Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint

Revolutionary technology with best-in-class overall performance. Our finest exterior paint, Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint is self priming with a smooth beautiful finish and provides exceptional hide. Backed by a lifetime limited warranty, Emerald offers exceptional durability and delivers extreme resistance to blistering, peeling and color fade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.545 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
9 of 11(82%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
Review 1 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Even Better than SuperPaint 
 October 19, 2013
 October 19, 2013
by Dan
"After 20 years, the gingerbread SuperPaint survived on two sides of my 1880s Pennsylvania carriage house. One failing side, on a significant slope, faces a nasty neighbor so no urgency there. The south-facing entrance, though, needed attention.
I learned early that paint is the least expensive component in any refinishing job. Emerald has proven itself worth every penny. I did use a S-W premium primer on bare wood after prep and anywhere the legacy paint had failed. Application was a joy with exceptional leveling and coverage. Even on challenging redwood siding, subject to past failure, the new surface is sleek and even.
"
Review 2 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald 
 September 12, 2013
 September 12, 2013
by na
"I am in the historical property restoration business SW is our go to paint supplier . What we have found is that with working with 100-200 year old buildings the prep is the most important part of the job Emerald is a great product covers very well, great depth in color, and finish is as good as we have found spray and brush . We often take down to bare wood and prime the project with the right primer for the job then apply Emerald for a beautiful finish with no issues with coverage this paint covers better than anything we have used as with all jobs the trick is in the prep. Remember the six P's Proper Prep Prevents P*ss Poor Performance"
Review 3 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
thick creamy coverage 
 June 28, 2013
 June 28, 2013
by txjg
"This almost isn't paint. It's so thick and creamy and the coverage is wonderful. I've used it on exterior wood structures and on some ancient wooden patio furniture and one coat covers very well."
Review 4 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent shine.. Not so great coverage 
 August 6, 2013
 August 6, 2013
by ducky
"After using emerald on a few exteriors, it seems this paints coverage ability is severely lacking in the white on white, white on bare wood, white on anything but itself. It flows like super paint and has an excellent sheen which far surpasses Duration. However one coat coverage is lacking to say the least. For my paint jobs, either SW Dwuration, or Ben Moore Aura... Emerald isn't worth the money for the performance of the product."
Review 5 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Quality is priceless! so is your Time! 
 May 8, 2013
 May 8, 2013
by Debbie
"This is the third time my husband and I have painted our home in 20 years. Previously we used well know brand names which were less experience but required more paint be used , however did not weather well and faded quickly. Emerald is smooth with excellent coverage on different textures of wood. I have recommended to all my family and friends. Can't wait to start painting the inside. Thank you SW"
Review 6 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Excellent Smooth One Coat Coverage AWESOME! 
 October 12, 2012
 October 12, 2012
by Justin
"Used Airless Spray on exterior porch ceiling and columns. Sprayed one coat in Emerald Exterior Gloss finish. Looks amazing and has great dirt pickup. Has been 3 weeks and no signes of any dirt pickup at all!! GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!!"
Review 7 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
great paint 
 October 2, 2012
 October 2, 2012
by eddie
"I just painted my 3200ft house. The paint when on smooth and dry quickly. I bought it at 40% discount which help on cost. The paint looks great!!!!"
Review 8 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
After doing my own investigationa 
 August 21, 2012
 August 21, 2012
by honeybeerancher
"I have been trying to figure out what brand of paint to use on my new home new construction new primed hardi siding. I took samples of every brand out there from the big box stores to the paint shop brands. I used quite a few scraps of siding to see what paint looked the best. I had some paint fail while others were yeah that is liveable. I went in to my local Sherwin Williams store and talked with the store manager I bought the gallon can of the color for my house tried it out. side by side compairison to all the other brands of paint I spent money on to see what one does the best. Hands down This is the paint that really makes hardi siding look great! Thank Sherwin williams."
Review 9 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Rating
Exterior didn't cover body or trim well 
 August 5, 2012
 August 5, 2012
by RCD
"The house is 20 years old, sided in clear cedar clapboards, and was previously painted with solid oil-based stain from Benjamin Moore. The contractor scraped all loose paint, and there was some bare wood. He then sprayed and back-brushed the body with Emerald flat. Even after three coats on one side fo the house the areas that were scraped bare weren't covered. In addition, the trim areas that had overspray from the body needed two coats to cover. Emerald satin finish was used on the trim, mixed to match BM Navajo White.
I went back to the SW store, and they gave me a gallon of Duration to see if it covers the bare spots showing through on the siding. The contractor is going to paint the bad sections on Tuesday, if it doesn't rain. I'll post results. My contractor has always used Duration, and feels it is vastly superior to the Emerald. He noted that the Emerald is much thinner than Duration, as well as not covering well.
On a positive note, the in-store team at the Salem, NH store was very professional and helpful."
Review 10 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Emerald Exterior Satin 
 September 9, 2012
 September 9, 2012
by Ron
"Just finished the exterior of a two story 3,600 sq ft home in Tampa Bay Area using Emerald. The entire exterior was power washed to remove all dirt and chalking of the original (7 year old) exterior latex paint from Scott. I then used Loxon Conditioner over the entire surface applied at low pressure. The main body was painted using an .015 tip on a 3,000 psi airless sprayer. I tuned it down to about 1,000 psi and covered the entire exterior with one coat. Went on smooth as silk. The cover and hide is outstanding!
Best exterior paint I have ever used! Sherwin-Williams has finally gotten it right.
"
Review 11 for Emerald™ Exterior Acrylic Latex Paint
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Outstanding Brushability 
 July 8, 2012
 July 8, 2012
by Hesptg
"I am a painiting contractor since 1973, having seen the good ole days where oil paint would brush on like it was butter and level out like it had been sprayed.I think I have tired just about every paint that is available in my area. At this point I try not to do any more Exterior work than I have to to keep my customers. While doing this I need to redo 32 windows and a wrap around front porch and spindles. With the prep work done , I stopped at my B/M dealer and pick up the paint. Had to stop at S/W for something and was talking to the store Mgr. He suggested I try Emerald and wrote me up for demo paint for the job. I must tell you honestly if I had to pay for the paint at the end of the job I would have. The paint is the next best can of exterior product that I think I have used in many many years. Yes Sherwin Williams you finally have a product that is on the way to outdoing the other guys..
Harold
H.E.S. PAINTING
New Jersey
"