Product Reviews

Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex

Duration Home(R) paint and primer in one features exclusive cross linking technology that actually repels stains. It also has advanced stain blocking technology to seal in stains already on your walls. Duration Home goes on smoothly and quickly and offers excellent hide. Coming Summer 2015: Duration Home will be available in a flat finish with excellent washability. The flat finish helps hide minor imperfections on the wall, while its washability feature is great for rental properties and customer''s looking for a long-lasting finish. Duration Home is available in four sheens, including a technologically advanced flat finish that offers the same washability, durability and burnish resistance as the matte or glossier sheens. With Duration Home Flat, there is no need to sacrifice performance for appearance. Flat, Matte and Satin finishes are now available in a new high hiding accent base, formulated to boost hiding power and deliver truer colors in fewer coats.
Average Customer Rating:
3.756 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
36 of 63(57%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Duration Flat is Total Garbage 
 May 6, 2016
 May 6, 2016
by K
"We painted our walls with Duration satin finish and it was great. Covered well, it only took 2.5 gallons for a bedroom, hallway and 2 story stairwell. We bought the Duration in flat and it is just horrible. It doesn't cover at all, is splotchy and streaky on a primed ceiling. We have put up 1.5 gallons on a 12x15 ceiling and will now need to reprime and go with something else. For $60/gal I expected this paint to perform, at least as well as the Lowes Valspar that we have in our basement, which it does not."
Review 2 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not Scrubable 
 April 23, 2016
 April 23, 2016
by bookworm
"Prof. painter highly recommended this paint in Matte finish for home walls, going from dark wood to white painted walls. Due to having cats, I asked for Semi Gloss as it has to be scrubable. He assured me Matte finish would be after it cured. He praised it as "such a good paint". Never did he tell me it came in Semi Gloss, instead left the impression it was only in Matte (He said "it is such a good paint, but it is matte". I said OK to his professional advice. Bad decision. The finish clearly shows it has been scrubbed. Any time something bumps the wall, the brown wood shows through. Sharing my experience..."
Review 3 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Best Paint 
 April 11, 2016
 April 11, 2016
by Dan
"I love this paint. It doesnt cost much more then competitors, and it has a great consistency and covers great. And yes, 2 coats is almost a necessity. It will not cover in one coat, but 2 coats is perfect. I have yet to use a paint that covers perfect in once coat. Only problems faced were when changing the color dramatically (light to dark or dark to light) or walls that hadn't been painted in very very long time, and those cases I needed a 3rd coat. Will continue using this paint."
Review 4 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Best Paint! 
 February 28, 2016
 February 28, 2016
by Kateloves2clean
"Duration Home by Sherwin Williams is the best paint I have ever used. Well worth the money. Goes on easy and covers well. One gallon will go a long way. Cleans easy as well."
Review 5 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Outstanding Paint 
 December 22, 2015
 December 22, 2015
by Marboon
"I'm surprised there are negative reviews of this paint. I've used this paint in two houses and it has worked very well for us. Two coats, no primer and it worked. I wonder if roller mark issues and other problems are technique issues. I use a 3/8" nap and put it on thick. With proper technique I get a smooth finish and it looks great. I will say that the matte has a little more sheen than a typical big box store flat paint-but I'm fine with it. If you are thinking you want a Satin finish you may be satisfied with matte in Duration. I like this paint so much I'm very hesitant to try Emerald."
Review 6 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not a one coat paint for me 
 December 19, 2015
 December 19, 2015
by RL
"I was painting a small entry way that was white in Sunny Veranda (satin finish). The clerk said it probably was not necessary to prime because the wall was already white. However, as a precaution I primed most of the wall in the entry and did not apply the paint until the next day. Due to the small size of the area, I only purchased one quart thinking one coat would be sufficient and I would have a bit of paint left for minor touchups. However, there is some streaking and in most of the entry way you can see the white behind the yellow Sunny Veranda. As a result, I will now need to purchase a second quart and put a second coat on the entire area."
Review 7 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Duration Ceiling Paint-tastic 
 December 10, 2015
 December 10, 2015
by Suzanvidajan
"Coverage was great and paint has such a good consistency. I rolled the ceiling with an extension roller handle and it worked beautifully."
Review 8 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
FIRST TIME USER OF THIS PAINT 
 September 27, 2015
 September 27, 2015
by Kittie681
"I used the Matte Duration in a Buff color to cover a darker, peachier [orange] shade of paint. Filled all the nail holes...and went to work. I used a 2 1/2" Purty paint brush specially made for cutting in and the combination of the size and the brush, cutting in had never been so easy!!! The paint went on so smoothly and covered in one coat.
Let me just say that when I was painting, it didn't look like it would cover in one coat at all. Even after drying for over an hour, it didn't appear to cover in one coat. BUT...in the morning, I looked at it very closely [I didn't want to have to paint a 2nd coat - but I would if I had to]...and it DID NOT need a 2nd coat.
It covered in 1 coat - and it's the best paint job I've ever completed. And...I used to paint apartments after they were vacated for years...and painted every place I'd ever lived!!!"
Review 9 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Not a one coat paint 
 September 16, 2015
 September 16, 2015
by bmonson
"I purchased Duration while on sale; so price was comparable to other good quality paints. I am not impressed with the coverage as I had to use 2 coats even though I was painting over white and I did the necessary prep. There was some streaking of the paint. I did use the MATTE finish which I really like. This product should be re-formulated to make it a true ONE coat paint and primer, if paying full price I would not have been pleased since I had to use more paint to get a quality finish."
Review 10 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Best paint I've used in a long time 
 July 5, 2015
 July 5, 2015
by tsf
"I'm so impressed with this paint--I can't stop looking at how beautiful my walls are, and I've only needed one coat.
I had gone into the store planning to buy Super Paint, but I changed to Duration at the last minute. I chose Accessible Beige in matteto cover my circa 2005 wheat gold Behr. Holy moly--I didn't know paint could go up without roller marks--I thought that was just how it was supposed to look! I've painted a lot over the years, using all kinds of mid range to upper range paints, and this has been the best paint in a long time.
I had read reviews for the Super Paint but not Duration, so once I got home, I got worried I had made a mistake and looked at the reviews here, which weren't consistently positive. I painted with some trepidation, worrying I had made a mistake. I did decide to add Floetrol, which I had used for furniture I recently painted but have never used on walls. I stayed calm while it dried as a blotchy, checkerboard pattern and then finally to a beautiful, velvety finish. I'm not kidding--it's really gorgeous, and my husband is getting tired of me telling him to come look at how beautiful it is. All this with just one coat. I
'm super impressed and over the moon with this paint!"
Review 11 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Expected a LOT more 
 July 3, 2015
 July 3, 2015
by Paul
"Had a chance to use this paint for the first time yesterday. With a price of $58 per gallon, I expected this to be DREAMY paint. It didn't cover well (although it is my understanding that green does not cover well to begin with), I found it challenging to cut in around ceilings and doors, and cleanup was quite difficult. I spent a lot more time scrubbing my knuckles and finger nails when I was done, and I could not get it all out of my cut in buckets. I also have some remnants in my brush that will not come out. I bought a gallon of Duration, two gallons of Emerald, and three gallons of SuperPaint during the last 40% off sale; I hope the Emerald and SuperPaint act a bit better."
Review 12 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Fantastic results and coverage- easy application 
 June 28, 2015
 June 28, 2015
by joeldana
"We've used SW products for over 20 years now and hesitated to purchase this after reading the reviews. We have two perspectives to share. We had a large section of our nearly new home painted professionally and I've done two separate rooms myself. The paint has provided first class coverage and, frankly, if i was a better painter i could have finished there. I always double coat for a better depth of color and quality of finish. This is the only paint i will use going forward. The results are simply amazing and even cover mild drywall imperfections that you find with new construction.
Observations:
1 - Avoid going back and re-working sections that you have already painted. As the paint dries, it looks splotchy, streaky, etc. but when fully dry, it is uniform.
2- Make sure you fully stir the paint. This paint is THICK.
"
Review 13 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Poor paint for the money 
 April 28, 2015
 April 28, 2015
by ANGE
"Took three coats to cover off white metal doors. Lots of drips from brush . Paid 24 dollars a quart. Not cheap in my book for paint. Would have done as well to go somewhere else and bought cheaper paint. Will never use this paint again."
Review 14 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Worst paint 
 April 13, 2015
 April 13, 2015
by Holly
"I've painted many times since owning my home and this is the first time I've encountered such terrible paint. Painted over a light light beige with a grey and did three coats. Still the paint left dark blue/black streaks everywhere (which I thought would dry normally) I am a fan of sherwin williams as I used harmony to paint our washroom with no issue. I went to the store where I bought it as the paint has warranty if applied correctly and will be sending the manager pictures of the room. I now will be attempting emerald as it is their top paint so I'm hoping it goes well."
Review 15 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Very Disappointed in Sherwin-Williams 
 April 8, 2015
 April 8, 2015
by Laura
"I am a huge fan of Sherwin-Williams and the quality of their products. In the past, I have had great experiences with wonderful results. The Duration Home Interior Acrylic Latex Paint became not only a disappointment, but a nightmare. Per recommendations of Sherwin-Williams employees I used a primer to cover up my horrible dark-brown walls. The primer, also a Sherwin-Williams product, went on with no difficulty and worked fabulously. I wish I could say the same for the paint. It was constantly lifting off with the roller, and no this is not my first time painting I have extensive experience, and basically frustrating me to no end. Furthermore, it took 3 coats of paint to adequately cover the walls. Actually it probably could have taken 4, but I was too irritated by then to even care. I did the best I could with what I had to work with, and it looks satisfactory, but not the best it should for the pricing of the paint. Finally, if you do decide to use this paint make sure your walls are extremely smooth, because any flaws in your walls will show through more than any other paints I have ever used in the past."
Review 16 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great choice 
 April 4, 2015
 April 4, 2015
by JP
"I recently purchased a home with an open floor plan. High ceilings. Flowing walls from room to room with no trim or cut-off in some areas. This is my first home and I knew very little about painting or interior design before researching options, so choosing colors and learning brands and the differences in paint finishes was a task. I settled on colors a lot easier than brand/sheen. Ended up going with Sherwin Williams due to the colors (there were 2 that I chose). Then narrowed it down to Duration Home and Cashmere as the brands. Then it came down Satin or Matte finishes in the Duration Home or Flat Enamel or Low Lustre in the Cashmere. I ended up applying the Duration Home Matte (the Satin was too light in color and the Low Luster had too much of a gold tint - the Cashmere Flat Enamel looked nice was just a bit too thick when I applied the swatches). It has been a week and so far the Duration Home Matte appears to have been the perfect choice. I hired painters to paint 60% of the house (family room, kitchen, game room, hallways, foyer, etc.). They completed it in one day and were very professional. The paint looks phenomenal and the colors flow really well. There were only a few locations where the painters had to go back and touch up after their first run but this may not have been anything out of the ordinary. As far as I can tell, they did not have any issues with coverage or having to apply 3 or 4 coats as some have stated. I was hesitant to consider Duration Home because of some of the reviews here but do not understand why there are so many bad experiences with this paint. Perhaps it depends on who's doing the painting or what you are painting but for my walls (which have knockdown texture) this paint worked really well. It could have cost less money per gallon, but aside from that I am extremely happy with the new look."
Review 17 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Disappointing Duration Paint 
 March 9, 2015
 March 9, 2015
by Rudy
"Like some of the other reviews it took 4 coats to cover flat beige wood work with a high gloss white. Switched to the Super Paint ant at least it covered in two coats. Very disappointed in this product and will be searching for another brand. This is a premium priced paint that is not a premium product."
Review 18 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
This paint was very difficult to use 
 March 5, 2015
 March 5, 2015
by Lianne
"I had a terrible time using this paint. I had to put on 4 coats and it is still streaky. I have used Sherwin Williams paint in the past with great result but this paint is definitely not worth the price and should only be used by professional painters"
Review 19 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
not happy 
 January 27, 2015
 January 27, 2015
by jo
"used this paint on master bedroom ceiling and walls in 2009 work ability good but it was a matte finish so it will show imperfections on your ceiling make sure it's perfect in finish before painting. now the walls, we tinted the paint purple bought 4 gallons opened the paint and the tint was floating on top of the paint could not mix out Dumped all gallons in 5 gallon bucket mixed again cleaned out all gallon cans put paint back in cans after all this work paint color did not match from can to can .Once applied to walls it seemed to never hardened up 5 years later still doesn't feel right to the touch . Be aware if your tint is floating on top gallons will not match period. This was in 2009 don't know if they fixed thus problem beware will not use again"
Review 20 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
One of the best i have used 
 January 23, 2015
 January 23, 2015
by Jeff
"I just this paint to use on one wall and it covered great I was thinking about using behr paint but thank goodness I did not use it."
1 2 3 4 next>>