Product Reviews

Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex

Don't let weather worries ruin your painting schedule. Resilience ® Exterior Acrylic Latex paint gives painted exteriors exceptional moisture resistance so you don't have to postpone painting when the forecast calls for rain, or quit working early in the day because you're concerned about dew. Resilience can be applied in temperatures as low as 35°F and offers outstanding hide, coverage, durability and dirt-resistance.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
8 of 19(42%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent Product. Deserves higher score 
 August 8, 2015
 August 8, 2015
by coastcity
"This is one of our favourite exterior products. It has excellent colour retention and covers great. Extremely tough to remove from hands, so gloves are a must. Love it!"
Review 2 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Looks great; dried fast 
 August 3, 2015
 August 3, 2015
by Jen
"I'm surprised by a few of the poor reviews here. I painted my front door with this paint and it dried really fast and looks great. The color is vibrant and beautiful and there wasn't any streaking or tackiness. Maybe people had poor results because they didn't prep the surface or use good brushes."
Review 3 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great paint for late fall jobs 
 May 6, 2015
 May 6, 2015
by Brian
"Used it for two large jobs last fall. Sprayed both. Could not ask for better. Below freezing at night but no problems and still looks like I just sprayed it after 5 months."
Review 4 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrible coverage, scratches easily 
 February 7, 2015
 February 7, 2015
by senoragilbert
"After 8(!) coats and touch ups, I finally got the primer covered, but six months later it's a mess of scratches and indentations from "hard use" like a wreath being hung on the door! I couldn't have been more careful with this "weatherproof" paint, since the door was painted inside in air conditioning, with more than the suggested dry-time between coats. The texture is awful and doesn't self-level at all. There are great SW products out there, but this isn't one of them! Unfortunately, this is all the store could offer me in a dark-base quart, and I didn't see the reviews before I bought it and used it."
Review 5 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
BIG MISTAKE 
 February 19, 2015
 February 19, 2015
by duke
"We are professional sign painters (since 1958) and use Sherwin-Williams products for sub- structures of steel, aluminum and sometimes
wood, normally with good results. We used this "Premium" product
for some brand new vinyl trim around a sign frame. We primed the
trim as specified and now have applied FOUR (yes 4) coats
of medium blue gloss, the more we apply the worse it looks.
Brush streaks, uneven, lumpy, looks horrid. I would give it a -0.
I hope we do not have to do this job over again. This is the worst product I have ever encountered.
"
Review 6 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Great shed paint 
 September 14, 2014
 September 14, 2014
by corgimum
"I painted my new shed and trim with this paint. It went on easily and looks good. My only complaint is that brush strokes are visible on my steel door. I even used Floetrol to prevent marks."
Review 7 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Still Tacky After 10 Days 
 October 6, 2014
 October 6, 2014
by lghaas
"It's been 10 days and the paint is still very tacky on the wood door I painted. Fingerprints and paper stick to it and don't come off without sanding. I used tinted deep base, as recommended, and two coats of Resilience. I used SW foam roller to apply thin layers and sanded lightly between each one. I am in Colorado, a very dry climate. I am surprised to read the comments that this is a fast drying paint. I've read in some forums where people have had to wait months for this paint to dry. That's not fast! It's just made a mess of our door. I'm in the process of sanding it all off and starting over with another type of paint. It's too bad because the color and the finish look beautiful."
Review 8 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrific Product 
 August 6, 2014
 August 6, 2014
by AggieB
"My local (Mebane, NC) Sherwin Williams manager recommended Resilience for a barn I was painting. The barn was already primed with white primer, but the paint needed to be red. I've used red latex paints over white primer before and, in one case, ended up having to apply 5 coats to get perfect coverage! So I was very interested in this product when I heard the coverage was great. Well, the coverage was terrific! Only two coats of Resilience and the barn looks perfect.
I read other reviews where there were complaints about brush marks and quick drying time in addition to cautions about temperature and humidity perameters. So I was careful to work quickly and on days that were neither too hot nor too wet. I found Resilience to be a time-saver and the results were even better than I hoped."
Review 9 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Terrible 
 May 13, 2014
 May 13, 2014
by Jed
"Paid more than the A100 and its not as good. This paint scratches and peels when you so much as walk by it. Wish I had stuck with the A100."
Review 10 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Cannot avoid brush marks using Resilience Paint 
 October 19, 2013
 October 19, 2013
by Jamie88
"Recommended by the salesperson, I purchased a gallon Resilience paint and I was not able to avoid brush marks when paint the PVC panel door; but it looks good after painting on aluminum panel garage door."
Review 11 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Can't believe the mess! 
 August 16, 2013
 August 16, 2013
by Anonymous
"Used Superpaint on the whole house which was Hardi board and it looked great. When we decided to paint our raw wood shutters Resilience was suggested due to being on the water and humidity. I brought the shutters inside to paint in a drier environment. Like an idiot I painted 6 sets of shutters thinking if I changed my strategy they would turn out. I primed all the shutters with oil primer then waited 24 hrs to paint. I painted 2 sets and waited 3 hrs and applied second coat. The next morning they were all tacky and chipped if they touched anything. So next 2 sets I painted first coat of paint then waited 24 hrs to apply 2nd coat and same result, tacky. Next 2 sets of shutters I changed to different brand of oil primer but had same results. Waited 5 days for first set to hang and when they touched the house the paint came off and they still were tacky. None of the shutters ever cured. Took a shutter into Sherwin Williams store and the manager couldn't believe they had been painted 5 days prior and still tacky. The manager was great and worked with us but 6 sets of shutters later I am having to sand them all and now repainting with Emerald which is drying in 2 hrs no problems."
Review 12 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Be Respectful of Weather Conditions 
 August 2, 2013
 August 2, 2013
by jansub1
"I'm not a professional painter. BEFORE I started painting a large metal outbuilding using Resilence, I got tips from PROFESSIONAL PAINTERS via the internet . Rules of thumb: Don't paint in direct sunlight, don't paint if outdoor temperature is 90-degrees or above, don't paint when windy or even slightly breezy, don't paint in low humidity. I live in East Texas and I would paint every morning from 7 a.m.-10 a.m. during June/July/August. After 10 a.m. the paint would get sticky and not level off and would leave brush marks. Following the rules of thumb, the paint went on smooth and easy. I liked the fact that I could paint up to 1-1/2 before a rain.."
Review 13 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Looks nice but scratches easily 
 June 17, 2013
 June 17, 2013
by eclecticcottage
"After more than a day, the paint (two coats with a 3-4 hour dry time between) is still soft. So I checked our "do we like the color" test patch that was done over two weeks ago, and I could easily scratch it! I can "dent" it with my fingernail! It went on easily, covered well with two coats and looks great, but I'm afraid this isn't going to hold up very well. I'm very unhappy right now. And yes, we cleaned the surface before painting it and it hasn't been below 60 degrees either."
Review 14 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Best Under Certain Conditions 
 October 27, 2012
 October 27, 2012
by Berkshire80
"In the Northeast, late October and November often means the end of trying to paint. However, Resilience is now my go to paint for late season projects. It can be used in cooler temperatures and sets up very quickly. I agree that the product can be tricky to use; it requires that you keep a wet brush and work fast. And it certainly does not flow as nice as some of the other Sherwin Williams paints. This definitely would not be my choice of paint for a painting on a sunny summer day. There are other Sherwin Williams paints that certainly would be much easier to work with and show less tooling marks when finished. But the paint does have a specific purpose, namely painting in cooler temperatures and painting when there is a risk of rain or moisture in the near future. And for these applications it can't be beat!"
Review 15 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
I bought it for fiberglass composite pillars. 
 August 22, 2012
 August 22, 2012
by GS
"I'm not a professional painter but I'm a handyman that does a ton of painting. I tried this paint because it was recommended for use on fiberglass composite that has somewhat of the same problem as vinyl. Dark colors tend to make it warp in harsh direct sunlight.. This product is meant to minimize that. We will see!
I'm panting 6x6 columns 10' tall. As for application the gloss went on real nice but never really leveled out. I don't think any Latex does as good a job of leveling as oil based but this paint didn't really level out much at all. With it's very quick set time it didn't leave much time to to tip it out and brush marks are very apparent.
"
Review 16 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Experience necessary 
 September 27, 2012
 September 27, 2012
by Jonathan
"I've read several reviews so far, and most being negative. Coming from a professional, this material needs more explanation than I think SW gives it. Resilience isn't advertised as a "fast dry" paint, but basically that's what it is. The "Moisture Guard" feature requires is to cure quickly enough to resist water within 2 hours, so it has to dry fast.
If you are brushing a door or some other smooth project, there are some things you need to know. FLOETROL is your friend. Floetrol extends the "open time" of a latex paint and also helps it lay down. I would not call Resilience a "brushing or rolling" paint when it comes to smooth metal or fiberglass doors. It can be done, but you are still going to end up with a slight texture. If you are applying it to a smooth surface, spraying is your best option. Otherwise, I would consider looking at Sherwin Williams SuperPaint. Again, Floetrol will make it a lot easier to get the paint to "lay down".
Resilience can be brushed, rolled or sprayed over many textured finishes and it looks perfect, but smooth surfaces are a challenge for Resilience unless it's sprayed.
This really is a great product, but you must be careful to keep your brush, roller, etc "wet" with paint. I once rolled out a porch ceiling and left the roller cover exposed to the sun for 5 minutes....I had to toss the cover b/c the paint dried so quickly.
"
Review 17 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Many Layers of Coats 
 November 16, 2011
 November 16, 2011
by Leibold.9
"I felt that this product, at least in ultradeep base, was 'watery'. When I brushed it on, it would thin and become transparent unless I globbed it on, which left brush marks (gloss finish). I had to put three coats on my shutters, on top of primer.
It is also worth noting that the Moisture Guard seems to apply to drying/curing time, not some sort of extended moisture protection.
I would only recommend Resilience to someone painting in cold or rainy weather."
Review 18 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Awful coverage 
 June 26, 2011
 June 26, 2011
by ckmielke
"I used Duration for most of my trim the same day I used this for accents (only because Duration doesn't come in quarts). Both flat. Duration went on beautifully. flowed and spread nicely to cover well in one coat. Resilience, however, looked like finger paint after one coat - embarrassing, really. Brush marks, could practically see through it, almost like it didn't want to stick. This was on a well-prepared previously flat painted, washed, sanded surface, exactly the same that I used Duration on. For this kind of experience, I would have gone to the big box store and gotten their cheapest paint. After the second coat, it looks fine, but why pay a huge premium for paint that performs so poorly? Don't waste your money."
Review 19 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Disappointing experience 
 March 20, 2011
 March 20, 2011
by Teflonbob
"used a dark green gloss on my vinyl shutters with no primer, as the computer said. After 3 coats there was still brush "streaks" showing and poor surface appearance. Went back to store and got primer which went on perfectly, but the gloss reacted like the primer wasn't even there, another 3+ coats over primer! Worse painting experience ever! Now I'm painting 4 coats including the primer, and it still looks like an amateur job!"
Review 20 for Resilience® Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great in fall and spring 
 December 23, 2010
 December 23, 2010
by Damon
"This is our go-to paint for cooler temps. It sets up great, in fact we painted a house last fall, stopped around 4 pm, then an unexpected torrential rainstorm (Seattle) came later that night, and when we arrived the next day the house looked perfect. This paint will still exhibit surfactant bleed, especially in deep colors, but all latex house paints will. I recently painted an exterior french door with the satin and it flowed beautifully. I was very impressed."
1 2 next>>