Product Reviews

Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex

Sherwin-Williams Emerald® paint and primer in one with advanced stain blocking technology delivers best-in-class overall performance. To ensure a beautiful, smooth finish and stunning color for years to come, use our finest paint ever. Emerald prevents stains from penetrating, offers maximum resistance to water streaking and spotting, features truly remarkable hide and covers dark colors. With exceptional coverage and washability, it’s perfect for any room in your home. Coming Summer 2015: Emerald Interior will be available in a flat finish with excellent washability. The flat finish helps hide minor imperfections on the wall, while its washability ensures your home''s beauty is long-lasting and easy to maintain. Emerald is available in four sheens, including a techncologically advanced flat finish that offers the same washability and durability as the matte or glossier sheens. Matte and Satin finishes are now available in a new high hiding accent base, formulated to boost hiding power and deliver truer colors in fewer coats. With Emerald Interior Flat, there is no need to sacrifice performance for appearance.
Average Customer Rating:
3.478 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
51 of 90(57%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Worked out perfectly 
 July 23, 2015
 July 23, 2015
by Allyson
"My husband and I are new homeowners and novice painters. We purchased Emerald satin finish in a medium gray (Gray Matters) to paint a large, windowed bathroom with vaulted ceilings. Emerald covered the original wall color *and* four shades of sample squares with no show-through, after only one coat. We did a second coat just to perfect the coverage, and had no trouble with roller strokes showing after the paint was dry (we used Purdy White Dove rollers). The only issue we had was when we first got started, we waited 15-20 minutes between cutting in and rolling and ended up with half-dried 'flakes' in the roller as they peeled off the textured part of the paint tray. Switching liners and working more efficiently solved the problem. We will absolutely be using Emerald in the future."
Review 2 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
disappointed 
 July 22, 2015
 July 22, 2015
by Toni
"I've now completed 2 rooms with Emerald. The first was a mid-tone that would have required 1-1.5 coats tops in other paints I've used; this required 3. I also used a deep tone that required 3 coats on top of a dark tint primer. It dries very quickly and all the roller seams and cut ins show through. The dark room could actually use a 4th coat of paint to even it out but I can't stand to do it. I used recommended technique and rollers for both rooms. Other paint brands I've used have had much better coverage at an equal or lower price point. If this is SW's top of the line I'm not sure I'll buy paint there again. However I used Duration in the past and think I had better luck with that."
Review 3 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Worst paint I have ever used 
 July 18, 2015
 July 18, 2015
by Bruce
"I have been painting, just for fun, for about 30 years. I often work with my sister, and we like to do friends and relatives homes. My parents are moving into a new condo so my sister and I decided to paint it for them. It is a small unit with lots of full wall windows. We thought it would take a day, perhaps a day and a half to do just the walls. (No trim) To make the job go faster I bought the best paint SW had to offer, Emerald. Well It is THE WORST PAINT I HAVE EVER USED. Just finished the 3 full day and need to go back for another. It dries so fast that it is impossible to obtain a consistent finish. When the wall has a window at the end you can see every roller stroke. Went back to the store and they said try different rollers, use primer first paint horizontally only, turn off the A/C. Nothing works. The different textures from each roller stroke are so bad, that they only add as you put on additional coats. You can see the previous strokes through the second coat. I tried sanding it vigorously between coats and this worked a bit, but was very very hard work. It dries so fast and hard that you can sand it after about 30 minutes and it will not gum up the sand paper. If you want rock hard paint, this is the product for you. If you want smooth consistent surfaces STAY AWAY FROM EMERALD PAINT."
Review 4 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great Paint 
 June 18, 2015
 June 18, 2015
by jayrz
"I normally use Duration, but decided to give Emerald a try since I had a coupon in addition to the 40% off. I was surprised that the adhesion of this paint better than Duration. The difference in price between the two products is not that much. I'd buy Emerald, on sale only, because it has better adhesion and the final appearance looks better than Duration. The paint is easy to apply and has plenty open apply time. I am really interested in the flat sheen, but I have not been able to find it in a store in Michigan anywhere. The paint is very similar to Duration.... noticeably there are some advantages."
Review 5 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Saved Time 
 June 1, 2015
 June 1, 2015
by gingurr25
"I assumed I would need two coats to cover the loud green I was trying to cover. I've seen one coat coverage and blah blah blah it never requires one coat I've tried Behr and Valspar. I will never paint with anything else again. One coat was all it took. It looks fantastic. I could not be any happier."
Review 6 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent Qulaity 
 May 25, 2015
 May 25, 2015
by AM
"Very satisfied with the quality of paint - does not smell and easy to clean. Gives a nice smooth uniform finish. Painted 5 rooms and got the job done in a single coat - was not sure if single coat will do the trick, but it did.
Recommend S-W Emerald to all my friends.
"
Review 7 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald Paint - Never again. 
 April 28, 2015
 April 28, 2015
by la
"This Emerald paint is a very strong, acrylic and ammonia base paint. The paint dried on my walls a very vibrant color, was no where near the color I went in the Sherwin Williams store to purchase. After my 3rd trip there I changed to a different color and had a different sales person (Chris) who was very helpful and made sure I was a satisfied customer.
If you are looking for a precise color to match exactly what you want, DO NOT USE EMERALD PAINT.
"
Review 8 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great for a low-VOC paint 
 April 28, 2015
 April 28, 2015
by jdcarlin
"My partner has a big allergy to non-low-VOC paint, so it was very important to him to get a paint that was low-VOC, particularly in a large painting area. Both our living and dining room was to be in this color, about 800 sq ft of painting. Particularly since this was on sale, we stocked up on a few gallons of this paint.
Secondly, I think everyone should tell about their project, like what color you're painting and what you're painting over. Different paints work differently on different surfaces and with different challenges. Our project was fairly simple. The color underneath it was a chiffon yellow. We changed it to "Restrained Gold" (SW 6129). It's a pretty rough surface, pretty textured. We use the matte finish.
I was pretty darn happy with this paint. It's fairly expensive, but on sale it was reasonably priced. Quality was very important, because of the high visibility of the areas we were painting. We wanted to go with a flat finish, but matte is the "flattest" that comes in this paint. It worked out fine. The matte (I'm told) is a bit easier to clean. As as I mentioned, a low-VOC paint was most preferable.
The paint went on quite easily. It's a textured surface, and the matte hid most of the defects in the surface. It definitely needed two coats, but that was it. We ended up buying way more than we needed. I assumed that 800 sq ft at two coats meant at 400 sq ft per gallon that we'd need 4 gallons (or at least three). Nope. We mostly finished two coats with 2 gallons. We are fine with the third gallon just for keeping around if we need to touch up later, but the fourth was completely unnecessary. (Pro tip: If it goes on sale, it's completely fine to buy it and not get it tinted. You can go in later and have it tinted for free, or even return it if you don't need it.)
It does have a slight odor. It's something of an acetate smell. It did give me a temporary headache, but if I had a fan on, it was fine. It does dry very quick though! I found out I could do two coats in an afternoon. It makes the painting go very quick if you put on two coats in the same day. I always thought you had to wait until it dried dried dried, but as long as it's reasonably dry, you can paint a second coat. Saves you from cleaning out all your brushes between coats. After it dries, we didn't notice any odor, and my headaches went away too.
For a low-VOC paint, it worked out pretty well. I'd recommend it."
Review 9 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Perfect Paint..!! 
 June 12, 2015
 June 12, 2015
by ThePainter
"I know it's the expensive stuff brother painters.. but you know the whole, "you get what you pay for" saying..? It's performance and workability are spot on and yes I definetly recommend it. Odds to achieving that one coat finish, (besides the typical trim coat enamel, 2nd cut in) is finally in reach. Now in the new "True Flat"..!! Thumbs up Sherwin..!!"
Review 10 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful finish 
 March 27, 2015
 March 27, 2015
by Amber
"Last night was my first time using the Emerald paint - I bought a gallon of the matte finish in Pussywillow to re-paint my powder room. I had 5 sample swatches on the wall trying to decide what color, some lighter than this & some darker - all are completely covered in one coat! I will add a second coat for wash ability & to cover some spots that I accidentally missed though. I'm not sure what all the negativity is on this paint - I am a pretty novice painter and was worried about roller marks after reading the reviews but this morning my walls look like a beautiful gray-brown suede! Maybe in a satin finish it would be harder to get that "professionally done" look. But if I can do it with a good finish, anyone should be able to - I have only painted walls once before. As long as this holds its wash ability promise I will slowly be covering the builder-standard paint with the Emerald line, when its on sale! This paint is nice and thick and glides on like softened butter - dried to a beautiful flat/matte finish. I used the 3/8" polyester roller recommended by the store & kept a wet edge between cut-in & rolling - did one wall at a time. Easy to do in a powder room! I would definitely recommend this for ease of use & finish in the matte."
Review 11 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent 
 March 20, 2015
 March 20, 2015
by Maqmal
"A great paint, did the bath room kitchen and bedrooms, went in smooth and fine with only one coat"
Review 12 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
excellent interion paint 
 March 10, 2015
 March 10, 2015
by miso
"If you can get it on sale this is a paint to go. I have added paint conditioner (Wagner) and the job was easy done. It needed 2 coats but if I was patient it could be done with one. Highly recommended."
Review 13 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Not worth the effort 
 March 9, 2015
 March 9, 2015
by Matt
"We went in to purchase a few gallons of the Duration paint, which we have used previously with fantastic results. Unfortunately, the color base (ultra deep) wasn't available for Duration, so SW gave us the Emerald at the same price. We prepped and primed the surface before applying this paint, and used high quality brushes and rollers. It required 4 coats, and it's still not perfect. In some areas near the windows the paint is already peeling back. The paint was very watery, to the point that I wondered if it was expired or a defective gallon. I even took it back to the SW store where they happily exchanged it for another gallon. Alas it was the line of paint, not a defective gallon. If you're trying to go with an Ultra-deep base, I'd suggest looking elsewhere. If I could do it again I would not use this paint."
Review 14 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Beautiful color and finish. 
 February 12, 2015
 February 12, 2015
by Rosie
"I liked the fact that this is a no-VOC paint. Being a steward of the earth, this is the main reason I bought it. Believing I could do the room with one coat, I was discouraged to see streaking when I put a dark blue color over a soft mauve tint. So why was I surprised that one coat wouldn't do it? And having textured walls I found small pits that needed punching out with a dabbing motion for the really stubborn spots. Overall I felt that I paid too much for a paint that didn't deliver the one-coat promise, but I felt good about myself for choosing an earth-friendly paint. The color has lasted over a year and is easy to clean. Being dark it is a real eye-opener for an accent wall. The sheen (finish) is smooth and gorgeous. Overall the end product is great, I just worked harder and paid more than I wanted to get the coverage I needed."
Review 15 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Worried but came out great 
 December 27, 2014
 December 27, 2014
by Liz
"I am a novice painter and I wanted the best paint for my home. I chose SW because of the quality, I tried Emerald because it is reported as the best paint, I painted an accent wall plum and after priminig and the first coat of color (as suggested by SW sales person) the wall looked awful. I took the paint back to the store and they told me it might take 2 to 3 coats before I had unifromity due to the thinnness of the paint when using a deep base. This of course did not make sense as it was one coat coverage, don't believe it even using an off white it took 2 coats. The finished project looks great after several coats and priming (kilz2) prior on builders grade exisiting paint. The wall is evenly colored, no roller lines and perfect colors on both the plum and the beige. So despite a lot of work on my part the overall product was great, I bought blue edge lock and green frog tape for baseboards and ceiling and the green frog tape worked the best. Gave a 4 instead of a 5 because it was not one coat and I had to prime prior even though it says it is primer and paint in one."
Review 16 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Painted Portland's Chinese Gardens 
 February 8, 2015
 February 8, 2015
by Carl
"Our company, Cascade Painting and Restoration has been doing ongoing refurbishing and painting at Portland Oregon's famous Lan Su Chinese Gardens. As the painting contractors in Portland that they chose, we went with Emerald in order to do the very best exterior painting job that we could. We and they have been pleased with the results- a nice, smooth and hard paint finish that withstands the traffic of thousands of visitors."
Review 17 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Rating
Loved it 
 December 9, 2014
 December 9, 2014
by Gigi
"I must say I am very confused by the negative reviews. I researched paint bought some from the big box stores and bought a lot of SW paint when it was on sale. Let's say this SW paint is amazing. I painted almost my whole house using Emerald and Duration and I have no streaking, no roller lines, nothing. It is a bit thick but I liked it. I did two coats and everything looks uniform. I used to Purdy rollers, per recommendation from a few painters and the paint is beautiful on my walls. And let me say this, my first coat was horrible and I was painting over newly drywalled and painted walls and the paint is uniform so with my second coat I was more detailed in application and the results are beautiful. By comparison I painted over my fireplace with paint from a big box store and I could see roller lines everywhere and the paint isn't uniform. SW wins hands down."
Review 18 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Horrible Problems 
 November 17, 2014
 November 17, 2014
by DevItHere
"Just like the previous reviewer, we have the sheen problem on the wall. This is a DIY for us so we fortunately did not have a labor cost involved, but our time was wasted. I noticed it on a test spot and after the first coat. After the second coat it was worse. The sheen is slightly different between each up and down stroke of the roller. Not sure how it that is even possible using the same paint, same roller, and the same paint rolled from the pan.
We did 2 coats of primer from SW and 2 coats of Emerald and it really does look bad since we used a darker color gingery. Since I saw the problem on the first coat as well, there is no reason to believe a third cost would help. We did use the rollers from the SW store that they told us to use.
Not sure what the problem is, but we are not going to use the rest of the paint be bought. A lot of money to waste."
Review 19 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Horrible finish on smooth texture wall 
 October 25, 2014
 October 25, 2014
by InsaneHomeowner
"I'm writing this bad review again because it appears SW deleted my first post. If you use this product you risk having to repaint everything. You would think the high cost could warrant such poor quality. I'm very disappointed I have to pay my contractor twice since I was the one who selected the paint. I give them credit for allowing me to return the paint but that doesn't come close to the labor costs. We tried 3 coats on a new wall with a smooth texture and coat of primer. The sales person tried to suggest we used the wrong roller but that was not the case and doesn't account for the difference in sheen across the entire wall. It appears the paint is not blending well since it looks like I tried to paint a satin finish over a matte finish. I'm very disappointed with SW for suggesting this paint. I'm very suspicious of the good reviews now that I see my bad one was removed. Interesting how the negative reviews have a very common theme... Wish I had read them before i bought the paint!"
Review 20 for Emerald® Interior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald Sedate Gray 
 October 17, 2014
 October 17, 2014
by Mitch
"Great Paint, Great Coverage...This was my first experience with SW Paint. I had no issues and paint straight over the spec Tan color paint the builder used. The Paint was excellent and the store was great! All the reporting of streaks and lack of coverage is really confusing since I had absolutely 0 issues. I will be testing out the S/W Ceiling Paint over the weekend in Sedate Gray."
1 2 3 4 5 next>>