Product Reviews

HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint

Sherwin-Williams and HGTV have teamed up to create a fresh paint for all areas of your home. HGTV HOME by Sherwin-Williams Interior Acylic Latex Paint is a zero VOC formula that provides a durable, washable coating for use in all areas of your home. For painting made easy, check out HGTV HOME by Sherwin-Williams designer-inspired color collections, painting supplies and beautiful wallpaper and decals.
Average Customer Rating:
2.857 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
23 of 49(47%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
Review 1 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Colors are great, coverage smooth 
 July 1, 2014
 July 1, 2014
by glick24
"We recently moved to a new home and I didn't want the hassle of choosing colors for each room. I used the HGTV color palates and easily selected colors for each room that coordinated. The paint went on well. Didn't have problems with coverage except for a "rust" color which needed 2 coats - but having painted this and red before that is pretty standard. Paint was smooth and got no streaks. Was easy to trim as well. Did wait for a sale. Would use again."
Review 2 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
not bad, for the money 
 May 1, 2014
 May 1, 2014
by lmonismith
"We had to prime our space first, so we tinted it the same color as the paint. Only needed one coat doing it this way. I have yet to use a paint that only needs one coat, so for me it was okay."
Review 3 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Not worth the money 
 April 21, 2014
 April 21, 2014
by Katrina
"I, as other reviewers, thought that any product from SW, even the low end, would be quailty. I was wrong. This paint is thin and doesn't cover well. Save yourself the hassle of going back for better paint and get a higher quality paint on your first trip."
Review 4 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Runny junk 
 April 4, 2014
 April 4, 2014
by dubs66
"I have bought many gallons of this paint thinking I was getting quality because I was buying at Sherwin Williams. I realize that every store has lower end paint BUT Sherwin Williams should be embarrassed to carry this over priced junk. I'm still trying to decide if I want to spend the hours it will take to cover this runny colored stuff they call paint."
Review 5 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Smooth and Even, Requires 2 Coats 
 April 3, 2014
 April 3, 2014
by BusDriver
"I was a S-W loyalist from about 2002-2005; at some point, they changed their colorants and I was really unhappy with the paint that I used circa 2006.
I converted to Benjamin Moore and was quite satisfied with BM for a long time (for that price, you should be). My local store that carries BM cut back their hours significantly, so I decided to give S-W another try.
I was surprised to see the paint had changed significantly - my old "Super Satin" had been replaced with the HGTV satin. I really like the texture of this paint - it seems to roll well and smoothly. I have no issues cutting in with it (I use the Wooster Short-Cut brush; love that thing).
The only thing I really noticed was that it does seem to "splatter" a little more than the old paints, which is really of concern if you're doing an accent wall or similar; you have to cover a lot of your intersecting wall to make sure you don't splatter onto it.
I don't find it to be a one-coat coverage paint, but I never found the old Super Satin to be either; never trust any paint that claims to give one-coat coverage. (Always, always, always do at least 2 coats. Personally, I like to do three coats, no matter what brand of paint I'm using. I think of the 2nd coat as finishing the job, and the 3rd coat as an insurance policy.)
I was pleasantly surprised that the HGTV satin is a lower price than I remember.
Over time, I will monitor the paint for its quality. I bought some darker pigments, and I know that is where the other "bargain brands" (a la Behr) fail miserably - Behr paints in darker pigments will "chalk" over time, whereas I've never had that happen with a darker pigment S-W."
Review 6 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not the best 
 November 16, 2013
 November 16, 2013
by Kerry
"This is my first time using paint purchased from Sherwin Williams. I am not sold on this paint. It is extremely runny and because of that I had quite a mess to clean up when I was finished. I do love the color (Universal Khaki) though and it seems to have covered well with just one coat. Next time I purchase paint from Sherwin Williams it will be a better quality paint..I hope!"
Review 7 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not impressed 
 September 1, 2013
 September 1, 2013
by Cyndy
"I have always used SW Super Paint and have recommended it any time the topic of paint came up. I was surprised to see this HGTV paint on the shelf when I went to buy paint for my current project. I was not impressed. The paint seemed very "thin" (unlike the one-coat coverage of Super Paint) and I had to go back over a number of areas. It's a get what you pay for kind of thing. I am glad that I hit a 30% off sale to buy the rest of the paint I need as I am reading reviews to see what other paint type I might try (or I'll just go with the Super Paint again)."
Review 8 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Definitely Not Odor-Free--Update 
 August 22, 2013
 August 22, 2013
by aroggen
"About two months ago I wrote a review of this product. I cannot find it to provide an update. This paint is definitely not odor free. It took 6 weeks for the paint smell to go away, together with many smell mitigation tricks that I know. If you are chemically sensitive, do not use this paint. SW did work with me to find a paint that worked: Emerald. Try it if you are sensitive."
Review 9 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Pricey for what it is 
 August 17, 2013
 August 17, 2013
by Berkshire80
"This paint is right on par with Behr or some of the other big box store lines. It does not cover the greatest or cut in the best, but I would not expect it to being a cheaper paint. And this is where I use it, when I want a decent paint but do not want to spend a lot of $. The negative however is that it is still much more expensive than Behr. Why am I paying more for a paint that performs exactly the same? I am a dedicated Sherwin-Williams guy, but feel like I could definitely be saving some money by choosing another average performing line of paint. Certainly an HGTV logo isn't worth that much?"
Review 10 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Very disappointed 
 August 11, 2013
 August 11, 2013
by JavaGirlTT
"We normally get inexpensive sale paint at big-box home stores, but had several friends in construction and painting highly recommend Sherwin Williams. They told us that even though their paint was pricier, it went much farther and was a higher quality. We're putting our house up for sale and wanted good paint to increase the value of our home. We bought a couple gallons of the HGTV paint thinking it would be enough to paint our small living room and hallway. Two gallons did not even cover 400 square feet. It took almost three coats to make it look even. We're very disappointed. So glad we had a coupon! After buying what we need to finish the front room, we're going elsewhere to buy paint for the rest of the house. I don't know if all the paint at S-W is this bad, but if it is, I really don't know how they can stay in business."
Review 11 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Colors / Disappointing Paint Series 
 July 1, 2013
 July 1, 2013
by Sprokitt
"We fell in love with some of the SW HGTV colors so we thought we would give the paint a try. We had very high expectations given our past experience with SW products and the price of this paint. While the color and finished look turned out nicely, this was not a great paint to work with. Even covering a relatively easy medium color, this paint required a minimum of 2 coats to achieve decent coverage. In many cases 3 coats were needed to get a good finished look. Also, the limited finish selection is a major drawback. While the room looks good, the satin finish is much glossier than the other SW eggshell finishes. Sorry SW, but overall, there are much better values in paint products for this price. You can do better."
Review 12 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not the worst paint I've ever used.... 
 June 26, 2013
 June 26, 2013
by Lindsey
"But certainly not the best either. We have always used the Super Paint in the past, and have always loved the results. But when we bought our new house and needed to repaint every room before we could move in we thought we'd save a few bucks and go with the HGTV paint for most if the rooms (for the Bathroom and Kitchen we went with Emerald, a wonderful product, BTW.) Well, you get what you pay for as they say. The colors came out nice and crisp, but the paint didn't coat very well, and definitely did not go as far as other SW paints we've used. I'm satisfied with how the rooms turned out, but going forward I wouldn't buy this paint again. Live and Learn I guess."
Review 13 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Worst Paint I Have Ever Used 
 June 2, 2013
 June 2, 2013
by DisgruntledPainter
"Me and my girlfriend have been in the process of painting our 3000+ square foot home. After having so-so results with Behr and Glidden paints, we decided to turn to Sherwin Williams to make our painting adventures not so problematic. We purchased two gallons of this HGTV paint to cover a decent sized room (450sqft). So far we have put up four coats of this junk after having properly prepped and primed the walls. We will have to purchase at least one more gallon of paint to just finish one room. This is worse than Behr and Glidden paint by a mile. Save yourself a headache and buy anything else that SW makes. Sherwin WIlliams needs to seriously drop this awful paint line as it is very detrimental to their reputation as a quality paint retailer."
Review 14 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
earth friendly compromise 
 May 28, 2013
 May 28, 2013
by Max
"A gallon of this paint does not even cover 150 sq ft, I had to buy 3 gallons instead of 2 cheap behr white paint I had on the wall before. Paint seemed to shrink as it dried? Left spots of no paint everywhere, i tried 2 types of roll covers, different paint brushes, techniques and saw no improvement. In some areas it seemed to go on as a glaze type not paint. A huge let down, the job took longer since I had double coat in most areas and stop painting to go buy the additional gallon. The paint also stinks more then any other paint I've used, no way it can be zero VOC. The only upside is the paint was easy to clean from brushes and rolls. I get a feeling the paint is not going to wear well in our guest bedroom, sorry I used it, should have read the reviews on here before buying."
Review 15 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Paint 
 April 10, 2013
 April 10, 2013
by Briana
"We used this paint on our textured walls in our kitchen and love it. We choose the satin finish and it washes beautifully. I'm a messy cook and have to spot clean places about once a week and you can't tell where I have washed at all. It took two coats, but that was expected due to the fact that the walls were still new construction flat white paint. We are very happy with the wear and tear of this paint and will be using it in our dining room and living room."
Review 16 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
One week later and the room still stinks 
 April 10, 2013
 April 10, 2013
by Tula
"I usually use Olympic no-VOC paint but decided to try the Sherwin Williams because I thought it would be a better product. I chose the HGTV because it was supposed to be no-VOC and I was told that the tints were no-VOC too. I am using this for a baby's room, so this is important to me. Well, I painted the room and a week later it STILL smells like paint. I've kept the windows open, put fans in the room. It's better, but this smell is ridiculous. I gave it one star because the paint stuck to the wall, but for a no-VOC paint, the smell is unacceptable."
Review 17 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
HGTV interior paint is NO GOOD! 
 April 8, 2013
 April 8, 2013
by Christine
"VERY DISAPPOINTED TO SAY THE LEAST IN THE HGTV INTERIOR FLAT PAINT, IVE BEEN A HOME OWNER FOR 15 YEARS AND HAVE ALWAYS USED FLAT PAINT TO PAINT DECORATOR COLORS IN MY LIVING ROOM, I REALLY LIKED THE HGTV COLOR SO SPURGED THE EXTRA MONEY TO GET THIS PAINT, WELL MY LIVING ROOM HAS ALWAYS TAKEN 2 GALLONS, BUT NOT WITH THIS PAINT, IVE USED 3 AND I AM OUT, IT TOOK MORE MONEY AND MORE PAINT AND THE QUALITY IS AWFUL THE PAINT WIPES RIGHT OFF THE WALLS, IM SO UPSET AND OUT ALOT OF MONEY. DONT BUY HGTV PAINT IT WILL NOT HOLD UP, COST MORE, AND IS HORRIBLE PAINT!! WILL NOT SHOP SHERWIN WILLIAMS AGAIN!"
Review 18 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Not the best - but good enough for most jobs 
 January 25, 2013
 January 25, 2013
by rsc1911
"I needed a deep red color that required a deep base unavailable in the SW paint I normally use. The shop keeper recommended this type. I used a Kilz medium grey primer and two top coats of HGTV Home tinted deep red and all was fine. I did not get the coverage I normally get with Duration, but it went on smooth using Purdy 1/2" nap rollers over a non-textured walls. I'm using it again this weekend on my teen daughters room."
Review 19 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Not durable 
 December 29, 2012
 December 29, 2012
by Kat
"The paint was easy to work with and I always do 2 coats for coverage. The problem I am having with it is you cannot clean it or get it wet. The paint turns darker there, so it will have to be touched up. It is the flat paint, but I have used Harmony flat before (it is more expensive) and you could clean it. I have 2 more rooms to paint and I am going to try and exchange it. Painting is too much work to not have good durable washable paint."
Review 20 for HGTV HOME™ by Sherwin-Williams Interior Paint
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
High hopes. Very disappointed. 
 December 17, 2012
 December 17, 2012
by Robert
"I had high hopes for this paint. We normally use SuperPaint flat. The color we wanted was not available in the SuperPaint because it was so dark. The local shop recommended the HGTV Home flat. This paint is horrible. We painted a dark red over another red that was a half step brighter. The colors were almost exactly the same. We were told we did not need to prime over it because the colors were so similar. It took 4 or 5 coats for the paint to match the swatch. This is quite ridiculous. I don't know if it is because the shade was so dark or if the paint is really garbage. I just noticed the mixing was a "custom manual match" instead of the regular tinting method. Possibly this paint should have never been mixed this dark and it watered down the other solids. The paint seemed thick like the SuperPaint but flowed on the wall like it was thinned too much. We did not thin the paint at all. The touch up looks HORRIBLE! I used the same roller as when I originally applied the paint a couple weeks ago. You can see every mark like it was a bad tint match. It was the same paint applied from the same can. It never sat open and was mixed well before applying. This paint sticks to both the "green tape" as well as the new "special blue tape". I had it peel away from the wall in a sheet in a few places even after letting the paint dry for a couple days and scoring the tape with a razor. I have needed to wipe a couple spots with a rag to clean up cooking splatter. The color comes right off on the rag and the mark where I wiped is still visible. This is unacceptable for a "premium" paint. I have had better luck with cheaper paints from the orange big box shops.
Lesson learned: stick to SuperPaint. It is much more predictable and coats incredibly well. I will be asking for a refund on this product as I will now need to repaint my walls."
1 2 3 next>>