Product Reviews

Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex

Available in matte, satin and semi-gloss finishes, Duration Home features exclusive cross-linking technology that actually repels stains. Plus, its easy to apply and goes on smoothly and quickly and offers excellent hide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
26 of 45(58%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
One of the best i have used 
 January 23, 2015
 January 23, 2015
by Jeff
"I just this paint to use on one wall and it covered great I was thinking about using behr paint but thank goodness I did not use it."
Review 2 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrible - Definitely NOT for High Traffic Areas! 
 January 17, 2015
 January 17, 2015
by WSM2014
"I really regret having purchased this paint. We used it in our hallway and family room. We've had more problems with this paint than cheaper paints we've used in the past. I would NEVER recommend this paint for high traffic areas. Our dog bumped the wall and it flaked off in little pieces - 3 weeks after application. Then I cleaned a small area 7 weeks after painting (using a soft cloth and water only) and we now have a permanent dull mark on our wall. We were told by the Sherwin Williams representative that it has to "cure" for about a year before it can be touched, and the only resolution for the smudge and flakes is to repaint all the walls. They offered to provide us more paint at no charge, but a lot of good that is going to do if the walls in high-traffic areas can't be touched, bumped, or wiped off for 12 months!"
Review 3 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great paint 
 January 5, 2015
 January 5, 2015
by bigskynau
"I don't understand the negative reviews with this paint. Used Duration in master bath, with the proper prepping, and equipment it went on great! It covered in one coat, with only a few areas that need some more attention. Using the proper brushes, and rollers it was one of the easiest paint I have used. Three weeks have gone by and everything looks great. If you take time to prep, and use the proper equipment I would recommend this paint. If you like to take short cuts, and use cheap brushes stick to the big homes stores and their paint."
Review 4 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Dark and matte 
 December 24, 2014
 December 24, 2014
by Augie
"This paint in a dark color and matte finish is completely uncleanable. Any water on it at all leaves terrible streaking and will require you to repaint it. Don't believe the specs that say it is washable. This stuff in a dark color and matte finish will be ruined if you try to wash it. Fifty bucks down the drain."
Review 5 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Good paint once it finally covers 
 December 23, 2014
 December 23, 2014
by Vic
"Initially, I thought this was the worst paint I ever used. It does not cover well at all. I used kilm beige over white and the 1st and 2nd coats were very streaky and blotched up. The third coat looked very nice. I suggest using a tinted primer for the first two coats, followed by one coat of paint. Once I got past the coverage issue the paint was great in terms of wash ability."
Review 6 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Lousy Paint 
 November 30, 2014
 November 30, 2014
by Jodie
"Started to paint the trim on my fireplace mantle, not covering very well. After three coats, still not the best. Lousy paint!"
Review 7 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
WORST PAINT EVER USED 
 October 14, 2014
 October 14, 2014
by DLRAT
"I painted my walk-in closet shelves with this paint as recommended by the store clerk. When I wipe dust with a damp cloth, paint residue comes off on the cloth. It chips and items stick to it as if it is still tacky. I followed all of the prep recommendations as well."
Review 8 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Semi-Gloss Too Dull for Trim & No Higher Sheen 
 September 28, 2014
 September 28, 2014
by Mom
"We are beginning a larger painting project by painting one bathroom. Moisture has been an issue in this bathroom, and we are switching to semi-gloss paint on the walls. We thought that we would use semi-gloss on the trim as well. But after painting the trim in that room, we find that it is too dull. We like the trim to have a nice sheen and this semi-gloss just doesn't have it. We have never seen semi-gloss paint in any brand with such a low level of sheen. We are happy with the look of the semi-gloss that was applied with a roller on the walls. But we have to repaint the trim and that yields the *** rating. SW has recommended Pro Classic, which is made especially for trim and doors, and comes in Gloss or High Gloss (Duration does not). All we can say is that we are glad to have learned this lesson about the low level of sheen in the Duration semi-gloss with only one room done. If it had been a larger project (e.g., the entire interior of our home), we would have been upset."
Review 9 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
this paint was awsome. 
 September 17, 2014
 September 17, 2014
by Linda
"we had not painted the walls in 20 yrs, since the house was built. Even the biscuit color covered in one coat. We tried the Valspar in one of the children's rooms because it was on sale, it took 3 coats."
Review 10 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Matte with kids? Yes with this paint. 
 August 5, 2014
 August 5, 2014
by iamthatcomputerchick
"I want flat look paint in my home, however with pets and kids, with other paints, that has not been possible. Coverage was great - only took one coat, with an expensive roller and some touch up - I have a full unopened can left! It has been several months and we have not found anything that has been able to stain the finish, everything wipes or scrubs off with no damage to the paint. I used a steam cleaner for tougher messes."
Review 11 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Too Expensive for what you get 
 August 1, 2014
 August 1, 2014
by Stevebxl
"I put this paint on some previously painted walls ( less than a year old). It drys well and covers the same as any other high quality paint... however - 6 months later I used some blue tape on the surface to repaint the floor baseboards and when I removed the blue painters tape, the pain in the wall peeled right off. I couldn't believe it."
Review 12 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Way Too Expensive for Medium Quality Coverage 
 February 16, 2014
 February 16, 2014
by Robin
"I painted with 'Queen Anne's Lace' and 'Celery' (both very, very light greens) over a very light beige wall color - both with Duration matte finish. One first even coat left lots of visible streaks, so a second coat was required. I am now touching up in places with a third coat. I am somewhat disappointed with this paint. At $58.99 per gallon, I would expect a super high quality paint that would cover with a faint light green over a light beige with perhaps ONE coat. Not TWO to THREE. What's the point in purchasing an expensive paint if it doesn't cover really well? I do love the colors and, as a final result, the washable matte finish is really very nice. But I've used much better, less expensive paint with other brands."
Review 13 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
mixed trim paint 
 February 10, 2014
 February 10, 2014
by daneisch
"It matched beautifully and looks like it was painted by a professional, even though I am not that at all."
Review 14 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not Satisfied WIth Duration Home Interior Paint 
 December 4, 2013
 December 4, 2013
by Billy
"I repainted a wall with semi-gloss Duration interior paint and I was not happy with the results and I would not use or recommend this product again. The color was a dark red and I used a dark SW prime coat that was recommended by the sale staff. This paint had poor hide characteristics; the white interior wall required 3 coats of paint after applying the primer. This product had poor sheen uniformity; there were locations of flashing, even after three coats of paint. I did not have this problem with both SuperPaint and HGTV Home semi-gloss products. I was mostly disappointed with its durability. The paint easily chips when an object lightly impacts it, or an object leans heavily into it. Again, I did not have thisproblem with SuperPaint and HGTV."
Review 15 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Will not be my 1st choice next go 'round 
 November 17, 2013
 November 17, 2013
by jedipooh74
"We repainted my daughter's room. We used this paint to do an accent wall that is 4ft wide by 8ft tall (there are 2 sets of doors in this wall). We were using the HGTV paint for the other 3 walls. We only purchased a quart due to the small size of the wall. The first coat looked terrible. It looked as if we had tried to paint this bright yellow over a dark wall - instead of the neutral light tan flat SW we were actually painting over. We ended up buying a second quart and using every drop of both quarts to make this 4X8 wall look decent. (4 coats plus touch up.) Would have been less expensive to buy a gallon of the HGTV and just have a ton left over. After the first quart the SW guys at the store said that yellow, brown and red were hard colors to get good coverage with. You can decide whether it was the paint or the color choice. For our next project. We are going with the SW HGTV paint."
Review 16 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
You get what you pay for.... 
 October 21, 2013
 October 21, 2013
by neff2k
"Just finished a small little project painting our home office. The original color was a mint green. One coat of premium primer and two coats of Duration (SW 6242 - Bracing Blue) and the color/texture is just incredible. Honestly the first coat covered about 95% of the color, there were just spots here and there that must have been a little to light on the roller. Couldn't be happier with the product. Only thing that could have been better was to have someone else paint it for me!
P.S. Make sure you use decent brushes and rollers. It usually makes a world of a difference. I use to just buy cheap brushes and rollers, but learned the hard way the extra cost of quality tools makes the job just that much easier. I have been a using Purdy brushes and rollers ever since I first tried them."
Review 17 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Streaky 
 October 8, 2013
 October 8, 2013
by frankgammy
"My husband and I have used SW paint for a while now, and we loved it. We were painting over wall paper and after speaking with the store rep, we decided to purchase Duration instead of Emerald. I asked the store rep for suggestions. He said that duration was a very good product. We also bought the primer he recommended. After applying the primer we put two coats of the duration on the wall. It left streaks, and was impossible to touch up. After one coat of primer and two coats of the duration, we are tired and terribly disappointed."
Review 18 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Should have bought this in the beginning! 
 August 31, 2013
 August 31, 2013
by SCPTA
"Bought this to redo a project that was started with Valspar. Twice the work, twice the time and NOW my project looks great. Lesson learned, stick with SW paint."
Review 19 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
excellent value for dollar spent 
 May 23, 2013
 May 23, 2013
by michael
"Used this line in our front bath. We have two teenage daughters who share this bath - well you can imagine. holds up great, able to scrub for cleaning make-up . I decided to go back and touch up a few spots 4 years later ( based on the label on the lid of the can) - with a foam brush and the color is great - I cannot tell where the touch-ups are, and I have the best eyes in he house. will use more through out our house."
Review 20 for Duration Home® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great durable paint! 
 February 1, 2013
 February 1, 2013
by Anonymous
"We just had our entire first floor painted with this paint and what a difference it has made all over. Fortunately we had a painter do all the work, but it is leaps and bounds over the original paint from the builder. So far it seems to really hold up to bangs and rubs and it actually cleans up well from any marks. There was no cleaning up with the other paint. We haven't had to try any touch up yets, but we were warned not to use the samples since they are a different kind of paint. Lucky for us we bought all the paint when the 30% sale was on."
1 2 3 next>>