Product Reviews

Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex

Sherwin-Williams Emerald™ paint and primer in one with advanced stain blocking technology delivers best-in-class overall performance. To ensure a beautiful, smooth finish and stunning color for years to come, use our finest paint ever. Emerald prevents stains from penetrating, offers maximum resistance to water streaking and spotting, features truly remarkable hide and covers dark colors. With exceptional coverage and washability, it’s perfect for any room in your home.
Average Customer Rating:
3.419 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
33 of 62(53%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Love the oder free! 
 April 12, 2014
 April 12, 2014
by Denise
"I have painted my entire home with this paint and while using it you can notice an oder it is gone by the time the paint is dry. That evening my entire home was oder free. It went on very thick and was worth every penny as other bands were smelly for weeks and needed 2-3 coats to do a good job. I will never use another brand of paint."
Review 2 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Over priced and worst paint I've used 
 April 12, 2014
 April 12, 2014
by cgralton
"I am a professional painter and a customer wanted to use this paint, it was awful, had flashing through the Spackle that was previously primed. Would recommend tried and true SuperPaint or Cashmere for your interior projects"
Review 3 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great when applying right! 
 April 9, 2014
 April 9, 2014
by HannahKittyCat
"After reading online reviews I was nervous to use this paint. But after talking with a sales associate about my fears she explained exactly how to use it to avoid roller marks! She explained that this paint would be different to paint with than other products I used. She recommended a specific roller cover to smooth out roller marks and taught me about the importance of "back rolling". For me the paint came out beautifully! I like it better than the SuperPaint!"
Review 4 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Good Quality Paint 
 April 7, 2014
 April 7, 2014
by Mk
"I panicked when I read the reviews here as I had just ordered 2 cans of this on the recommendation of the Sales Associate & was about to order more. He assured me this was excellent paint & I wouldn't have roller strokes.
The Emerald Paint went on beautifully & required only 1 coat over a previously painted wall. I used Satin Finish and like the look. Used a light silver color. The Paint is very reflective - the previous paint was more taupe/tan and until all the walls were covered, the silver looked like the old color. This paint doesn't look great wet (streaks & strokes), but when it's completely dry it's beautiful! The only "rubbery strips of paint" I experienced where on the edges of the tray when finished. And never had one bump on the walls or when the tape came off.
While I loved this paint, I have 4 more rooms to do and will likely go with my previous paint of choice - SuperPaint. The price on the Emerald is a bit steep. I splurged on the first purchase because it was the last day of a 30% sale. I had planned on buying all the paint at once to take advantage of the discount, but after reading the reviews was apprehensive. If there's another sale before I need the rest of my paint, I may splurge again although I've never been disappointed with SuperPaint so either way - all good. I wrote this review because I'm not sure where all the bad comments are coming from. I'm not a professional painter, but I've done my share over the years. Professionals painted my present house the first time & some of the rooms a 2nd time. I'm picky about quality paint & painting. While pricey, I don't see the negative in quality that is mentioned here."
Review 5 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Loved it! 
 February 20, 2014
 February 20, 2014
by brittnmarc
"I have used many different SW lines of paint but never the Emerald before. I wanted to paint my kitchen and really like the look of flat paint, but I need it to be washable. After a friend recommended the Emerald, I finally decided if I was going to get the look and function I wanted, I was going to have to pay the "big bucks" and try it. LOVE IT! It was fantastic to use and it looks fabulous. I refuse to use the Duration paint, I am never pleased with the results so I was so happy to finally feel like I didn't waste my money buying a higher end paint. The only negative -I feel that I've spoiled myself and I'm not sure I ever want to go back to the other lines!"
Review 6 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald interior is poor quality and overpriced 
 March 15, 2014
 March 15, 2014
by Valleyqb07
"I'm own a large painting business and have used Sherwin Williams Emerald in my own home and in my customer's homes. I apply the product as it states on the data pages. Even in the matte finish, it shows side sheen (roller marks when viewed from an angle). It is very cleanable; however, the appearance is the worst of any brand I've ever used. I repainted everything in my house with a different paint and have customers sign off on the potential of a non-uniform appearance prior to using this product. Do not associate the price of this product with the quality of this product. Sherwin Williams makes many good products; however, this is not one of them. Cashmere is going to have the best appearance and Super Paint is going to have the best hide/coverage."
Review 7 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Love this paint! 
 January 10, 2014
 January 10, 2014
by smithjl8
"Overall--Easy to apply, easy to clean up, minimal odor, and a beautiful finish.
I'm so surprised by all of the negative reviews here. I'm a total newbie at painting and found this paint so easy to work with. Most importantly, the finished paint job looks perfect. I used the matte finish in White Dogwood (a soft pink) and applied two coats of the Emerald over a coat of primer. I primed first only because the room had previously been wallpapered and I wanted to make sure any small amount of remaining adhesive residue was sealed in.
Just as a heads up, the Emerald looked awful while it was still wet but dried beautifully. A day or two after I painted while the paint was dry but not fully cured I accidentally scraped something up against the wall and it took the paint right off. A few weeks later I touched up the area and its invisible.
I'll be stocking up on this paint during the 40% off sales to use in the rest of my home.
Long story short--Easy to apply, easy to clean up, minimal odor, and a beautiful finish.
"
Review 8 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Easy application and great coverage! Recommended! 
 January 2, 2014
 January 2, 2014
by Laura
"I was afraid to get this paint because of the negative reviews, but I'm glad I gave it a try because I love the Emerald paint!
Zero VOC - I gave it a try because I wanted a zero VOC paint that looked good and had good coverage. I thought it had a slight smell, almost like acetone mixed with clay or something - a slight chemical smell w/ the acetone but mixed with an earthy smell and not too strong. I'm very sensitive to smells (which is why I use zero voc - even low voc paint has too much smell for me) and although I noticed the smell for about 15 minutes, it wasn't strong enough to bother me and the smell is gone very quickly. I think this would work well for chemically sensitive people, nursaries, etc.
Coverage - I bought two gallons of Emerald in Satin finish - one a medium yellow for the foyer and one a medium green (ryegrass) for the kitchen. In the foyer I was painting over a tan and in the kitchen over a light to medium orange. In both cases one coat looked great from a distance - good coverage, but as with all paints - it always looks better with two coats to cover any thin spots and look fab up close as well. I was really impressed with this paint with such great coverage!
Applicaiton - I also had NO trouble with roller marks or brush stroke marks after applying the second coat (after first coat, some brush marks but no roller stripes). I found that after the paint dried, even on the first coat, it leveled really well - meaning the brush strokes evened out a bit, etc. I found it very easy to apply - which is a huge thing I look for in paints because I don't have the patience to apply multiple coats or to push really hard to get the paint on, etc. (bad experience there with Dutch Boy zero voc paint - wouldn't recommend). Emerald paint is thick enough that I didn't have problems with dripping (I would dip my brush and not even tap or wipe!) and minimal splatter when rolling - I have a habit of rolling quickly so thin paints splatter a ton for me - this one had very minimal splatter. It is not as thick as the Benjamin Moore Natura paint, but almost as thick (the BM paint was so thick it broke my wooden paint stirrer!). I also found that it is easy to apply in that it dries quickly (did second coat 60-90 min later) but not so quickly that you mess up your paint job if you backroll when you see a thin spot in your previous stripe or two and go back over it.
Finish - Finally, I think the finish looks nice and the colors were true. I think the satin is pretty close to an eggshell, though not so shiny I had to worry about the imperfections in my wall. I tend to find eggshell too shiny for my plaster walls in the living room, foyer, etc. but I think the Emerald satin finish looks good in the foyer and I would even use it in my living room where I usually stick to flat.
Number of coats - if you are selling your house and just want to slap up a coat of neutral to cover your blue wall you could get away with one coat if you apply properly, but as with ALL paints I've used and all paint store employees I've talked to at SW and other stores, you should always do 2 coats if you are doing it in your home you're living in and want to have a great looking even finish - as even good painters still will have thin spots in a couple of places and two coats evens all of that out and makes it look nice, even up close.
Bottom line - Highly recommended and I will use again!
"
Review 9 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Light colors does not stand upto the mark 
 December 22, 2013
 December 22, 2013
by Pz
"I bought 2 gallons of lemon twist after i was satisfied with child's play color and how one coat did a great job. But this color, i used two coats and still i can see the dark and light shadows in the wall, even though my previous color was cream color. This paint is somewhat thin than the one i got for childs play, not sure if it was because i went to different store."
Review 10 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
quality paint with a very nice finish 
 January 26, 2014
 January 26, 2014
by Nate
"I've read lots of negative reviews on this paint and most seem to want to blame the paint for obvious user errors! The best is the one where the couples painter obviously convinced them that it was the paint's fault for magically getting up on the ceiling! Bottom line is that there is no magic paint that you can just throw on a wall and hope it looks good. It takes proper technique to paint a smooth surface without shadows from cutting in, roller marks and holidays. Lastly, always use 2 coats if you want a rich smooth looking wall. This product is especially good for accent walls and darker rich colors and will leave you with a wonderful looking end result when applied properly!"
Review 11 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Long time SW customer 
 December 3, 2013
 December 3, 2013
by MAB
"I have used all your other paints, but this was a new and improved paint and we bought a different house with 5000 sq ft to paint so, thought I would give it a try. What a mistake, now I have to get a tried and trusted paint and repaint 2 rooms, I work full time and really don't have the time, dang it. The roller marks are terrible, the second room I tried really hard and it still shows every strip. From now on I will stick with the paint I trust, wish I would have read the reviews before trying it as I wouldn't have."
Review 12 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The S-W guy was right - a great product 
 December 1, 2013
 December 1, 2013
by peg15202
"The salesperson at my local S-W store recommended this paint for my project. My goal was to have three walls the same color and one accent wall. He took the time to meet with me, make some suggestions, listened to my plans for the room, such as the color scheme, the layout, etc. Who else would do that? I'll never go to a big box store again to purchase paint - there is no comparison when it comes to quality and customer service. Kudos to the salesperson and to S-W for providing quality products and service for so many years. This paint was easy to use, dried beautifully, and covered the old paint well. I put a second coat on the accent wall only, which was not a big deal because the color was a bold contrast to the other three walls. It did not take even a day to dry, just a couple of hours for it to set up. I would recommend this paint to anyone."
Review 13 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Very Impressed 
 November 29, 2013
 November 29, 2013
by nofrills painting
"I've been in the painting business for 30 years so when they said they had something better than Duration Home I laughed! I am no longer laughing. Emerald not only impressed me but touch up was great. I wouldn't recommend this to a do it your self-er unless I warned them about rolling with a heavy hand because it takes a light touch when you roll not to be confused with a dry roller. This product in the hands of a truly professional can give you magazine look and save you lots of labor."
Review 14 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Very hard to eliminate roller marks 
 October 26, 2013
 October 26, 2013
by Mike
"Bought 15 gallons of this paint for the interior of our house. Paint covers pretty well and seems to be very durable however it is nearly impossible to apply without leaving roller marks. Wouldn't recommend it for this reason. Went back to the store and they gave me a can of Cashmere to try, which went on a lot smoother. Would go with that product over this next time. Plus, at the price you pay for either of them be sure to wait for the 30% - 40% off discount."
Review 15 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Product 
 October 14, 2013
 October 14, 2013
by Anonymous
"This is stuff is great and i would recommend it to anyone who is looking for such a productttt"
Review 16 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great product 
 September 24, 2013
 September 24, 2013
by Suejoe
"We used the color steamed milk in the emerald line to cover up a salmon orange/pink color and it worked perfectly. Only 2 coats was all we needed. Highly recommended paint if you are to cover an interior room with a matte finish."
Review 17 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Wished I had read the reviews 
 September 5, 2013
 September 5, 2013
by Al
"Miserable paint. Spouse and I have been blaming each other for the lousy finish. Light and dark blotches, trim coat did not match fishish coat. Would not cover in one coat. Second coat did not match first coat and left streaks. Tried going over a third time same results. Four gallons later and it still looks bad. Wished I had read the reviews before I kept buying more cans. Any warrenty? Will not buy SW again."
Review 18 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Switched to another SW 
 September 2, 2013
 September 2, 2013
by jeff
"First ten gals what a pain. Could not get to to spread evenly and I kept switching roller cover thicknesses. Switched to Super Paint much better results, much better paint. This was a 48 gal job. Even my helper commented on the differences without me saying anything."
Review 19 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Good if you are Chemically Sensitive 
 August 22, 2013
 August 22, 2013
by aroggen
"This paint has an odor right in the can, less on the wall, and none when it is dried. I am chemically sensitive and have an acute sense of smell. The odor in the can is detectable but didn't cause a physical "reaction." I used this after a painful and horrible experience with the long-smelling HGTV SW paint (don't use that one if you have MCS), and I was happy and relieved using this paint. I felt good sleeping in the room that next day and could be in the room the day of painting. I wish the coverage was a bit better, but doing a small area and covering medium blue paint with a brush took three coats."
Review 20 for Emerald™ Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Outstanding customer service. 
 September 28, 2013
 September 28, 2013
by Al
"Several weeks ago i wrote review of how i felt about the quality of the Emerald interior paint. I was extremely dissatified with the results i received from the paint. I still am, but what I am extremely happy about is their fantastic customer service. I wrote my review on a Friday and by Monday I received two e-mails from SW. Not the stupid canned response that you get from other companies but from a real person asking how they could fix my problem. ...and they did! I am not sure what went wrong with the paint, but there is nothing wrong with the company. I will definently purchase from SW again.
Thank you SW!
"
1 2 3 4 next>>