Product Reviews

Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex

Many paints typically leave brush or roller marks creating an uneven, stippled appearance. But Cashmere® Interior Latex glides on buttery smooth and levels out giving walls an elegant, silky rich look. The result is a difference you can definitely see and feel. This luxurious and elegant finish comes in flat enamel, low lustre, pearl finish or medium lustre in a wide range of colors
Average Customer Rating:
3.952 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
23 of 33(70%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Leaves roller marks, doesn't cover well 
 July 3, 2015
 July 3, 2015
by mark
"For a paint company to get one of the lowest ratings on Consumer Reports is quite bad. I didn't believe it, but after four coats in one room, we give up. It doesn't cover well at all and you can see roller marks wherever you stop. So many better rated paints even at ACE or True Value for less money."
Review 2 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Happy Customer! 
 June 1, 2015
 June 1, 2015
by mary
"This is my first time using Sherwin-Williams paint and I was a little skeptical at first. Honestly, it was great paint! I painted two coats and was surprised how much paint was left over. It was easy rolling, the paint covered great and the finish is beautiful! i'm glad the salesperson talk me into the cashmere paint instead the HGTV paint. I would recommend this to anyone."
Review 3 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Very satisfied, easy rolling, beautiful finish 
 May 18, 2015
 May 18, 2015
by Julep
"I bought this paint yesterday morning (color Gray Matters, #7066) for use in my home office. I bought the flat finish. The former wall color was a linen white color, with a hit of yellow in it. I also used the recommended Purdy roller the sales person recommended.
First, I found the paint to be nice and thick. It held to the roller and as I rolled it never spattered from the roller, nor did it drip, even when I was "cutting" around the wall perimeter.
Second, I found this to be a fairly low odor paint. Granted, I painted a loft area that only has two walls, the other two are open, and the window was open so I had plenty of ventilation.
Third, I really liked that this paint held a "wet edge" really well. That allowed me to easily blend the next 2 x 3 ft section into the next one. I paint walls from left to right (always have) so I blended in on the left and top edges with no problem whatsoever.
Fourth, I was worried about the coverage because of other reviews here. But as I painted, the dark gray paint covered very well. Even in one coat it was solid coverage with no real visible light coverage unless you got super close. I don't know why some people complain about the coverage when they state they've used one coat. I always paint two coasts. My second coat went on about 5 hours after the first one, and the cutting and rolling was a breeze.
Fifth, the final dried paint color is an exact match to the paint sample. Spot on.
Finally, as with any color, as it's drying on the walls it looks like a bunch of patches of color. When this paint finally dried I was impressed with the actual paint finish -- a warm, soft, luxurious finish. It's really lovely.
Great coverage, spatter free, great finish, very easy (forgiving) paint to work with and roll over.
Note--I see that some people said the paint came back off the wall as they painted. I never had this problem. It went on the wall, stayed on the wall, and blended well around the edges / sections."
Review 4 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Saul 
 March 27, 2015
 March 27, 2015
by none
"I enjoy using it and recommended my customer's to buy it.
easy to apply and clean .
"
Review 5 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
My favorite so far! 
 May 3, 2015
 May 3, 2015
by Amber
"I recently bought 2 gallons of cashmere in the flat finish to repaint my son's bedroom. I had it color matched at my local sherwin-williams store to a competitor's color - match was perfect, though nothing to do with the quality of the paint. I was a little concerned buying this because it isn't a paint + primer in one and the tan color I was covering had quite a bit of yellow, which seemed to want to bleed through on the last room I redid. Anyway, I wanted a truly flat finish so I went with the cashmere since I planned to do 2 coats anyway. I'm glad I chose this paint - it covered as well as the emerald I had used before, cost less, and provided the flat finish I desired. Had I had a steadier hand cutting in & put a little thicker coat on, I could've probably gotten by with 1 but I'd rather do 2 and have it look better & last longer. Couldn't be happier with this paint! For reference my room was 12x12 with a 6-foot long dormer & I used about a gallon and a half to do 2 coats."
Review 6 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Strong odor 
 April 15, 2015
 April 15, 2015
by Gregg
"It's been two months since I painted my bathroom and there is still a strong odor from the Cashmere paint. Next time I am going to find a safer paint with less VOC's."
Review 7 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Cashmere is smooth unique coating 
 February 13, 2015
 February 13, 2015
by Tony
"I love this paint I use it for certain projects where a sheen is desired but not a lot of reflective shine directly in light, and it does cover well despite some complaints on the reviews, I have never had an issue with coverage , its not always about primer for coverage , you can over prime a surface , the paint is solid and like it is described has silky smooth finish , glides on a different way , buttery . Its flows nice and always is solid never translucent or see through , there are certain colors over other colors you need to find with experience, know how to prepare - but with Cashmere even with brighter colors or deeper base colors usually 2 coats and solid . It just has a unique finish I call it almost suede -ish . You can see and feel the difference."
Review 8 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Forgiving, looks nice, holds up well 
 November 30, 2014
 November 30, 2014
by cms0958
"I used this paint in a few rooms in our first house, I was inexperienced with painting at the time and felt that the paint went up easily and the finish looked really good when I was done. We were going over freshly primered drywall in all but one room, and I prefer to use 2 coats to ensure that the finished paint job looks nice and even. We lived with some of those colors for almost a decade, and they held up well and cleaned well. They looked nicer at close to 10 years than some of the rooms that were painted only 2-3 years ago with paint from one of the big box stores. Now we're in a new (to us) house and hubby is doing all of the painting this time since we're expecting. I came back to Cashmere paint since he has only ever painted a single room. This time we are going over the last homeowner's color choices, and the paint still goes on well and the finished walls look very nice, even if the application wasn't perfectly even, or the cut-ins got a little dry before the rest of the paint went on. We have gone over some medium-toned colors without having to prime first. I do think that this paint has a stronger and more offensive odor than some of the newer low/zero VOC paints, but my nose is especially sensitive right now. We will sleep in the guest room for a couple of nights to let our master bedroom air out, and will probably do the same when we paint our child's room, but for the rest of the house it is not as much of an issue."
Review 9 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Love the cashmere paint 
 November 8, 2014
 November 8, 2014
by Beth
"Only used the cashmere on the kitchen walls and it is my favorite paint by far. Cashmere is a fitting name too. Had to do a retouch because the cabinet guy put the cabinets at wrong height and it still looks great! Highly recommend!"
Review 10 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Buttery Smooth 
 August 30, 2014
 August 30, 2014
by PaintingMaster
"It goes on fantastic, and it smooths at those roller marks you see in so many other paints. I just used the Flat, and I realize it isn't as durable as other products, aka Super Paint, but I was also told that from the start. Very happy with the results."
Review 11 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Why I recommend Cashemere 
 April 16, 2014
 April 16, 2014
by tigodfrey
"I recommend Cashmere flat or low luster to my customers because each is an excellent value. The flat is durable without any chalkiness and the low luster has a subtle sheen - attractive and washable. Because of it's high quality I am able to cover more area with a gallon than most paints."
Review 12 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
not impressed 
 May 27, 2014
 May 27, 2014
by gary
"Decided to try sherwin-Williams this weekend with the sale. Had used it once before with fair results on just one can. This time decided to go with them repainting our whole first floor before we get new flooring. 8 cans of paint bought for the different areas. We got four cans of cashmere for our living room, hall, and dining areas. On can two for living room and it is not covering well. Semi gloss dover white over a very light tan and having to apply a second coat! Even got a half inch roller, but may have to try 3\4 inch on a minimal texture wall to try and get coverage. Either way likely will not have enough paint for all rooms at this rate, or will have to go get primer for the rest, all the other rooms having light tan to cover. Even a all we primed over because it was dark didn't cover great. I can say I never had this trouble with valspar, or the Pratt and Lambert used in similar cases in my prior home. With the Pratt and Lambert I was able (after 1 coat of zinker's primers) to cover a dark burgundy in one coat with minor touch up. With this cashmere semi-gloss, I can't cover an accent brown wall primed with Sherwin-Williams primer. Lost my business for good, thank goodness I didn't pay full price"
Review 13 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
My favourite paint by far. 
 March 8, 2014
 March 8, 2014
by IsleofSkyeStaging
"Out of all the Sherwin paints I've tried, Opulence is my favourite. Even though I was told that Opulence self-levels I was surprised by just how smooth the finished appearance looks. And it's so easy to work with, I don't see any brush marks or anything!"
Review 14 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Correct Sheen 
 November 28, 2013
 November 28, 2013
by Holy Roller
"Make sure they give you correct sheen. I put 4 gallons of Medium Lustre (shiny) on walls when I asked for Low Lustre. $900 mistake including labor."
Review 15 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Paint 
 August 31, 2013
 August 31, 2013
by SCPTA
"Brought new life to my bathroom. Excellent application, clean-up and coverage. Primed the walls with latex Kilz, 2 coats of paint (light color) and I wish I had tackled this project a year ago. Most certainly would purchase this paint again. And the sales clerk at the SW store was so helpful, knowledgeable and friendly."
Review 16 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Dissappoitment 
 July 18, 2013
 July 18, 2013
by Liz
"I have used Super Paint in the past but bought this because it was recommended to me at the store. I bought a five gallon bucket and started the huge project of painting half my house. I kept thinking the paint would grow on me. It never did. I repainted one room less than three months later with Super Paint. In the high traffic area of my house I have had to touch up the paint twice since applying it. Then to add to my frustration 8 months after painting I had the paint rub off on my shirt. I will NEVER buy this type of paint again. I'll stick to the Super Paint."
Review 17 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
My Go To Paint 
 April 15, 2013
 April 15, 2013
by Anne
"Even though this paint is expensive, when I am done painting all I can say is that I am so glad I spent the extra money...The finish is flawless! The first coat is usually thin and streaky, but the second coat covers it all. I am afraid to try any other paint because I have had such great results with the Cashmere. I did apply a coat of primer before I painted."
Review 18 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The best 
 March 25, 2013
 March 25, 2013
by paintergirl
"Out of all the paint that i have use in my 25 years of painting. Cashmere paint is the best out there."
Review 19 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Olive Oil 
 July 29, 2012
 July 29, 2012
by Andy
"Very nice and silky. Cuts like olive oil. Super easy to work with. it doesn't cover that great (compared to Super Paint) so it requires 2 coats. The finish is very nice and smooth with little stipple."
Review 20 for Cashmere® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Better Paints Out There For The Price 
 August 31, 2012
 August 31, 2012
by Chelsesa
"This paint is okay, I definitely don't think it's rave worthy. In fact for the money I spent I was disappointed and wish I had gone with Super Paint or something with better coverage. I had to paint more than 2 coats in some areas and I wasn't painting over a dark color or painting the walls a dark color. Didn't roll that well, a little runny. Not worse than Behr or Valspar but definitely not better. I would suggest a different Sherwin Williams paint - this one just wasn't as high quality as I expected after talking to them in the store. It seems to hold up okay though so that's a plus."
1 2 3 next>>