Product Reviews

Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex

Sherwin-Williams Emerald® paint and primer in one with advanced stain blocking technology delivers best-in-class overall performance. To ensure a beautiful, smooth finish and stunning color for years to come, use our finest paint ever. Emerald prevents stains from penetrating, offers maximum resistance to water streaking and spotting, features truly remarkable hide and covers dark colors. With exceptional coverage and washability, it’s perfect for any room in your home. Coming Summer 2015: Emerald Interior will be available in a flat finish with excellent washability. The flat finish helps hide minor imperfections on the wall, while its washability ensures your home''s beauty is long-lasting and easy to maintain. Emerald is available in four sheens, including a techncologically advanced flat finish that offers the same washability and durability as the matte or glossier sheens. Matte and Satin finishes are now available in a new high hiding accent base, formulated to boost hiding power and deliver truer colors in fewer coats. With Emerald Interior Flat, there is no need to sacrifice performance for appearance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
54 of 94(57%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful Sheen 
 August 24, 2015
 August 24, 2015
by AcademicSocialite
"Used Emerald in semi-gloss to paint some woodwork. The paint imparts a beautiful, pearlescent sheen unlike anything I've seen before. Had slight difficulty figuring out how to get the paint to dry smoothly and without brushstrokes, but once I figured it all out I was very happy with this paint."
Review 2 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Not what i expected 
 August 23, 2015
 August 23, 2015
by Li
"I had to paint a 24x16 room and while the spread with the roller was excellent (one coat would be enough) the drying time was significantly less than stated and light marks and roller marks all over the walls. Did 3 coats to correct and still could not get rid of these problems."
Review 3 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Challenge with Satin sheen 
 August 6, 2015
 August 6, 2015
by Mike
"Satin sheen is challenging to apply without leaving roller marks. The standard W application pattern results in a different sheen for the up and down strokes. Satin sheen is durable and easy to clean (we painted a high use kitchen with Satin sheen 18 months ago and it looks like the day we painted it). But the kitchen has lots of cabinets, windows, etc. so the small open areas dont show the roller marks much. But in large rooms like living rooms, the roller marks for Satin sheen are to much to accept. We painted over the first Satin coat in our living room with Matte finish which looks much better. Use the lowest sheen paint in the Emerald line-up for the room you are painting and you should be happy."
Review 4 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Junk 
 August 1, 2015
 August 1, 2015
by B
"Took three (3) coats. Very runny. Dries rubbery. Leaves stroke marks if you dont go back and roll over it. Never had to do 3 coats with other sherwin williams types."
Review 5 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Extremely Pleased! 
 July 31, 2015
 July 31, 2015
by Ed
"I have not used SW paint for a very long time but I was extremely happy with the Emerald product. I thought for sure I would have to use two coats but the coverage was outstanding and there was no dripping or splattering. I am sold on it! The folks at my local store were also very helpful."
Review 6 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Worked out perfectly 
 July 23, 2015
 July 23, 2015
by Allyson
"My husband and I are new homeowners and novice painters. We purchased Emerald satin finish in a medium gray (Gray Matters) to paint a large, windowed bathroom with vaulted ceilings. Emerald covered the original wall color *and* four shades of sample squares with no show-through, after only one coat. We did a second coat just to perfect the coverage, and had no trouble with roller strokes showing after the paint was dry (we used Purdy White Dove rollers). The only issue we had was when we first got started, we waited 15-20 minutes between cutting in and rolling and ended up with half-dried 'flakes' in the roller as they peeled off the textured part of the paint tray. Switching liners and working more efficiently solved the problem. We will absolutely be using Emerald in the future."
Review 7 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
disappointed 
 July 22, 2015
 July 22, 2015
by Toni
"I've now completed 2 rooms with Emerald. The first was a mid-tone that would have required 1-1.5 coats tops in other paints I've used; this required 3. I also used a deep tone that required 3 coats on top of a dark tint primer. It dries very quickly and all the roller seams and cut ins show through. The dark room could actually use a 4th coat of paint to even it out but I can't stand to do it. I used recommended technique and rollers for both rooms. Other paint brands I've used have had much better coverage at an equal or lower price point. If this is SW's top of the line I'm not sure I'll buy paint there again. However I used Duration in the past and think I had better luck with that."
Review 8 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Paint 
 June 18, 2015
 June 18, 2015
by jayrz
"I normally use Duration, but decided to give Emerald a try since I had a coupon in addition to the 40% off. I was surprised that the adhesion of this paint better than Duration. The difference in price between the two products is not that much. I'd buy Emerald, on sale only, because it has better adhesion and the final appearance looks better than Duration. The paint is easy to apply and has plenty open apply time. I am really interested in the flat sheen, but I have not been able to find it in a store in Michigan anywhere. The paint is very similar to Duration.... noticeably there are some advantages."
Review 9 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Saved Time 
 June 1, 2015
 June 1, 2015
by gingurr25
"I assumed I would need two coats to cover the loud green I was trying to cover. I've seen one coat coverage and blah blah blah it never requires one coat I've tried Behr and Valspar. I will never paint with anything else again. One coat was all it took. It looks fantastic. I could not be any happier."
Review 10 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent Qulaity 
 May 25, 2015
 May 25, 2015
by AM
"Very satisfied with the quality of paint - does not smell and easy to clean. Gives a nice smooth uniform finish. Painted 5 rooms and got the job done in a single coat - was not sure if single coat will do the trick, but it did.
Recommend S-W Emerald to all my friends.
"
Review 11 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald Paint - Never again. 
 April 28, 2015
 April 28, 2015
by la
"This Emerald paint is a very strong, acrylic and ammonia base paint. The paint dried on my walls a very vibrant color, was no where near the color I went in the Sherwin Williams store to purchase. After my 3rd trip there I changed to a different color and had a different sales person (Chris) who was very helpful and made sure I was a satisfied customer.
If you are looking for a precise color to match exactly what you want, DO NOT USE EMERALD PAINT.
"
Review 12 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great for a low-VOC paint 
 April 28, 2015
 April 28, 2015
by jdcarlin
"My partner has a big allergy to non-low-VOC paint, so it was very important to him to get a paint that was low-VOC, particularly in a large painting area. Both our living and dining room was to be in this color, about 800 sq ft of painting. Particularly since this was on sale, we stocked up on a few gallons of this paint.
Secondly, I think everyone should tell about their project, like what color you're painting and what you're painting over. Different paints work differently on different surfaces and with different challenges. Our project was fairly simple. The color underneath it was a chiffon yellow. We changed it to "Restrained Gold" (SW 6129). It's a pretty rough surface, pretty textured. We use the matte finish.
I was pretty darn happy with this paint. It's fairly expensive, but on sale it was reasonably priced. Quality was very important, because of the high visibility of the areas we were painting. We wanted to go with a flat finish, but matte is the "flattest" that comes in this paint. It worked out fine. The matte (I'm told) is a bit easier to clean. As as I mentioned, a low-VOC paint was most preferable.
The paint went on quite easily. It's a textured surface, and the matte hid most of the defects in the surface. It definitely needed two coats, but that was it. We ended up buying way more than we needed. I assumed that 800 sq ft at two coats meant at 400 sq ft per gallon that we'd need 4 gallons (or at least three). Nope. We mostly finished two coats with 2 gallons. We are fine with the third gallon just for keeping around if we need to touch up later, but the fourth was completely unnecessary. (Pro tip: If it goes on sale, it's completely fine to buy it and not get it tinted. You can go in later and have it tinted for free, or even return it if you don't need it.)
It does have a slight odor. It's something of an acetate smell. It did give me a temporary headache, but if I had a fan on, it was fine. It does dry very quick though! I found out I could do two coats in an afternoon. It makes the painting go very quick if you put on two coats in the same day. I always thought you had to wait until it dried dried dried, but as long as it's reasonably dry, you can paint a second coat. Saves you from cleaning out all your brushes between coats. After it dries, we didn't notice any odor, and my headaches went away too.
For a low-VOC paint, it worked out pretty well. I'd recommend it."
Review 13 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Perfect Paint..!! 
 June 12, 2015
 June 12, 2015
by ThePainter
"I know it's the expensive stuff brother painters.. but you know the whole, "you get what you pay for" saying..? It's performance and workability are spot on and yes I definetly recommend it. Odds to achieving that one coat finish, (besides the typical trim coat enamel, 2nd cut in) is finally in reach. Now in the new "True Flat"..!! Thumbs up Sherwin..!!"
Review 14 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful finish 
 March 27, 2015
 March 27, 2015
by Amber
"Last night was my first time using the Emerald paint - I bought a gallon of the matte finish in Pussywillow to re-paint my powder room. I had 5 sample swatches on the wall trying to decide what color, some lighter than this & some darker - all are completely covered in one coat! I will add a second coat for wash ability & to cover some spots that I accidentally missed though. I'm not sure what all the negativity is on this paint - I am a pretty novice painter and was worried about roller marks after reading the reviews but this morning my walls look like a beautiful gray-brown suede! Maybe in a satin finish it would be harder to get that "professionally done" look. But if I can do it with a good finish, anyone should be able to - I have only painted walls once before. As long as this holds its wash ability promise I will slowly be covering the builder-standard paint with the Emerald line, when its on sale! This paint is nice and thick and glides on like softened butter - dried to a beautiful flat/matte finish. I used the 3/8" polyester roller recommended by the store & kept a wet edge between cut-in & rolling - did one wall at a time. Easy to do in a powder room! I would definitely recommend this for ease of use & finish in the matte."
Review 15 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent 
 March 20, 2015
 March 20, 2015
by Maqmal
"A great paint, did the bath room kitchen and bedrooms, went in smooth and fine with only one coat"
Review 16 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
excellent interion paint 
 March 10, 2015
 March 10, 2015
by miso
"If you can get it on sale this is a paint to go. I have added paint conditioner (Wagner) and the job was easy done. It needed 2 coats but if I was patient it could be done with one. Highly recommended."
Review 17 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Not worth the effort 
 March 9, 2015
 March 9, 2015
by Matt
"We went in to purchase a few gallons of the Duration paint, which we have used previously with fantastic results. Unfortunately, the color base (ultra deep) wasn't available for Duration, so SW gave us the Emerald at the same price. We prepped and primed the surface before applying this paint, and used high quality brushes and rollers. It required 4 coats, and it's still not perfect. In some areas near the windows the paint is already peeling back. The paint was very watery, to the point that I wondered if it was expired or a defective gallon. I even took it back to the SW store where they happily exchanged it for another gallon. Alas it was the line of paint, not a defective gallon. If you're trying to go with an Ultra-deep base, I'd suggest looking elsewhere. If I could do it again I would not use this paint."
Review 18 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful color and finish. 
 February 12, 2015
 February 12, 2015
by Rosie
"I liked the fact that this is a no-VOC paint. Being a steward of the earth, this is the main reason I bought it. Believing I could do the room with one coat, I was discouraged to see streaking when I put a dark blue color over a soft mauve tint. So why was I surprised that one coat wouldn't do it? And having textured walls I found small pits that needed punching out with a dabbing motion for the really stubborn spots. Overall I felt that I paid too much for a paint that didn't deliver the one-coat promise, but I felt good about myself for choosing an earth-friendly paint. The color has lasted over a year and is easy to clean. Being dark it is a real eye-opener for an accent wall. The sheen (finish) is smooth and gorgeous. Overall the end product is great, I just worked harder and paid more than I wanted to get the coverage I needed."
Review 19 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Worried but came out great 
 December 27, 2014
 December 27, 2014
by Liz
"I am a novice painter and I wanted the best paint for my home. I chose SW because of the quality, I tried Emerald because it is reported as the best paint, I painted an accent wall plum and after priminig and the first coat of color (as suggested by SW sales person) the wall looked awful. I took the paint back to the store and they told me it might take 2 to 3 coats before I had unifromity due to the thinnness of the paint when using a deep base. This of course did not make sense as it was one coat coverage, don't believe it even using an off white it took 2 coats. The finished project looks great after several coats and priming (kilz2) prior on builders grade exisiting paint. The wall is evenly colored, no roller lines and perfect colors on both the plum and the beige. So despite a lot of work on my part the overall product was great, I bought blue edge lock and green frog tape for baseboards and ceiling and the green frog tape worked the best. Gave a 4 instead of a 5 because it was not one coat and I had to prime prior even though it says it is primer and paint in one."
Review 20 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Painted Portland's Chinese Gardens 
 February 8, 2015
 February 8, 2015
by Carl
"Our company, Cascade Painting and Restoration has been doing ongoing refurbishing and painting at Portland Oregon's famous Lan Su Chinese Gardens. As the painting contractors in Portland that they chose, we went with Emerald in order to do the very best exterior painting job that we could. We and they have been pleased with the results- a nice, smooth and hard paint finish that withstands the traffic of thousands of visitors."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>