Product Reviews

H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based

H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based bonds to concrete and forms a tough shield so it doesn't fade, peel or flake like paint. It is resistant to acids, ultraviolet rays, oil, gas and alkali while maintaining a decorative finish. Available in a variety of ready-to-use and tintable colors, as well as a clear, this stain is ideal for high pH surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
Review 1 for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
worked great for me 
 February 9, 2015
 February 9, 2015
by Eric
"I used the water-based stain on my pool patio, which is poured concrete. The only prep I did was to power wash the area good to make sure there was no mold and dirt. My patio was very porous so it soaked up the first coat quickly. I ended up giving it 3 coats (each one in a different direction) and it looks great. It has been over a year now...it is easy to keep clean..I power wash it with no problems and its not slippery at all, even when wet. I am very pleased with the results. I did NOT put any sealer at all on it after, and am glad of that based on one persons review. I used the solvent based for my garage floor, which obviously gets car traffic and am equally pleased..no hot tire pick up."
Review 2 for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Expensive lesson 
 May 25, 2014
 May 25, 2014
by Bob
"I spent a lot of money on this product. I stained my sidewalks,patio,and pool area. I then coated it with their sealer with Shark grip added. That was a mistake. Two years later,it looks awful. Every bit of dirt adheres to it. There were a few places that I missed with sealer and you can see the big difference. My concrete looks like it's in a car repair shop. I spent over a $1000 and 2 weeks to make my outdoor areas look good. Now,I'm screwed. Tried every cleaner made,even muriatic acid,and it will not clean. Pressure washer won't even touch it. Had an H&C rep come out last year and finally gave up trying with them. This is one of those lessons you learn. My only option now,is to have it sandblasted. Can't afford that. It's a lot of square footage. If there are low spots where water pools on the concrete,it will remove the stain. Or,if water is dripping off a roof edge,it will remove the stain. I spent a lot of time prepping the surface also,so it's not that. It just kills me every time I walk outside and see how it looks. It gets worse every week. It's like a dirt and grime magnet. I'm so tired of our guests asking why we don't clean it. We used a white/gray tint that is now turning black."
Review 3 for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Will Not Stick. 
 October 16, 2013
 October 16, 2013
by Jerry
"Four days after applying stain and sealer I went to move something and part of the stain came up with it. This has happened several different times. I thought the stain was suppose to be absorbed in the floor not lay on top. We aren’t happy! Wouldn’t recommend this product."
Review 4 for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Like Product, Colors not True to Palette 
 August 23, 2012
 August 23, 2012
by LJEmerick
"I used the product for the stucco foundation but the color was much lighter than what was indicated on the color strip. After a couple of attempts to darken the color 9 (SW made a valiant effort to make the changes), it ended up the same color as the original concrete! I will have to start from scratch and go with a color that hopefully will be dark enough. I will buy only one gallon to be sure."
Review 5 for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Driveway Prep? 
 April 11, 2012
 April 11, 2012
by TOM
"Did the previous reviewer follow the directions for prep?
Newly poured concrete must cure for at least 45 days. Concrete must be etched with H&C Concrete Etching Solution, follow label instructions. Surface should feel like 120-grit sandpaper, if not, then etch again. Allow 24 hours to dry prior to staining.
I had a very good outcome using this product on a concrete driveway."
Review 6 for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Stained whole house with this 
 June 22, 2011
 June 22, 2011
by sherwin_kl
"Our home had concrete brick (as opposed to fired brick) all around. Because it was just plain concrete, it was the same color as a sidewalk and not attractive.
We used a sprayer and brushes. Each brick was heavily textured so we applied two coats of the white solid-color stain. Ten years later the stained brick on this Michigan house still looks wonderful.
I will use this product for all my concrete stain needs."
Review 7 for H&C® Concrete Stain Solid Color Water-Based
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
bad product 
 April 3, 2011
 April 3, 2011
by dee
"We purchased 8 gallons last year for our driveway, part of the driveway was new and part was old. Your stain has almost completely come off the new part, and the older part is coming off in spots. We power wash the driveway before application which we were told we didn't need to do, but we did anyway thinking it would be better, didn't matter. Now we have to do the driveway and expense again."