Product Reviews

Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain

Thanks to customer feedback, Sherwin-Williams is proud to introduce a newly enhanced formula of Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain for 2014. Deckscapes Finishing System creates the impressive results your customers are looking for and the easy application and fast drying time you're looking for. The enhanced Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain offers a wide range of colors and outstanding protection against weathering, chipping and cracking. The new UV Protection formula penetrates deeply, giving properly prepared decks excellent protection against sun, mildew and premature weathering.
Average Customer Rating:
2.667 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
5 of 12(42%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
Review 1 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
fence stain 
 April 17, 2014
 April 17, 2014
by Tristan
"Used this product to stain a weathered cedar fence. The fence had multiple types of stain in different areas. Pressure washed thoroughly. Product covered around 100 sq ft a gallon. Soaked into the wood incredibly well. I will use this product again for fence stain but in the future I will estimate for 125 sq ft per gal. SW needs to put a new label on this product. Color used: Hawthorne, semi transparent waterborne formula. Sprayed with 517 tip at low pressure on a Graco 695. Brushed and back rolled where needed. Great adhesion and quick application."
Review 2 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not even close to the color sample 
 July 28, 2013
 July 28, 2013
by Kev
"We choose Sierra redwood. It is supposed to be a seimi-transparent oil stain. The sample looks like newly oiled redwood showing the grain. The product is very opaque barn red, even when applied to new light wood like the stir stick. It's more of a solid deck stain which will show traffic as it wears. Not a happy customer!"
Review 3 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Absolutely Disappointed.....Terrible Product 
 June 26, 2013
 June 26, 2013
by mme430
"We had our deck professionally cleaned and sanded last fall and then they applied the Deck Scapes stain. This spring, when the snow melted, there was peeling all over the deck and the finish was dull to say the least. We didn't even get to enjoy one singe year of a nice finished deck. I have used a few different brands in the past with some satisfaction and thought we would try this one, but was the worst choice we made. Will never use Sherwins-Williams again."
Review 4 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrible Product 
 September 28, 2012
 September 28, 2012
by cdi
"After finishing hundreds of decks with an oil stain, I decided to try Waterborne. This is a horrible product and I would not recommend it to anyone. Application is difficult and blending is impossible. If any of the product drips and drys, the result after wiping it off is like a scar on the wood. I am going to have to go back and redo an entire deck to salvage a job for a customer. I am not happy."
Review 5 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great product! 
 July 29, 2012
 July 29, 2012
by house
"I applied this deck stain to an old deck, stairway, and dock in April 2011. Some of the boards were extremely weathered, while others were brand new replacement boards. The stain made all of the boards look the same. Fifteen months, several high tides, and one hurricane later, everything still looks the same as the day I applied it. We live along the east coast, and occasionally the dock is under water. It still looks fabulous. We just built a wood fence, and will be applying this stain to it as well."
Review 6 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Looks awesome with 2 coats 
 July 5, 2012
 July 5, 2012
by JB
"We did 2 coats within 8 hours.The wood was yellow board .It was kept in an inside lumber yard.I spaced 1/16 inch each board.Then 2 weeks later they had shrunk with a 1/4 inch gap.I decided to stain even though most people will say to weather the wood for a month.We picked the color Cider Mill and were happy with the first coat.The wood was so dry it sucked up more than should have been needed so we had to buy another gallon.The second coat was started and did not need as much as the first .So 2 cots later we sat down and so this amazing sheen glowing from this deck.It looked like wood you would see in a house rather than a deck.I recommend it.The other reviewers that had bad results may have had bad wood.I used a local lumber yard,the same one the builders use.Home box retail wood is garbage. Find out where the builders buy their wood then get Deckscapes.If you follow the directions and use good wood you will definitely like what you see."
Review 7 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrible deck product 
 April 16, 2012
 April 16, 2012
by Anonymous
"This came highly recommended by the clerk at the store. Decided to go with the waterborne based stain. Looked good for the first week. Then started to wear. One year later, it is pealing and flaking off exposing the unstained wood below. Applied another coat at eh 1 yr date. we are now at year 2. same as before, flaking off. This product does not penetrate the wood. it is just a paint. Now I have a terrible looking deck that I will have to "paint" to get to look better, or strip and sand. Don't by this type "Stain"."
Review 8 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Best of them ALL!! 
 August 10, 2011
 August 10, 2011
by Mike
"My deck is 20 years old and still looks great because of this product. I used others(highly rated) for the first 8 years and had to treat it every year. With DeckScapes I get two years and even then it still looks great. Don't try two coats the same year...do it right the first coat...take your time and apply the product profusely....work it into the wood. Power wash your deck and let it dry 3-4 weeks before applying product. I wasted my money on three other coatings before I found this product. I am just glad I had a power washer to remove the inferior products I used first. BTW-the other products disappeared with power washing. DeckScapes stays right there and just the dirt and mold disappear."
Review 9 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Doesn't last 
 June 18, 2011
 June 18, 2011
by angel-54
"This stain doesn't even last through a season. Had to do a 2nd coat, but the wood had already been waterproofed with the first coat. The stain separated and we could not finish the deck this year. Called the store and was told it had to be applied within 24 hours.
Don't waste your money."
Review 10 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrible product- FAIL 
 May 18, 2011
 May 18, 2011
by Jow
"I put this product on a deck in July and it is completely faded off in some spots and the horizontal surfaces look very weathered. I would highly advise anyone that expects to get over a year out of a stain to pass on this product.
There is a seperate review on youtube called sherwin williams premium stain that demonstrates nearly the exact results I had. Be warned
"
Review 11 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Unbeatable Results 
 April 16, 2011
 April 16, 2011
by Anonymous
"I've been using DeckScapes on my deck for 8 years. It's now the same color as the siding on my home. It layers and covers beautifully. It goes on easily. It has lasted much longer - by appearance - than the other stuff I've used. And the wood seems to love it.
Ron
"
Review 12 for Deckscapes® Exterior Waterborne Semi-Transparent Deck Stain
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Bad Stain 
 April 13, 2011
 April 13, 2011
by pj718
"Only 8 months later and my deck looks as if it is 5 years old and un taken care of alot of money spent for a rotten result"