matte finish, it shows side sheen (roller marks when viewed from an angle). It is very cleanable; however, the appearance is the worst of any brand I've ever used. I repainted everything in my house with a different paint and have customers sign off on the potential of a non-uniform appearance prior to using this product. Do not associate the price of this product with the quality of this product. Sherwin Williams makes many good products; however, this is not one of them. Cashmere is going to have the best appearance and Super Paint is going to have the best hide/coverage."
Review 18 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Love the oder free! 
 April 12, 2014
 April 12, 2014
by Denise
"I have painted my entire home with this paint and while using it you can notice an oder it is gone by the time the paint is dry. That evening my entire home was oder free. It went on very thick and was worth every penny as other bands were smelly for weeks and needed 2-3 coats to do a good job. I will never use another brand of paint."
Review 19 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great when applying right! 
 April 9, 2014
 April 9, 2014
by HannahKittyCat
"After reading online reviews I was nervous to use this paint. But after talking with a sales associate about my fears she explained exactly how to use it to avoid roller marks! She explained that this paint would be different to paint with than other products I used. She recommended a specific roller cover to smooth out roller marks and taught me about the importance of "back rolling". For me the paint came out beautifully! I like it better than the SuperPaint!"
Review 20 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Good Quality Paint 
 April 7, 2014
 April 7, 2014
by Mk
"I panicked when I read the reviews here as I had just ordered 2 cans of this on the recommendation of the Sales Associate & was about to order more. He assured me this was excellent paint & I wouldn't have roller strokes.
The Emerald Paint went on beautifully & required only 1 coat over a previously painted wall. I used Satin Finish and like the look. Used a light silver color. The Paint is very reflective - the previous paint was more taupe/tan and until all the walls were covered, the silver looked like the old color. This paint doesn't look great wet (streaks & strokes), but when it's completely dry it's beautiful! The only "rubbery strips of paint" I experienced where on the edges of the tray when finished. And never had one bump on the walls or when the tape came off.
While I loved this paint, I have 4 more rooms to do and will likely go with my previous paint of choice - SuperPaint. The price on the Emerald is a bit steep. I splurged on the first purchase because it was the last day of a 30% sale. I had planned on buying all the paint at once to take advantage of the discount, but after reading the reviews was apprehensive. If there's another sale before I need the rest of my paint, I may splurge again although I've never been disappointed with SuperPaint so either way - all good. I wrote this review because I'm not sure where all the bad comments are coming from. I'm not a professional painter, but I've done my share over the years. Professionals painted my present house the first time & some of the rooms a 2nd time. I'm picky about quality paint & painting. While pricey, I don't see the negative in quality that is mentioned here."
1 2 3 4 next>>