Product Reviews

Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex

Duration Home(R) paint and primer in one features exclusive cross linking technology that actually repels stains. It also has advanced stain blocking technology to seal in stains already on your walls. Duration Home goes on smoothly and quickly and offers excellent hide. Coming Summer 2015: Duration Home will be available in a flat finish with excellent washability. The flat finish helps hide minor imperfections on the wall, while its washability feature is great for rental properties and customer''s looking for a long-lasting finish. Duration Home is available in four sheens, including a technologically advanced flat finish that offers the same washability, durability and burnish resistance as the matte or glossier sheens. With Duration Home Flat, there is no need to sacrifice performance for appearance. Flat, Matte and Satin finishes are now available in a new high hiding accent base, formulated to boost hiding power and deliver truer colors in fewer coats.
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
29 of 54(54%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Best paint I've used in a long time 
 July 5, 2015
 July 5, 2015
by tsf
"I'm so impressed with this paint--I can't stop looking at how beautiful my walls are, and I've only needed one coat.
I had gone into the store planning to buy Super Paint, but I changed to Duration at the last minute. I chose Accessible Beige in matteto cover my circa 2005 wheat gold Behr. Holy moly--I didn't know paint could go up without roller marks--I thought that was just how it was supposed to look! I've painted a lot over the years, using all kinds of mid range to upper range paints, and this has been the best paint in a long time.
I had read reviews for the Super Paint but not Duration, so once I got home, I got worried I had made a mistake and looked at the reviews here, which weren't consistently positive. I painted with some trepidation, worrying I had made a mistake. I did decide to add Floetrol, which I had used for furniture I recently painted but have never used on walls. I stayed calm while it dried as a blotchy, checkerboard pattern and then finally to a beautiful, velvety finish. I'm not kidding--it's really gorgeous, and my husband is getting tired of me telling him to come look at how beautiful it is. All this with just one coat. I
'm super impressed and over the moon with this paint!"
Review 2 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Expected a LOT more 
 July 3, 2015
 July 3, 2015
by Paul
"Had a chance to use this paint for the first time yesterday. With a price of $58 per gallon, I expected this to be DREAMY paint. It didn't cover well (although it is my understanding that green does not cover well to begin with), I found it challenging to cut in around ceilings and doors, and cleanup was quite difficult. I spent a lot more time scrubbing my knuckles and finger nails when I was done, and I could not get it all out of my cut in buckets. I also have some remnants in my brush that will not come out. I bought a gallon of Duration, two gallons of Emerald, and three gallons of SuperPaint during the last 40% off sale; I hope the Emerald and SuperPaint act a bit better."
Review 3 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Fantastic results and coverage- easy application 
 June 28, 2015
 June 28, 2015
by joeldana
"We've used SW products for over 20 years now and hesitated to purchase this after reading the reviews. We have two perspectives to share. We had a large section of our nearly new home painted professionally and I've done two separate rooms myself. The paint has provided first class coverage and, frankly, if i was a better painter i could have finished there. I always double coat for a better depth of color and quality of finish. This is the only paint i will use going forward. The results are simply amazing and even cover mild drywall imperfections that you find with new construction.
Observations:
1 - Avoid going back and re-working sections that you have already painted. As the paint dries, it looks splotchy, streaky, etc. but when fully dry, it is uniform.
2- Make sure you fully stir the paint. This paint is THICK.
"
Review 4 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Poor paint for the money 
 April 28, 2015
 April 28, 2015
by ANGE
"Took three coats to cover off white metal doors. Lots of drips from brush . Paid 24 dollars a quart. Not cheap in my book for paint. Would have done as well to go somewhere else and bought cheaper paint. Will never use this paint again."
Review 5 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Worst paint 
 April 13, 2015
 April 13, 2015
by Holly
"I've painted many times since owning my home and this is the first time I've encountered such terrible paint. Painted over a light light beige with a grey and did three coats. Still the paint left dark blue/black streaks everywhere (which I thought would dry normally) I am a fan of sherwin williams as I used harmony to paint our washroom with no issue. I went to the store where I bought it as the paint has warranty if applied correctly and will be sending the manager pictures of the room. I now will be attempting emerald as it is their top paint so I'm hoping it goes well."
Review 6 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Very Disappointed in Sherwin-Williams 
 April 8, 2015
 April 8, 2015
by Laura
"I am a huge fan of Sherwin-Williams and the quality of their products. In the past, I have had great experiences with wonderful results. The Duration Home Interior Acrylic Latex Paint became not only a disappointment, but a nightmare. Per recommendations of Sherwin-Williams employees I used a primer to cover up my horrible dark-brown walls. The primer, also a Sherwin-Williams product, went on with no difficulty and worked fabulously. I wish I could say the same for the paint. It was constantly lifting off with the roller, and no this is not my first time painting I have extensive experience, and basically frustrating me to no end. Furthermore, it took 3 coats of paint to adequately cover the walls. Actually it probably could have taken 4, but I was too irritated by then to even care. I did the best I could with what I had to work with, and it looks satisfactory, but not the best it should for the pricing of the paint. Finally, if you do decide to use this paint make sure your walls are extremely smooth, because any flaws in your walls will show through more than any other paints I have ever used in the past."
Review 7 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great choice 
 April 4, 2015
 April 4, 2015
by JP
"I recently purchased a home with an open floor plan. High ceilings. Flowing walls from room to room with no trim or cut-off in some areas. This is my first home and I knew very little about painting or interior design before researching options, so choosing colors and learning brands and the differences in paint finishes was a task. I settled on colors a lot easier than brand/sheen. Ended up going with Sherwin Williams due to the colors (there were 2 that I chose). Then narrowed it down to Duration Home and Cashmere as the brands. Then it came down Satin or Matte finishes in the Duration Home or Flat Enamel or Low Lustre in the Cashmere. I ended up applying the Duration Home Matte (the Satin was too light in color and the Low Luster had too much of a gold tint - the Cashmere Flat Enamel looked nice was just a bit too thick when I applied the swatches). It has been a week and so far the Duration Home Matte appears to have been the perfect choice. I hired painters to paint 60% of the house (family room, kitchen, game room, hallways, foyer, etc.). They completed it in one day and were very professional. The paint looks phenomenal and the colors flow really well. There were only a few locations where the painters had to go back and touch up after their first run but this may not have been anything out of the ordinary. As far as I can tell, they did not have any issues with coverage or having to apply 3 or 4 coats as some have stated. I was hesitant to consider Duration Home because of some of the reviews here but do not understand why there are so many bad experiences with this paint. Perhaps it depends on who's doing the painting or what you are painting but for my walls (which have knockdown texture) this paint worked really well. It could have cost less money per gallon, but aside from that I am extremely happy with the new look."
Review 8 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Disappointing Duration Paint 
 March 9, 2015
 March 9, 2015
by Rudy
"Like some of the other reviews it took 4 coats to cover flat beige wood work with a high gloss white. Switched to the Super Paint ant at least it covered in two coats. Very disappointed in this product and will be searching for another brand. This is a premium priced paint that is not a premium product."
Review 9 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
This paint was very difficult to use 
 March 5, 2015
 March 5, 2015
by Lianne
"I had a terrible time using this paint. I had to put on 4 coats and it is still streaky. I have used Sherwin Williams paint in the past with great result but this paint is definitely not worth the price and should only be used by professional painters"
Review 10 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
not happy 
 January 27, 2015
 January 27, 2015
by jo
"used this paint on master bedroom ceiling and walls in 2009 work ability good but it was a matte finish so it will show imperfections on your ceiling make sure it's perfect in finish before painting. now the walls, we tinted the paint purple bought 4 gallons opened the paint and the tint was floating on top of the paint could not mix out Dumped all gallons in 5 gallon bucket mixed again cleaned out all gallon cans put paint back in cans after all this work paint color did not match from can to can .Once applied to walls it seemed to never hardened up 5 years later still doesn't feel right to the touch . Be aware if your tint is floating on top gallons will not match period. This was in 2009 don't know if they fixed thus problem beware will not use again"
Review 11 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
One of the best i have used 
 January 23, 2015
 January 23, 2015
by Jeff
"I just this paint to use on one wall and it covered great I was thinking about using behr paint but thank goodness I did not use it."
Review 12 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great paint 
 January 5, 2015
 January 5, 2015
by bigskynau
"I don't understand the negative reviews with this paint. Used Duration in master bath, with the proper prepping, and equipment it went on great! It covered in one coat, with only a few areas that need some more attention. Using the proper brushes, and rollers it was one of the easiest paint I have used. Three weeks have gone by and everything looks great. If you take time to prep, and use the proper equipment I would recommend this paint. If you like to take short cuts, and use cheap brushes stick to the big homes stores and their paint."
Review 13 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Dark and matte 
 December 24, 2014
 December 24, 2014
by Augie
"This paint in a dark color and matte finish is completely uncleanable. Any water on it at all leaves terrible streaking and will require you to repaint it. Don't believe the specs that say it is washable. This stuff in a dark color and matte finish will be ruined if you try to wash it. Fifty bucks down the drain."
Review 14 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Good paint once it finally covers 
 December 23, 2014
 December 23, 2014
by Vic
"Initially, I thought this was the worst paint I ever used. It does not cover well at all. I used kilm beige over white and the 1st and 2nd coats were very streaky and blotched up. The third coat looked very nice. I suggest using a tinted primer for the first two coats, followed by one coat of paint. Once I got past the coverage issue the paint was great in terms of wash ability."
Review 15 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Lousy Paint 
 November 30, 2014
 November 30, 2014
by Jodie
"Started to paint the trim on my fireplace mantle, not covering very well. After three coats, still not the best. Lousy paint!"
Review 16 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
WORST PAINT EVER USED 
 October 14, 2014
 October 14, 2014
by DLRAT
"I painted my walk-in closet shelves with this paint as recommended by the store clerk. When I wipe dust with a damp cloth, paint residue comes off on the cloth. It chips and items stick to it as if it is still tacky. I followed all of the prep recommendations as well."
Review 17 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Semi-Gloss Too Dull for Trim & No Higher Sheen 
 September 28, 2014
 September 28, 2014
by Mom
"We are beginning a larger painting project by painting one bathroom. Moisture has been an issue in this bathroom, and we are switching to semi-gloss paint on the walls. We thought that we would use semi-gloss on the trim as well. But after painting the trim in that room, we find that it is too dull. We like the trim to have a nice sheen and this semi-gloss just doesn't have it. We have never seen semi-gloss paint in any brand with such a low level of sheen. We are happy with the look of the semi-gloss that was applied with a roller on the walls. But we have to repaint the trim and that yields the *** rating. SW has recommended Pro Classic, which is made especially for trim and doors, and comes in Gloss or High Gloss (Duration does not). All we can say is that we are glad to have learned this lesson about the low level of sheen in the Duration semi-gloss with only one room done. If it had been a larger project (e.g., the entire interior of our home), we would have been upset."
Review 18 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
this paint was awsome. 
 September 17, 2014
 September 17, 2014
by Linda
"we had not painted the walls in 20 yrs, since the house was built. Even the biscuit color covered in one coat. We tried the Valspar in one of the children's rooms because it was on sale, it took 3 coats."
Review 19 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Matte with kids? Yes with this paint. 
 August 5, 2014
 August 5, 2014
by iamthatcomputerchick
"I want flat look paint in my home, however with pets and kids, with other paints, that has not been possible. Coverage was great - only took one coat, with an expensive roller and some touch up - I have a full unopened can left! It has been several months and we have not found anything that has been able to stain the finish, everything wipes or scrubs off with no damage to the paint. I used a steam cleaner for tougher messes."
Review 20 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Too Expensive for what you get 
 August 1, 2014
 August 1, 2014
by Stevebxl
"I put this paint on some previously painted walls ( less than a year old). It drys well and covers the same as any other high quality paint... however - 6 months later I used some blue tape on the surface to repaint the floor baseboards and when I removed the blue painters tape, the pain in the wall peeled right off. I couldn't believe it."
1 2 3 4 next>>