Product Reviews

Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex

Don't let weather worries ruin your painting schedule. Resilience ® Exterior Acrylic Latex paint gives painted exteriors exceptional moisture resistance so you don't have to postpone painting when the forecast calls for rain, or quit working early in the day because you're concerned about dew. You can apply Resilience in temperatures as low as 35°F.
Average Customer Rating:
2.938 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
4 of 11(36%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Resilience isn't the best paint 
 April 12, 2014
 April 12, 2014
by cgralton
"First and foremost, I am a residential painting contractor ALL THE UNFAVORABLE Reviewers are correct with the inconsistent uniformity and thicker formula, one needs to really work like a dog to apply via brush applications, I would NOT recommend on porch spindles, had to scrape excess paint, use a wool mini 3" roller nap on trim, I think Super Paint is the best for trim, I used Resilience on vinyl shutters and had great results vs A100 or Duration.
On balance, it is a good long lasting paint, but not worth the additional money vs Super Paint gloss exterior."
Review 2 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Cannot avoid brush marks using Resilience Paint 
 October 19, 2013
 October 19, 2013
by Jamie88
"Recommended by the salesperson, I purchased a gallon Resilience paint and I was not able to avoid brush marks when paint the PVC panel door; but it looks good after painting on aluminum panel garage door."
Review 3 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Can't believe the mess! 
 August 16, 2013
 August 16, 2013
by Anonymous
"Used Superpaint on the whole house which was Hardi board and it looked great. When we decided to paint our raw wood shutters Resilience was suggested due to being on the water and humidity. I brought the shutters inside to paint in a drier environment. Like an idiot I painted 6 sets of shutters thinking if I changed my strategy they would turn out. I primed all the shutters with oil primer then waited 24 hrs to paint. I painted 2 sets and waited 3 hrs and applied second coat. The next morning they were all tacky and chipped if they touched anything. So next 2 sets I painted first coat of paint then waited 24 hrs to apply 2nd coat and same result, tacky. Next 2 sets of shutters I changed to different brand of oil primer but had same results. Waited 5 days for first set to hang and when they touched the house the paint came off and they still were tacky. None of the shutters ever cured. Took a shutter into Sherwin Williams store and the manager couldn't believe they had been painted 5 days prior and still tacky. The manager was great and worked with us but 6 sets of shutters later I am having to sand them all and now repainting with Emerald which is drying in 2 hrs no problems."
Review 4 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Be Respectful of Weather Conditions 
 August 2, 2013
 August 2, 2013
by jansub1
"I'm not a professional painter. BEFORE I started painting a large metal outbuilding using Resilence, I got tips from PROFESSIONAL PAINTERS via the internet . Rules of thumb: Don't paint in direct sunlight, don't paint if outdoor temperature is 90-degrees or above, don't paint when windy or even slightly breezy, don't paint in low humidity. I live in East Texas and I would paint every morning from 7 a.m.-10 a.m. during June/July/August. After 10 a.m. the paint would get sticky and not level off and would leave brush marks. Following the rules of thumb, the paint went on smooth and easy. I liked the fact that I could paint up to 1-1/2 before a rain.."
Review 5 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Looks nice but scratches easily 
 June 17, 2013
 June 17, 2013
by eclecticcottage
"After more than a day, the paint (two coats with a 3-4 hour dry time between) is still soft. So I checked our "do we like the color" test patch that was done over two weeks ago, and I could easily scratch it! I can "dent" it with my fingernail! It went on easily, covered well with two coats and looks great, but I'm afraid this isn't going to hold up very well. I'm very unhappy right now. And yes, we cleaned the surface before painting it and it hasn't been below 60 degrees either."
Review 6 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Best Under Certain Conditions 
 October 27, 2012
 October 27, 2012
by Berkshire80
"In the Northeast, late October and November often means the end of trying to paint. However, Resilience is now my go to paint for late season projects. It can be used in cooler temperatures and sets up very quickly. I agree that the product can be tricky to use; it requires that you keep a wet brush and work fast. And it certainly does not flow as nice as some of the other Sherwin Williams paints. This definitely would not be my choice of paint for a painting on a sunny summer day. There are other Sherwin Williams paints that certainly would be much easier to work with and show less tooling marks when finished. But the paint does have a specific purpose, namely painting in cooler temperatures and painting when there is a risk of rain or moisture in the near future. And for these applications it can't be beat!"
Review 7 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
I bought it for fiberglass composite pillars. 
 August 22, 2012
 August 22, 2012
by GS
"I'm not a professional painter but I'm a handyman that does a ton of painting. I tried this paint because it was recommended for use on fiberglass composite that has somewhat of the same problem as vinyl. Dark colors tend to make it warp in harsh direct sunlight.. This product is meant to minimize that. We will see!
I'm panting 6x6 columns 10' tall. As for application the gloss went on real nice but never really leveled out. I don't think any Latex does as good a job of leveling as oil based but this paint didn't really level out much at all. With it's very quick set time it didn't leave much time to to tip it out and brush marks are very apparent.
"
Review 8 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Experience necessary 
 September 27, 2012
 September 27, 2012
by Jonathan
"I've read several reviews so far, and most being negative. Coming from a professional, this material needs more explanation than I think SW gives it. Resilience isn't advertised as a "fast dry" paint, but basically that's what it is. The "Moisture Guard" feature requires is to cure quickly enough to resist water within 2 hours, so it has to dry fast.
If you are brushing a door or some other smooth project, there are some things you need to know. FLOETROL is your friend. Floetrol extends the "open time" of a latex paint and also helps it lay down. I would not call Resilience a "brushing or rolling" paint when it comes to smooth metal or fiberglass doors. It can be done, but you are still going to end up with a slight texture. If you are applying it to a smooth surface, spraying is your best option. Otherwise, I would consider looking at Sherwin Williams SuperPaint. Again, Floetrol will make it a lot easier to get the paint to "lay down".
Resilience can be brushed, rolled or sprayed over many textured finishes and it looks perfect, but smooth surfaces are a challenge for Resilience unless it's sprayed.
This really is a great product, but you must be careful to keep your brush, roller, etc "wet" with paint. I once rolled out a porch ceiling and left the roller cover exposed to the sun for 5 minutes....I had to toss the cover b/c the paint dried so quickly.
"
Review 9 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Many Layers of Coats 
 November 16, 2011
 November 16, 2011
by Leibold.9
"I felt that this product, at least in ultradeep base, was 'watery'. When I brushed it on, it would thin and become transparent unless I globbed it on, which left brush marks (gloss finish). I had to put three coats on my shutters, on top of primer.
It is also worth noting that the Moisture Guard seems to apply to drying/curing time, not some sort of extended moisture protection.
I would only recommend Resilience to someone painting in cold or rainy weather."
Review 10 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Awful coverage 
 June 26, 2011
 June 26, 2011
by ckmielke
"I used Duration for most of my trim the same day I used this for accents (only because Duration doesn't come in quarts). Both flat. Duration went on beautifully. flowed and spread nicely to cover well in one coat. Resilience, however, looked like finger paint after one coat - embarrassing, really. Brush marks, could practically see through it, almost like it didn't want to stick. This was on a well-prepared previously flat painted, washed, sanded surface, exactly the same that I used Duration on. For this kind of experience, I would have gone to the big box store and gotten their cheapest paint. After the second coat, it looks fine, but why pay a huge premium for paint that performs so poorly? Don't waste your money."
Review 11 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Disappointing experience 
 March 20, 2011
 March 20, 2011
by Teflonbob
"used a dark green gloss on my vinyl shutters with no primer, as the computer said. After 3 coats there was still brush "streaks" showing and poor surface appearance. Went back to store and got primer which went on perfectly, but the gloss reacted like the primer wasn't even there, another 3+ coats over primer! Worse painting experience ever! Now I'm painting 4 coats including the primer, and it still looks like an amateur job!"
Review 12 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great in fall and spring 
 December 23, 2010
 December 23, 2010
by Damon
"This is our go-to paint for cooler temps. It sets up great, in fact we painted a house last fall, stopped around 4 pm, then an unexpected torrential rainstorm (Seattle) came later that night, and when we arrived the next day the house looked perfect. This paint will still exhibit surfactant bleed, especially in deep colors, but all latex house paints will. I recently painted an exterior french door with the satin and it flowed beautifully. I was very impressed."
Review 13 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not my Favorite SW Paint 
 December 12, 2010
 December 12, 2010
by Mary
"I used this paint on my fiberglass exterior door in a Greenwood. The paint is OK, but it does not seem to cure as well as the superpaint does. It took 3 coats to paint over the white primer. I do like the fact that you can paint in cool weather (35 degrees) although, you won't catch me painting when it is that cold outside. My favorite paint is superpaint."
Review 14 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Resilence, worst paint ever! 
 October 29, 2010
 October 29, 2010
by comfun1
"I bought a quart of this for an accent color for front door. It will not flow or level out. It was a preprimed steel door. I used one of sherwin williams best brushes and cut around the glass it was oval and probably took about 60 seconds. I immediately rolled the remainder of the door. I repeated this procedure in a few hours with a second coat. Both times I used plenty of paint and a wet roller and moved quickly. It left bold brush marks and a roller texture that is coarser than any paint I have ever seen. I used promar 200 for the inside and it flowed smoothly, leveled out and looks great."
Review 15 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Resilience 
 November 1, 2010
 November 1, 2010
by 3Angels
"I love, love, love this product. It performs beautifully with superior coverage and the best durability we have experienced yet! The exceptional resistance to moisture has allowed my crew to get the most out of a work day even with impending weather with the confidence of no re-do work. The pricing is more than fair and the ease of the product has saved us time, time vs. product cost. We win!"
Review 16 for Resilience™ Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Product 
 June 23, 2010
 June 23, 2010
by Sandy
"Used this paint on stucco of outdoor BBQ island. It went on easily and is holding up perfectly. Santa Cruz climate is very damp and lots of rain this past winter, but the paint still looks great, like it was just painted yesterday. It does dry really fast so you have to work quickly when painting. I am extremely happy with the coverage and weather resistance of this paint. Will definitely use it for all of my exterior painting in the future."