Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex

You’ll benefit from a wealth of advantages when you use Duration® Exterior Acrylic Coating. Excellent durability and hide, Duration is formulated with PermaLast® technology for long-lasting performance. A thick flexible layer provides resistance to peeling and blistering. Duration is self-priming, offers a mildew-resistant coating and is backed by a lifetime warranty for as long as you own your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.212 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
17 of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this item to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
Review 1 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
EXCELLENT 
 May 22, 2014
 May 22, 2014
by sam
"The name says it all...DURATION. House was painted 5 years ago and the paint looks a new and fresh as the day in went on the house. Seriously. My neighbors cannot believe the staying power of this paint. The job was done by professionals. Power washed first. The taped and the paint was sprayed on--two coats. I am 100% satisfied. I just had 4 new exterior doors installed and will be painting them with DURATION tomorrow."
Review 2 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Durable, but fades 
 April 24, 2014
 April 24, 2014
by Stan
"I used Duration to paint my home about 2 years ago. Recently I decided to do some "touch-up" and to my dismay found that the paint had faded so badly (even on walls covered by a screened porch) that I will need to repaint the entire areas. Not happy."
Review 3 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Vinyl siding-best paint 
 April 4, 2014
 April 4, 2014
by purplestraycats
"As a journeyman painter for 30+ years, using Duration was a vacation. I painted the entire house in 2006. Here it is 2014 & the paint still looks great! In 2006 you could only use a color that was 2-3 shades different from the original color. The slight problem I came across was that the vinyl siding contracts/expands with temperature fluctuation so where the siding pieces meet each other, the paint cracked slightly. Other then that, I would highly recommend using Duration."
Review 4 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Mold and Mildew 
 February 22, 2014
 February 22, 2014
by karen
"Less than two years after using this paint, there is mold and mildew on every trim surface. Turns out this 25 year warranty exterior trim paint didn't have a fungicide in it and no one at the store advised adding it. Our house was completed resided, including all new trim and new Anderson windows all of which started growing mold and mildew within a year of application and finger joints on new sills are swelling. I took the remaining paint back to the store and was promised a phone call that same day to set up an inspection. That was four days ago. Still no call."
Review 5 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Ruined my shutters 
 November 29, 2013
 November 29, 2013
by calucky
"Bought this paint on recommendation of the sales person. Primed my wood shutters, applied 3 coats of paint - first was by hand, final two were with sprayer - allowing each coat to dry 3 days in between. When I went to transport my shutters back to my home about 2 weeks later, the paint was still a bit tacky, showed the imprints of anything that touched it. When I got home, the paint picked up the imprints of the tarp and wouldn't wash off. Horrible stuff. I would never use this product again. Waiting to hear from product specialist because this just turned out to be the biggest waste of my time and money."
Review 6 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Super coverage and easy application 
 September 26, 2013
 September 26, 2013
by Rick
"For years I have painted our home. Literally, it seemed as soon as I finally finished everything up, it was time to begin again. Lately as I replaced a gutter, it became apparent that I needed to repaint the exterior. It also became evident that I probably would not have many more years of scaling a ladder, so I determined to purchase a good paint that would last for many years. I researched and decided to go with Duration. I am about 3/4 done, so I cannot speak for how well it holds up; I hope it lasts for years. However, I can say that, so far, it is the best paint that I have ever used as far as application and coverage.
To speed up the job, I bought a cheaper airless sprayer at a tool wholesale store, and the paint has flowed without one time clogging. Back rolling has helped provide a smooth, well-covered surface. The paint is costly; but worth it, especially if you can purchase it on sale, which I did for 35 per cent off original price.
Total time investment so far, about 10 hours on the top level of our split-foyer home.
"
Review 7 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
WAS A LITTLE LEARY 
 June 28, 2013
 June 28, 2013
by steve
"I AM A HOMEOWNER THAT DOES IT THE BEST THE FIRST TIME I WAS AFRAID THAT I WAS GOING TO WASTE MY MONEY BECAUSE I ONLY HEARD AND READ GOOD THINGS ABOUT DURATION UNTIL I SPENT THE MONEY THIS PAINT IS THE BEST YET EVEN THE PAINTER WHO PAINTED MY HOUSE SAID THAT IS THE BEST PAINT HE EVER USED SO GET IT AND YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED"
Review 8 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Does not Last 
 June 20, 2013
 June 20, 2013
by jackson
"Painted exterior wood on house 2 years ago. Paint application was great. No drips and saved labor. Some areas needed 2 coats. Two years later sunny side is chipped, scaled, and peeling and needs repainting. Could have gone with much cheaper paint for same results."
Review 9 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Duration exterior 
 July 29, 2013
 July 29, 2013
by journeyman13
"I've read a lot of reviews about this product. I have to say that if you use any paint at all, its all about the prep work. Its not magic in a can. Scrape, sand caulk,and priming are steps that must be taken. If you do that right, then use duration or any quality paint, the product will go on right and last. Regarding the post about Alaska ,rain and blistering. If you cant prep and paint on a clean, dry prepped surface, why waste the time and material. Water will bust out of any surface to escape. If the material has moisture in it, and you paint it, it will fail, if its too cold to paint, it will fail. Even if its 200 a gallon. A good painter knows that. The only call backs you want as a painter, are for more work. Not to fix your work. The egg today or the hen tomorrow. Do it right !"
Review 10 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Faded after 2 years 
 July 21, 2013
 July 21, 2013
by woodsidequeen
"Our new house was built with Hardie Plank color Heathered Moss cement siding. We insisted the contractor use Duration exterior paint to paint the caulking that is necessary to fill the seams of the Hardie Plank where it meets in a 90 degree corner, because we had read it was rated above Benjamin Moore. We also painted the pipe that connects our electric meter so it would not be so obvious. Within 2 years the Duration had faded so much that it no longer matched the Hardie Plank siding. So we repainted using what we have always used Benjamin Moore exterior paint and 3 years later it is still the same with no fading. As we get ready to paint my mother's house, I see that Duration is still rated very high. But I will not risk painting a whole house with Duration, only to have it fade in 2 years. I would not recommend using SW Duration."
Review 11 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Painters in Portland Oregon- Cascade Painting 
 January 26, 2013
 January 26, 2013
by Carl
"We've been painting contractors in Portland for 25 years. Duration is the best exterior paint that we've found. Its a bit spendy, but worth the extra money, particularly on trim.
From owner of Cascade Painting and Restoration.
"
Review 12 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great paint! 
 August 4, 2012
 August 4, 2012
by Anonymous
"I've been a homeowner for over 25 years and this is by far the best exterior house paint I've ever used. One section I painted has lasted over 10 years without chipping on a west-facing front porch. The only reason I have to re-paint is that something (a bird?) flew into it and left a mark, and it's gotten dirty. I'm expecting this will be the last time I have to paint the front porch before I sell the house, which I expect will be in about 15 years."
Review 13 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Duration is a Super Paint. 
 April 15, 2012
 April 15, 2012
by jstenson
"We repainted a white rail fence with the SW Duration paint two years ago and it is still standing up to the harsh Georgia heat. This stuff is not paint. It is more like a coating. I strongly recommend the SW Duration product."
Review 14 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
The Best 
 March 8, 2012
 March 8, 2012
by maryw
"My husband is a professional painter, which kind of makes me like the shoemaker's wife who had no shoes. I end up doing a lot of painting myself, but that's fine, since I'm a SAHM and he taught me well.
We have a 1904 cape in Vermont. For about 60 years, the original clapboards were covered with asbestos siding, which we had professionally removed. My husband painted the house in 2003 with an oil paint, and it was starting to flake and fade.
The clapboards looked so terrible that we debated just putting on vinyl siding. I thought that I would give Duration a try, since my husband had said that it is the best exterior paint on the market, and see if there was a possibility that we could use it, since painting would be a lot less expensive.
It is still important to prep the area by scraping, but Duration is amazing. When they say one coat, they mean it. It goes on thick and has covered the most beaten up and worn boards very well. I can't believe the difference it has made. There were areas that basically just looked horrible that now look great. It went over the last coat of oil without priming which saves a ton of work. Why paint your house twice when you can get the job done in one coat?
This is totally worth the money and I'd recommend it to anyone.
"
Review 15 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Rating
Not for Cedar or Alaska 
 December 10, 2011
 December 10, 2011
by Rich
"The cedar siding and decks of my Alaska home were professionally painted in August 2011. Duration paint was used on the siding and Deckscapes stain was used on two decks. The contractor scraped, sanded, caulked, and applied Pro Block oil primer prior to painting. It rained after the initial painting and the contractor came back several days later during dry weather and extensively repainted. However, blistering, peeling, cracking, and streaking was evident several days later on the siding and decks. The contractor came back a third time to try and rectify the problems. The last paint job looked reasonably good until high winds accompanied by heavy rains occurred during September and October. Some blisters the size of golf and tennis balls were actually filled with water. Below freezing temperatures in November and December have caused the blistering, peeling, and streaking to progress to the point where it is very noticeable. Since cedar is a soft wood that tends to hold moisture longer than other woods, my personal experience suggests that Duration paint is not a good choice for cedar. Further, this paint has not stood up to the very harsh weather conditions in Alaska."
Review 16 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Only appears expensive 
 October 16, 2011
 October 16, 2011
by lschweiss
"The retail price seems expensive, however, the coverage is awesome. One coat and it's done. So you have half the work as a two coat paint and use half is much.
Once you figure the time savings and coverage advantages over other paints, it's a bargain."
Review 17 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Wow! This is paint!!! 
 September 5, 2011
 September 5, 2011
by Duncan
"Paint with the consistency of caulking--no drips--super hiding properties with only one coat. I have had bad experiences with other brands. Well worth the cost--case closed!"
Review 18 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Rating
questionalble 
 August 5, 2011
 August 5, 2011
by scorp13
"I have to repaint the south side about every four years. It does grow mildew on the sunny side of the house in northern ohio. I am not interested in try someone else. I use sherwin only. Just wish it was better."
Review 19 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
sold 
 July 30, 2011
 July 30, 2011
by pres
"we live in Maine in a 1820 colonial and used Duration on the old wood siding. The house is too big to paint in one season. As I get ready to work on a new side the choice of paint has already been decided. If every side of our house comes out as good as the ones from last year, we will never use vinyl and our house will have its original antique look for the next 200 yrs!"
Review 20 for Duration Exterior Acrylic Latex
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Rating
Great product. 
 September 11, 2011
 September 11, 2011
by Windy painters
"I'm the painter with 10-years experience. Duration is my first choice for exterior projects. When you paint outside you cannot cut cost using cheap paint. You will pay double. Duration provides thick coat and great coverage. Never had problems with peeling etc. It's a pricey paint but worth the money."
1 2 next>>